It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Publication Date: Cambridge/New York: Cambridge University Press, 2011.
(...) This catalogue provides scholars and researchers easy access to the University Library's illuminated manuscripts, evaluating the importance of many of them for the very first time. It contains descriptions of famous manuscripts, for example the Life of Edward the Confessor attributed to Matthew Paris, as well as hundreds of lesser-known items. Beautifully illustrated throughout, the catalogue contains descriptions of individual manuscripts with up-to-date assessments of their style, origins and importance, together with biographical references.
Call Number: Architecture and Fine Arts Library: ND2890.G8 I55 2009
Publication Date: London : Harvey Miller Publishers; c2009-
This publication [2 vols.] is the first to appear in a major new series of catalogues covering all Western medieval illuminated manuscripts in Cambridge, excluding only the manuscripts in the University Library which are being catalogued separately. The entries are based on the most recent studies undertaken by the Cambridge Illuminations Research Project; they are organised geographically by place of origin, and, within that grouping, listed chronologically. (…) The focus of the catalogue is on the illumination, and includes detailed listings of all miniatures, decoration and ornamentation, which are made easily accessible by the inclusion of an exhaustive iconographic index. Entries also include much information on the textual contents of the manuscripts and on their provenance, as well as the most recent bibliographical references. Every manuscript catalogued is also illustrated, generally with several images, providing readers with a corpus of some 750 illustrations which are all reproduced in full colour.
Call Number: Doheny Memorial Library, Special Collections: Z6620.G7 R63 2003
Publication Date: London: British Library, 2003
This Catalogue, with 285 illustrated entries and 318 original-size photographs, provides an invaluable conspectus of histories and chronicles, legal and medical manuscripts, Livery Companies' Ordinance Books, as well as literary works, in Latin, Anglo-Norman, and Middle English. This pioneering study bears witness to the growth and development of literacy among the medieval citizens of London and Westminster. The Catalogue is the fourth British contribution to an international series of illustrated catalogues of dated and datable manuscript books written in western European handwriting of the medieval and renaissance periods, and complements Andrew G. Watson's Catalogue of Dated and Datable Manuscripts c.700?1600 in the Department of Manuscripts, The British Library (1979), by covering all other institutional libraries in London.
Publication Date: Toronto Ontario : University of Toronto Press; 2014
Anglo-Saxon Manuscripts is the first publication to list every surviving manuscript or manuscript fragment written in Anglo-Saxon England between the seventh and the eleventh centuries or imported into the country during that time.
This volume provides a summary description of over three hundred western medieval manuscripts [excluding Greek] acquired by Cambridge University Library since the publication of the mid-nineteenth century printed catalogue; for the most part, no published descriptions have hitherto existed. Concentrating on contents and provenance, the catalogue covers manuscripts from a sixth-century fragment of Augustine to a translation by Erasmus of a work by Plutarch, and in Latin, English, French, Italian, Spanish, and Welsh. The descriptions are complemented with an introductory survey of the collection and its history.
David T. Gura's innovative catalogue describes the 288 medieval and Renaissance manuscripts held by the University of Notre Dame (Hesburgh Library and Snite Museum of Art) and Saint Mary's College. Bound manuscripts, leaves, and fragments, which span the late eleventh through the sixteenth century and include bibles, books of hours, calendars, liturgical texts, and much more, are given thorough critical treatment and scholarly description. (…) Gura's flexible schematic for analytical manuscript description presents the important aspects of particular genres of the manuscripts, distinguishes their uncommon features, and interprets them. In his introduction to the catalogue, Gura provides a history of the formation of the manuscript collections, a scholarly overview organized by genre, and a detailed explanation of his analytical schematic. Paratextual materials allow readers to browse all manuscripts in the collections by repository, date, country or region of origin, language, and textual contents.
Publication Date: Cambridge, Mass.: Dept. of Print. and Graphic Arts, Harvard College Library, c1983.
Although the advent of the printing press heralded the end of the manuscript, the illuminated text still flourished through the late Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Many such manuscripts are works of extraordinary expressive power and have much to tell about the history of the graphic arts as well. Roger Wieck's catalogue carefully describes the extraordinary collection of graduals, breviaries, books of hours, and works of classical and vernacular literature assembled over the decades at Houghton Library.
Call Number: Architecture and Architecture Library: ND2930 .F74 2018
Publication Date: London: Ad Ilissum, 2018.
This publication is the first of a three volume set exploring an outstanding collection of leaves and miniatures from medieval manuscripts. "Brimming with beautiful illustrations, this volume covers a period from the late 9th to the late 15th centuries and incorporates new discoveries in this still growing field. (…) The present volume is dedicated to the holdings of single leaves and miniatures from medieval Italian manuscripts, which cover a period from the late 9th to the late 15th centuries, and are enriched by a few Byzantine items (…) There are a number of beautiful pages from legal documents, both French and Italian. And there are also some examples from histories such as the English Chatsworth Roll and pages from a history of the French kings.”
Call Number: Architecture and Fine Arts Library: ND2930 .K54 2019
Publication Date: London: Ad Ilissum, 2019
This handsome catalogue is the second of a three-volume set exploring the McCarthy collection, arguably the largest and most important private collection of illuminated cuttings, miniatures, and leaves in the world. (...)The present volume is dedicated to the holdings of single leaves and cuttings from Spanish, English, Flemish and Central European manuscripts from the 12th to late 15th centuries. Richly detailed with plentiful illustrations, it is a notable contribution to medieval scholarship.
The Mccarthy Collection. Volume III, French Miniatures by Peter Kidd
Publication Date: Anticipated publication date (London: Ad Ilissum,) is August 2020.
This substantial catalogue is the final of a three-volume set exploring a remarkable collection of leaves and miniatures from medieval manuscripts. Richly detailed with plentiful illustrations, this notable contribution to medieval scholarship describes French material from c. 1100 to the 15th century, with particular strength in the 13th and 14th centuries. In many cases the recto and verso of each item is reproduced, as the verso often provides vital textual, palaeographical or art historical clues to the date and place of origin, or traces of a later provenance and lists parent volumes, sister leaves and cuttings, some of which are also reproduced.
Call Number: Doheny Memorial Library: Z6621.P9453 S56 2013
Publication Date: Princeton, N.J.: Dept. of Art and Archaeology, Princeton University: Distributed by Princeton University Press, 2013
This two-volume catalogue is the first comprehensive scholarly description of the Western medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the Princeton University Library, one of the finest collections in America. The rich holdings comprise more than 420 manuscripts in the Robert Garrett, Grenville Kane, Robert Taylor, Cotsen Library, and Princeton collections; manuscripts bound with incunables in the Rare Books Division; hundreds of single leaves and cuttings; and about 5,000 original documents in six other collections. The catalogue offers full textual, paleographic, codicological, art-historical, and iconographical descriptions; detailed provenance notes; and full bibliographies. (…) Some twenty years in the making, this catalogue identifies virtually all the manuscripts' texts on an encyclopedic range of subjects. Classical Latin authors, medieval scholastic texts, scripture, liturgy, and devotional books are most prominent, but history, law, music, medicine, astronomy, magic, and especially vernacular literature are also represented. (...)