Addtional Resources
If you need additional Communication resources checkout the Research Guide for Communication Studies and other subjects
Also check out the Browse by Subject page for a complete list of databases related to specific subjects. For example, if you are interested in Frank Llyod Wright architecture, search Architecture subject list.
- Database : Browse by SubjectIf need to see more databases on other topics use this resource.
web resources
Demographic Statistics
American Factfinder - A product of the US Census, American Factfinder provides Census data in user friendly format.
Consumer Expenditure Survey - The Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Expenditure Survey records how Americans spend their money by tracking expenditures on food, housing, transportation, education, pensions, healthcare, etc.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is one of the first statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform and providing companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
- Editor & Publisher Market GuideDemographic and market data for 1600 cities in the U.S. and Canada.
- SBDC DemographicsThe official National Information Clearinghouse serving the Small Business Development Center Network and America's small business community. Search the Library Links for demographic information
Sources: United States
- Roper Center I-PollThe Roper Center maintains an archive of public opinion survey data--including from the National Opinion Research Center (NORC), Gallup, Los Angeles Times Polls, exit polls and others. Allows users to search survey questions or download data directly. Users will need to enter their USC email address to access data.
- Pew Research CenterCheck out the "databank" to access data from Pew Global Attitudes Project, Pew Hispanic Center, Pew Internet and American Life, Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life and others.
- Annenberg Public Policy CenterIncludes National Annenberg Election Surveys Data Sets as well as Health Behavior and Survey of Youth. See the "findings" and "data sets" links.
- American National Election StudiesData on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Time series.
- GallupAccess current Gallup articles. Gallup polling data are also available through Roper Center.
- General Social Survey (GSS)GSS "conducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor social change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations. Contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies.
Think Tanks
CGS - PolicyArchive: PolicyArchive is an innovative, new digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research.It makes use of the power, efficiency, and economy of modern Internet technology to collect and disseminate summaries and full texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia material of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research.
ProCon.org - Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues : ProCon.org is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity that has no government affiliations of any kind. Our purpose is to provide resources for critical thinking and to educate without bias. We do not express opinions on our research projects ("issue websites").
Pew Research Center: The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues.
The Urban Institute | Research of Record: The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government.
Brookings Institution: The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research and, based on that research, to provide innovative, practical recommendations that advance three broad goals:
- Strengthen American democracy;
- Foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans; and
- Secure a more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international system.
USA.gov: As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web.
US Government Printing Office - FDsys - Home: The U.S Government Printing Office (GPO) provides publishing and dissemination services for the official and authentic government publications to Congress, Federal agencies, Federal depository libraries, and the American public.
Debatabase: a world of great debates | idebate.org - IDEA:IDEA works with young people from all over the world in communities with little or no history of debate or informed public discussion. We teach critical thinking, advocacy, conflict resolution, public speaking skills and the desire and capacity to look respectfully and rationally at other people’s points of view.