Medieval Studies and Research: Incunabula at USC - Listing by Name of Author: K-Z

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Special Collections' copy bound in parchment with red-stained edges. 85 leaves ; 27 cm. (4to).

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. USC Libraries Special Collections' copy bound in limp vellum. Format: [152] leaves ; 31 cm. (fol.). Text surrounded by commentary in smaller type, 61 lines per page. First ten leaves foliated by hand. Woodcut decorated capitals.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Bound in half green leather with patterned paper boards, and marbled lining papers; title stamped in gold on spine, not contemporary; also title in manuscript on tail edge. Format: 372 unnumbered leaves ; 39 cm. (fol.). USC Libraries Special Collections' copy lacks first and last blank leaves, and 19 preliminary leaves. Contemporary manuscript marginalia and fists throughout.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Bound with Somnivm Scipionis ex Ciceronis libro de repvblica exerptvm (Venetiis: a Philippo Pincio Mantuano, 1500). Bound in contemporary blind-stamped velllum on wooden boards, with metal hinges and one clasp still intact; title in manuscript on spine. Lucianus's Verae historiae translated from Greek into Latin by Lilius (Tifernas) Castellanus; Diodorus Siculus's Bibliothecae historicae by Poggius Florentinus. Format: [8], xixiii [i.e. 51], [1] leaves ; 34 cm (fol.).

BR65 .L2 1494
EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. The Carmen de resurrectione Dominica (De pascha) is by Venantius Fortunatus; the Carmen de passione Domini has been wrongly ascribed to Lactantius; the authorship of the Carmen de phoenice, formerly much disputed, is now generally ascribed to Lactantius. Bound in half leather and red marbled boards. Lettering on spine stamped in gold. Format: [1], 90, [1] leaves ; 32 cm. (fol.). Woodcuts: Initials, Printer's device as colophon. USC Libraries Special Collections' copy is a gift of James Harmon Hoose.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin, Bound with Lucianus ueris narationibus & Diodorus ficulus (Venetiis: impressum Philippum Pincium, 1493), and Diogenes Laercius (Venetiis: per Philippum Pinzi, 1497). Bound in contemporary blind-stamped vellum on wooden boards, with metal hinges and one clasp still intact; title in manuscript on spine. Format: XXXVI, LXXXVI, [8], xixiii [i.e. 51], [1], xcv, [1] leaves : including map, diagrams ; 34 cm (fol.), Errors in foliation: in the first count, leaves XX-XXI and XXXI misnumbered XIX-XX and XXXVI respectively; in the second count, leaves XLVII, and LIIII misnumbered XLVIII, and LIII respectively.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION - A manual for the clergy, containing etymological and grammatical explanations of the difficult words in the Bible and the liturgical hours, arranged in the order of the Bible and the Church year. Language: Latin. Bound in vellum, title stamped in gold on spine label; edges sprinkled brown and red. Format: 129 unnumbered leaves ; 33 cm (folio).

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION - Language: Latin. Bound in paper on manuscript waste base.
Format: [264] p. : diag. ; 22 cm. (4to in 8s). Initials throughout; register of signatures following colophon.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION - Colophon reads: “Barnabas Celsanvs Vicentinvs Habes Hvmanissime lector opera. P.Ovidii a nobis qvam accvratissime potvimvs emendata. Nec minvs diligenter ab Hermano Levilapide Vicentiae impressa. M.CCCC.LXXXX. Pridie Idvs. Avg. Feliciter.” Bound in brown leather over boards, much worn. Wormholes. Format: [330] p. 30 cm. (fol.).

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Bound in leather, blind-stamped front and back boards, with metal hinges, clasps missing, with manuscript waste lining papers. Format: [279] leaves ; 34 cm. (fol.); mss. marginalia throughout. USC Libraries Special Collections' copy given in honor of James Harmon Hoose by the Hoose family to the Hoose Library of Philosophy.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION - Language: Latin. Bound in leather over boards with metal furniture; title in manuscript on textblock tail. USC copy has initials, underlining, capital strokes, and paragraph marks in red. Opening initial have pen drawn decoration in red. Blank [13]10 is present only as a stub. Some annotation in a contemporary hand. USC Libraries Special Collections' copy is a James Harmon Hoose book from the Hoose Library of Philosophy.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Book has been re-bound, late 18th or early 19th century, in mustard yellow leather with a lettering piece of leather stamped in gold on the spine reading "Lombardi Sententix". Originally bound in vellum with raised cords. Multiple watermarks throughout, most commonly a crown being pierced from the bottom with an awl or sword. Format: [170] leaves (leaves [1] and [170] blank) ; 33 cm (fol.). Special Collections copy is a Seeley Greenleaf Mudd gift to the Hoose Library of Philosophy. Fore edge is labeled in ink "Liber Sten 4". Contains annotations throughout in a contemporary hand. Rubricated in red and blue ink with many pen flourishes. Contains an illuminated initial on leaf 4 depicting St. Michael dividing his cloak with a beggar
Paper slip pasted on front non-original endpaper reads "INCUNABULA - LOMBARDUS (Petrus) SENTENTIARUM LIBRI IV. Gothic letter, double columns. 168 unnumbered folios, 57-55 lines to a page, with initial letters in blue and red, many with elaborate pen flourishes. On folio III is a large capital "V" in blue, occupied with a contemporary painting (2 7/10x2.5 ins) representing Saint Michael dividing his cloak with the beggar. folio, boards, vellum back (a few leaves lightly wormed, otherwise A FINE TALL COPY complete with the blank leaf at beginning and end), with some contemporary MS. marginal notes, £28. Nurnberg, Ant. Koburger, 1481. Hain 10188; Proctor 2002, According to Winship's Census, only one copy in the USA."

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Format: [256] leaves : ill. ; 32 cm. (fol.); engraved leaf tipped inside front board, drawn by Nicole, a Nancy. Special Collections' copy given in honor of Seeley Greenleaf Mudd by the Mudd family to the Hoose Library of Philosophy, USC.

USC Libraries' Spec. Coll. copy is a Gomperz Collection item from the Hoose Library of Philosophy. Copy 1 is a Mudd and Flewelling Collection item from the Hoose Library of Philosophy.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Bound with: Orationes et opuscula / F. Filelfo, 1491. Format: t.-p., [12], 2-117 ¿. [1] p. 22 cm. Printer's mark on last leaf.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Contents: Correspondence with contemporaries. Language: Latin. Reprint of the 1496 edition of Benedictus Hectoris, Bologna, repeating the original colophon in part 2. Bound in brown leather with raised cords. Stamped on cover with inset rectangle with floral motif at corners. Spine is tooled in gold, including identifier "Io. Pici Mirand Opera". Format: 2 parts in 1 volume : 1 illustration (relief) ; 32 cm (fol.); maginalia in manuscript throughout. Special Collections' copy is from the Flewelling Collection of the Hoose Library of Philosophy.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – "Includes 'Historia de duobus amantibus (tale of two lovers), which some scholars think is a variation and Latin translation of Boccaccio's Love tale in the Decameron IV.1"-- Johanson Rare Books. Language: Latin. Bound in contemporary blind-tooled half binding with exposed wooden board; metal loop remains where attached in a chained library; metal furniture on back board title in manuscript on front board. Format: [244] leaves ; 25 cm (4to in 8s).

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Bound in original oak boards with blind stamped pigskin, one metal clasp operational; hand-lettered large label on front board. Format: 248 unnumbered leaves ; 33 cm (fol.). Contemporary marginalia in manuscript throughout.
Introductory letter from Hieronymus Squarzaficus to Platina on p. [2].

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Caption title, sig. a3r: Plotini vita composita a Porphyrio discipulo suo traducta vero a Marsilio Ficino Florentino. Bound in brown leather over wooden boards, with armorial emblem of John Ker, 3rd Duke of Roxburghe (1740-1804) on front and back boards, and marbled lining papers. With bookplates of Albert May Todd and Bernard Edward, Duke of Norfolk. Format: [884] p. ; 36 cm. (fol.). Gift; Seeley Greenleaf Mudd family; January 30, 1933.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Format: t. p., 120 leaves, [3] pages 19 cm. (4to).

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Bound in stamped leather over boards. Format: t.-p., [319] p. 28 cm. (fol.). Title page ruled in red; some rubrication.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Bound in seventeenth century three quarter calf with hand-colored paper over boards; marbled edges. Format: [7], 68 leaves : illustrations, diagrams, map (woodcuts) ; 26 cm (folio). Woodcut vignettes, some contemporary manuscript annotation.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION - First issue of first edition. Language: Latin. Bound in full leather with blind-tooling on front and back boards, on wooden boards. Format: [19], CCLXVI, [5], CCLXVII-CCXCIX, [1] leaves : ill., maps, ports. ; 45 cm. (fol.). The woodcuts by Wohlgemuth and Pleydenwurff. Coloring of illustrations.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Bound in blind-tooled parchment on boards with metal clasps; some headers partially missing due to trimming when bound. Woodcuts by Wohlgemuth and Pleydenwurff. Rubrication in text and initials on several leaves. Format: [20], CCLXVI, [5], CCLXVII-CCXCIX, [1] leaves : ill. (woodcuts), coats of arms, maps, ports. ; 45 cm. (fol.).

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Bound in half-vellum with manuscript waste boards - not contemporary. Format: [24] p. ; 21 cm. Special collections' copy given in honor of Seeley Greenleaf Mudd by the Mudd family, to the Hoose Library of Philosophy, University of Southern California.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Italian. Format: [12] leaves : woodcut ; 19 cm. (4to). USC Libraries Special Collections' copy is a Mudd and Flewelling Collection item from the Hoose Library of Philosophy; with bookplate of J. Cigertiae.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Bound in blind-stamped full leather, with raised cords; title stamped in gold on spine; not contemporary. Format: 204] leaves ; 34 cm. (fol.); manuscript marginalia on first leaves. Initials, pilcrows and capital strokes in red and blue.
USC Libraries Special Collections' copy is a Mudd and Flewelling Collection item from the Hoose Library of Philosophy; purchased Powner, May 25, 1923; with inscriptions of former owners on front flyleaf and first leaf of text.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Bound in worn brown leather, with ornamentation and lettering in gold. Title on red label. Stored in box. Format: t.-p., [10] p., clxxxi leaves : illus. (part col.) ; 28 cm. (fol.). Title-page illustrated (part col.). Many woodcuts, including six full-page ones, showing scenes from the plays.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION - Contains commentaries on the Analytica, Topica and Elenchi of Aristotle and on the De ente et essentia of Thomas Aquinas. Language: Latin. Leather binding with metal hinges, blind-stamped front and back boards and spine (On spine of box: Johannes Versor. Cologne c. 1484-1487). Format: [128] leaves ; 29 cm. (folio). Mss. notes in margins throughout.

EXCERPTS FROM DESCRIPTION – Language: Latin. Brown speckled paper binding, blue-stained edges, not contemporary. Format: [70] p ; 27 cm. (4to). Special Collections' copy given in honor of James Harmon Hoose by the Hoose family to the Hoose Library of Philosophy, USC.