Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology *

This is the primary research guide for Psychology students and faculty.

How to Locate an Article

To locate articles on a particular subject:

  • Enter your search terms in the search box on the USC Libraries' homepage; then use the Subject limit in the left navigation menu; Click the Apply at the top of the page after selecting your subjects OR
  • Select a large, inter-disciplinary databases, such as ProQuest and Academic OneFile; after you enter your terms, limit your search by selecting  the Subject OR
  • Select a subject-specific databases that relate to your research questions, such as ERIC (education) or PsycINFO (psychology); these can be found by using the drop-down subject menus on the USC Libraries Databases search page

To locate a specific article for which you have a citation:

  • Enter the title of the article in quotation marks in the search box at the USC Libraries' homepage; If we have it, you should find it as one of the first in the results list OR
  • Use the drop-down menus in the USC Libraries Advanced search to enter the author and a few words from the title; then click the Search box OR
  • Go the the Citation Finder and enter the information on the article; Try entering less or different information if, under Availability, "Your search did not match any physical resource in the library"

What about articles not available in full-text?

To receive articles or books that the library does not own:

  • Use the USC Libraries' USC Libraries Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery (IDD) service
  • Fill out the form for the type of item you're requesting
    • Borrow: book, thesis, microfilm, etc.
    • Scan and Deliver: article, book chapter, conference paper
  • Hard copies of materials (books and DVDs) will be mailed to your house (distance-based users) or can be picked up at the Leavey library on campus;Electronic materials (book chapters or articles) will be emailed to you as a PDF

For additional information: visit IDD and Home Delivery.

Peer-Reviewed Articles

What is a Peer-Reviewed Article? 

Peer-reviewed articles are written by experts and researchers who want to share their research with others in the field.

How do you find Peer-Reviewed articles? 

Search online databases and scholarly journals. Read the database description to determine if it includes peer-reviewed articles. Many databases include options to limit your results to peer-reviewed articles. 

Quick Reference

Ulrich's Periodical Directory will tell you if a journal is peer-reviewed (refereed). Type in the journal's name and look in the "Refereed" field.