Search Tips
Once you have identified your Speech topic generate a list of words, or Keywords that are related to your topic.
Use AND, OR, NOT to connect your phrases/keywords
to locate both morality AND norms
to locate either word discourse OR commentary
NOT will retrieve the first word, debate NOT argument
Time frame:
2004-2014
types of resources:
case studies
government reports
peer-reviewed articles
newspapers
magazines
books
book chapters
Communication related Research Databases
Here are a few databases to begin your research:
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstract database of sociology and social and behavioral sciences literature from 1952 to present. Includes journal articles, conference papers, books, and dissertations.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowommunication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
- JSTORA growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals. Some backfiles date back to the early 1800s. Fields covered include: anthropology, ecology, economics, education, finance, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, literature, biology.
- ProCon.org This link opens in a new windowTopics such as Sex and Gender, Religion, and Media and Entertainment have at least one pro/con issue. The "for" and "against" text is in two columns, preceded by a "Did you know" and followed by a background essay. Footnotes are embedded in the text with many live links
Homelessness
For more information on homelessness see the Homelessness Research Guide
Gender & Sexuality
The following resources are a great place to begin your research:
- Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new windowEssential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
- Women and Social Movements Library This link opens in a new windowOrganized around the history of women in social movements between 1600 and the present,
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowThis is an index to the core disciplines in women's studies and feminist research. Coverage includes more than 586,600 records and spans from 1972 to present. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowGenderWatch features publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including media, health sciences, political science, and more.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowLGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Transsexual issues.
Ethnic Databases
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch now includes two collections: 1) Ethnic NewsWatch, a current collection (1990-present) and 2) Ethnic NewsWatch: A History(1959-1989)
- SAGE PremierSAGE Premier. Access to more than 500 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine...
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThe definitive index to articles and other literature (books, dissertations, book reviews, etc.) covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from the 15th century to the present. Indexes nearly 1,800 journals from 1860s to present, including all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications, and selected articles from scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities.
- Hispanic-American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowLocate articles in the humanities and social sciences from and about Latin America and related to Chicano and Latino studies from the Hispanic American Periodicals Index. Some fulltext available.
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowBlack Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans.