Skip to main content

Psychology *

This is the primary research guide for Psychology students and faculty.

Welcome to the Psychology Research Guide

Welcome!

Psi symbol

This online guide to research at the University of Southern California Libraries is intended to assist students and faculty as they formulate, develop, and complete research projects within psychology.

Using this guide is easy! Just navigate through the tabs, located to the left of this box, and follow the instructions for your chosen task. It's that simple!

Quick Notes:

  • If you're looking for Applied Psychology resources, visit the separate Research Guide at: http://libguides.usc.edu/appliedpsyc
  • If you're in the new Applied Behavior Analysis program, be aware that the key journals you need are all in the PsycINFO database, so start your research there
  • IMPORTANT -- ALWAYS access databases and search engines (including Google Scholar) through a USC Libraries page! This links your computer to the USC databases to which you have FREE access and for which you've already paid.

Questions?

  • Scroll down to view all my contact information
  • 24/7 chat and more reference options: Ask-A-Librarian

Where Do I Start?

Not Exactly Sure Where To Start?

To know where to look, you first need to know what you are looking for. Think about all the aspects you need to address your topic, these become your initial "keywords". Then it's time to start digging into your topic.

  • Define your topic
  • Identify keywords and terms to assist you in searching for articles and other resources
  • Find background information; items in the Reference collection - particularly subject encyclopedias - are great starting points for your research (Encyclopedia articles offer concise overviews of a topic, summaries of key research in a particular discipline, and often include a bibliography which can serve as a starting list of sources for your project.)
  • From your selected articles and databases, locate additional keywords and subject terms to focus and expand your search

The USC Libraries Knowing Where to Look tutorial is a great place to start identifying the best search engines for your research questions. Additional resources include the Developing Keywords tutorial and Searching Solutions research guide.

Managing Your Resources

Managing all the materials you find and review is a key to success. Visit these Research Guides on tools you can use to save, organize and output your citations.

  • RefWorks: Web-based citation manager with access provided by USC Libraries
  • EndNote: Web-based citation manager tool with access provided by USC Libraries via the Web of Science
  • Mendeley: Free, online cloud-based citation management tool 
  • Zotero: Free, online and downloaded citation management tool

Library Quick Search

Quick search for articles, books, and other library resources.

 

Quicklinks

Meet your Librarian!

Holly Burt
Contact:
Leavey Library, LVL 113
651 West 35th Street
Office Hours: By appointment

GER 116
3715 McClintock Ave.
Office Hours: M, Tu, Th: 11-2

213-740-2654 LVL
213-821-9711 GER
Online chat: 11-2 and by appt
Skype Contact