Medieval Studies and Research: Medieval Manuscripts at USC

Country: France
Language: Latin
Manuscript printed on paper. Now attributed to Albertus of Orlamünde, though based on Albertus Magnus; cf. Martin Grabmann, "Die Philosophia pauperum und ihr Verfasser, Albert von Orlamuende." Preliminary leaves rubricated in red and blue. One column of 17 lines per page; printed on recto and verso of each leaf. Marginalia through leaf 11. Bound in blind-tooled rubricated parchment on wooden boards, with manuscript waste vellum end-sheets. Format: 52, [1], 53-143, [i.e. 144] leaves; 21 cm. Albertus Magnus. Summa naturalium. Pap. (ca. 1400), 20 x 15 cm.) Written in Germany. Orig. wooden boards and pink stamped leather, lined with pieces of a Latin deed concerning St. Peter and Paul, of Erfurt. Bought (xvth c.) by Didericus dictus Stalbertus, for the Benedictines of St. Peter of Erfurt (K. 23). Obtained from E. Dawson, Los Angeles, by Ralph Tyler Flewelling. Ricci, Vol. 1, California Section, p. 17: item no. 4.

NOTES: Special Collections' copy is a Mudd and Flewelling Collection item from the HOOSE LIBRARY OF PHILOSOPHY.

Country: Italy
Language: Latin
Proemum Leonardi Aretini aux librnz eoconomia Aristo Related titles: Petrarca, Francesco, 1304-1374. Works. Selections. Manuscript printed on paper. One column of 37-42 lines per page; written on recto and verso of each leaf. Translated into Latin by Leonardus Aretinus Bruni with commentary. Additional manuscript purporting to be selections from Petrarca On sins and virtues, and other matter, in much italianized Latin. At the end, the book by Leonardus Aretinus De nobilitate followed by a collection of synonyms alphabetically arranged, and an address by Aretinus to Niccolo Niccoli. Bound in mottled leather with coast of arms of the Gerente family stamped in gold on front and back boards; spine tooled in gold. Format: [39] leaves; 29 cm.
NOTES: From the library of Balthazar-Alexandre de Jarente, Marquis of Sénas et d'Orgeval (1705-1768). Pap., 37 ff., 28 x 20 cm. Written, probably in Italy, ca. 1500, by several hands.
Bound in 18th c.[?] “antique marble” with supra-libris bookstamp in gold of the Gérente family. Balthazar-Alexandre de Gérente, marquis de Sénat. Bought from Terry in 1938. Mudd Collection, [as] cited above [in Item 4], [p.]14. Ricci, Supplement, p. 16: item no. 8.

NOTES: A James Harmon Hoose book from the USC HOOSE LIBRARY OF PHILOSOPHY.

Language: Latin
Contributor: Fuller, B. A. G. (Benjamin Apthorp Gould), 1879-1956, former owner. Manuscript; title from incipit. Several manuscripts in two hands, in black and red, of the fourteenth century. First capital illuminated. With marginal notes. Pap., 71 ff. (30-21 cm. Written in the 14th c. 1 illuminated initial. Bound in 17th c. [?] stamped morocco. Ricci, Supplement, p. 17: item no. 12.

NOTES: A gift of Dr. B.A.G. Fuller, November 10, 1947 to Hoose Library of Philosophy. Special Collections' copy is a James Harmon Hoose book from the HOOSE LIBRARY OF PHILOSOPHY.

Carmina qui quonda[m] studio flore[n]te pe[re]gi.
Country: France
Language: Latin
Handwritten manuscript on vellum of Boethius' De consolatione philosophiae, probably dating from the 15th century. Title from first page. Leaves have (chiefly) 29 lines of text in a single column on each side. Multi-color illuminated initials; rubrication in red and blue. Red morocco binding, ca. 18th century, with gold tooling on front and back boards, spine, and inside edges, blue decorated lining papers, in clamshell buckram case. Spine label: Boetiu M.SS. 1247.
Format: 124 p.; 20 cm. Acquisition Source: Bookplate of Nobirulus Bibliopola, 1887, Lugd. (i.e. the library of Louis Brun, Lyon, France); illegible owner's inscription dated 1547 on last page. Vel. (ca. 1400), 62 ff. (19 x 13 cm.). Written in Southern France. Illum. Initials. French red mor., ca. 1780. La Clayette coll. (ca. 1780); sold (XIXth c.) by M. de La Clayette, clerc de notaire chez Me Delorme; owned in 1887 by Louis Brun, book seller at Lyon. Obtained from Champion (1926). Ricci, Vol. 1, California Section, p. 17: item no. 1.

