Skip to main content

Zotero: Home

Zotero can help you keep track of your research, organize citations, and create bibliographies

Welcome

This guide is designed to help you get started with the citation management program, Zotero. Citation Management software helps you keep track of your research, organize citations, and create bibliographies.


Related Resources:

Zotero Firefox Plug-in

Use this version of Zotero if you regularly use the Firefox internet browser and prefer to have your Zotero library as a pane inside your browser instead of a separate window.

1) Go to the Zotero Download page at Zotero.org

2) Click the Zotero for Firefox link.

3) When you see the message "Firefox prevented this site from asking you to install software on your computer," click Allow.

Install confirmation box

4) Click Install Now, and Zotero will download and install. Restart Firefox. If you're using Safari or Internet Chrome you will need to download the Standalone version of Zotero.


Creative Commons License Content on this guide was originally created by Jason Puckett and licensed by Georgia State University Library under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License and adapted here for this Zotero Research Guide at USC.

Zotero provides the ability to save references from most library catalogs (including USC's) and databases, with one click. If Zotero detects that you're looking at a book or article on a catalog, database, or other compatible site, you'll see a book or page icon appear in the utility bar of your browser. Just click the icon and Zotero will automatically save the citation to your library. If you'd like to see additional options for saving - click the arrow next to the icon. If you are using an older version of Firefox, you may see the icon directly in the URL bar on your browser.

After clicking the Zotero icon, you'll see it save to your library in the bottom right hand corner of your browser window.

Zotero can't automatically capture citation info from some web pages, but you can still add them to your Zotero library.

Click the Zotero button to access Zotero's controls and expand the Zotero pane. Click the page button (to the right of the green plus sign) to save a link to the page. This will save a new "web page" item to your library. You can add information about the author, etc., if you wish.

It's easy to create a bibliography from your Zotero library.

Select the references or collections you want to include. Hold the control key and click to select multiple items. Right-click one of the selected items and choose Create Bibliography.

Choose the bibliographic style you want, select Copy to Clipboard, click OK and paste into your word processor.

Zotero offers word processing plugins for Word and OpenOffice. The plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to your word processor that allows you to add citations to your document while you write.

To add a citation, click the first button ("Insert Citation") on the toolbar. Search for the reference you want to cite and press Enter. Zotero will add the citation at your cursor.

At the end of your paper, click the third button ("Insert Bibliography"). Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically. Change bibliographic styles with the last button on the toolbar ("Set Doc Prefs").

The Firefox Zotero plug-in does not currently work well with the Libraries' main search, or its catalog. You can, however, use the "Export RIS" feature to export single or multiple records to an RIS file, and then import that file to the Zotero client.

Loading

Zotero Standalone

Use this version of Zotero if you use Google Chrome or Safari internet browsers and prefer Zotero to run in its own window instead of your browser.

1) Go to the Zotero Download page at Zotero.org

2) Click the Zotero Standalone link. There's a different version for each operating system: Windows, Mac or Linux. Choose the right version for your computer.

3) Download a browser Connector to allow your web browser to save citations to your Zotero library.Open Chrome or Safari and click the Zotero Connector link for that browser to install it.

Each browser has its own version of the Zotero connector, so if you use both Chrome and Safari you'll need to install both.

(Firefox does not require a connector to work with Zotero; it's built into Zotero for Firefox.)

 


Zotero provides the ability to save references from most library catalogs (including USC's) and databases, with one click. If Zotero detects that you're looking at a book or article on a catalog, database, or other compatible site, you'll see a book or page icon appear in the utility bar of your browser. Just click the icon and Zotero will automatically save the citation to your library. If you'd like to see additional options for saving - click the arrow next to the icon. If you are using an older version of Firefox, you may see the icon directly in the URL bar on your browser.

After clicking the Zotero icon, you'll see it save to your library in the bottom right hand corner of your browser window.

Zotero can't automatically capture citation info from some web pages, but you can still add them to your Zotero library.

Click the Zotero button to access Zotero's controls and expand the Zotero pane. Click the page button (to the right of the green plus sign) to save a link to the page. This will save a new "web page" item to your library. You can add information about the author, etc., if you wish.

It's easy to create a bibliography from your Zotero library.

Select the references or collections you want to include. Hold the control key and click to select multiple items. Right-click one of the selected items and choose Create Bibliography.

Choose the bibliographic style you want, select Copy to Clipboard, click OK and paste into your word processor.

Zotero offers word processing plugins for Word and OpenOffice. The plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to your word processor that allows you to add citations to your document while you write.

To add a citation, click the first button ("Insert Citation") on the toolbar. Search for the reference you want to cite and press Enter. Zotero will add the citation at your cursor.

At the end of your paper, click the third button ("Insert Bibliography"). Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically. Change bibliographic styles with the last button on the toolbar ("Set Doc Prefs").

Loading

Other Zotero Functions

Sync Your Library: If you're regularly using more than one computer in your research, Zotero's sync feature can keep your library up to date on all of them. Zotero can store a copy of your library on the Zotero.org server and check it for updates whenever you open your library on a different computer. All your computers must be running the same version of Zotero.

First, set up a (free, of course) Zotero.org user account.

Then: Open Zotero preferences (via the gear menu) and select the Sync tab. Enter your Zotero user name and password. Check the "sync automatically" box. Check both boxes under File Syncing and choose Zotero storage for My Library. This will sync your PDF attachments as well as citations.

Click the green circular arrow button at the top right corner of the Zotero window. Zotero will upload your library to the server.


Find-it at USC: You've probably seen the Find it @ USC button in some article databases that allows you to locate the full text of an article online. Zotero allows you to use the same feature. To set up access to the Find it @ USC server, click the gear button on the Zotero toolbar, and choose "Preferences" then paste this link into the "Resolver:" http://zb5lh7ed7a.search.serialssolutions.com/


Add Additional Citation Styles to Zotero:

Zotero comes with the most common bibliographic styles, but many more are available to download.

To install a style (Firefox):

  1. Go to the Zotero Style Repository page in Firefox.
  2. Search for the name of the style you need.
  3. Click the Install link next to the style, then the Install button to confirm.

License

Creative Commons License Content on this guide was originally created by Jason Puckett and licensed by Georgia State University Library under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommerical 3.0 United States License. It has been adapted and added to for the Zotero Research Guide at USC.

Librarian

Elizabeth Galoozis's picture
Elizabeth Galoozis
Contact:
Head, Information Literacy

213-821-0097
VKC Library B38b