Medieval studies is an interdisciplinary and multifaceted field which includes the history of Europe from the fall of the Western Roman Empire until the emergence of the Renaissance in northern Europe in the early sixteenth century.
This Research Guide includes information about the Western European medieval world, and it touches upon an array of topics, for example: art, history, law, liturgy, music, philosophy, and many others.
It aims to provide an entry into various resources that the University of Southern California (USC) has to offer in medieval studies, as well as links to relevant databases and sources, including digitized manuscripts here at USC. It also spotlights our collection of incunabula in the USC Libraries Special Collections Department. Updates will be added on a regular basis, so as to reflect evolving research on any topic presented in this Guide.
This Research Guide is co-authored by Dr. Danielle Mihram and Dr. Melissa L. Miller. Contributions to the Guide's contents have also been made by Micaela Rodgers, Research Associate & Information Specialist, USC Illuminated Medieval Manuscripts Project.
Be sure to explore our companion project USC Illuminated Medieval Manuscripts now published as a Scalar e-Book:
This work (extensive research and uploading of the various multi-modal materials in this Scalar publication) was started in July 2020, and it will continue to progress thanks to the close collaboration of our Project’s three team members: Danielle Mihram, Melissa Miller, and Micaela Rodgers.
Fordham University Libraries:
Medieval Studies, by Jeannie Hoag.
Medieval Book Facsimile and Manuscript Studies by Kevin Vogelaar and Vivian Shen.
Saint Louis University Libraries:
Medieval Trade and Travel, by Debra Cashion.
Medieval Vernacular Literature, by Debra Cashion,
The Huntington Library, Art Museum, and Botanical Gardens
Incunabula at The Huntington by Stephen Tabor
Duke University Libraries
USC's Center for the Premodern World, opened in Fall 2019, "[...] creates space and offers resources for the study of cultures and civilizations, beginning with the earliest historical eras up to the end of the Middle Ages and the beginning of the modern world."
USC's Early Modern Studies Institute (ESMI) "supports advanced research and scholarship on human societies between 1450 and 1840. The Institute's range is global."
To facilitate both research and study, this guide includes many titles in our USC collections that are available online. However many of these titles are also available in print form. This information may be verified by consulting our online USC Libraries' Catalog.
For tips about Catalog searching, and how to find additional resources, take a look at:USC Libraries Search, Users' Guide, by Christal Young.
Use this recommendation request form to recommend a book, journal, CD, DVD or other resource that is not currently in the USC Libraries collections.
GAULTERUS BURLAEUS (Walter Burley) Incipit libellus De vita et moribus philosophorum et poetarum,
USC Libraries Call # Z241 1477 .B96
Micaela Rodgers, M.Phil, M.L.I.S.