NOTES: Special Collections' copy is a Mudd and Flewelling Collection item from the HOOSE LIBRARY OF PHILOSOPHY.

Title: Incipit libellus De vita [et] morib[us] ph[ilosoph]o[rum] et poeta[rum].
Contributor: Koberger, Anton, approximately 1440-1513, printer.
Subject: Philosophers, Ancient
Woodcuts -- Germany -- Nuremberg -- 1470-1480
Illuminations -- Germany -- Nuremberg -- 1470-1480
Decorations -- Hand-colored -- Germany -- Nuremberg -- 1470-1480
Folio format (Printing) -- Germany -- 15th century
Colophons (Printing) -- Germany -- 15th century
Half bindings (Binding) -- 19th century
Marbled papers (Binding) -- 19th century
Edge titles (Binding) -- 15th century
Description: Uniform title from Goff; imprint from colophon. First and last two leaves blank.
Includes indexes. Initials in blue and red ink, illuminated initial first page after index with hand-colored head and tail pieces. In 19th century half leather binding with marbled paper boards and lining papers; title in manuscript on fore edge.
Publisher: Nuremberg : Opusculum ... Antonij Coburgers ...
Format: [184] p. ; 23 cm. (fol.)
Language: Latin

NOTES: USC Libraries Special Collections' copy is from the HOOSE LIBRARY OF PHILOSOPHY..

Language: Latin
Three blank leaves of parchment precede and four follow text. Full complete book of hours with calendar and six beautifully designed, illuminated and colored full-page miniatures, encircled by richly decorated and colored borders consisting of flowers and leaves.

NOTES: Purchase; Lynge & Son; 2014. Belonged to Grietken Baeckx of Groot Begijnhoff van Leuven, Netherlands.

USC Digital Library: http://digitallibrary.usc.edu/cdm/ref/collection/p15799coll58/id/48884

Language: Latin
Ten full-page miniatures framed by decorative borders, seven pages framed by borders in gold and colors, numerous elaborate four- to six-line initials, and hundreds of smaller ones in gold and colors; all with marginal extensions.

NOTES: Purchase; John Windle Antiquarian Bookseller ; 2014. From the library of James Boswell, with his inscription dated 1766, possibly purchased by him in Paris in that year.

Consigned by Boswell descendant Joyce Lady Talbot de Malahide to Christie's and sold December 18, 1959 to Norman Strouse. Sold by John Windle on behalf of Strouse's heirs.

USC Digital Library: http://digitallibrary.usc.edu/cdm/ref/collection/p15799coll58/id/49243

Language: Latin
Incipiunt vespe mortou[rum]. Manuscript on vellum in Latin. Decorated capitals and rubrication in red and blue; 13 lines in one column per page. Date appears on recto of leaf 94. Verso of leaf 94, 96 and recto of 96 contain the Dies irae. Bound in leather with metal clasps, ca. 18th century. Ownership inscription "Von Kienle" written on recto of leaf 96. Format: 96 leaves; 12 cm.

NOTES: USC Libraries Special Collections' copy generously restored by Jack & Barbara Tingley, 2012.

Language: Latin
Bound in vellum with loop-and-ball fastening (one ball missing). A collection of philosophical and theological treatises in varying handwritings. Format: [270] p.; 22 cm.

NOTES: Special Collections' copy is a Mudd and Flewelling Collection item from the HOOSE LIBRARY OF PHILOSOPHY.

Country: France
Written on vellum. Illuminated border on recto of leaf one. Many illuminated initials. No rubrication. Title from slipcase spine. Blind-stamped leather binding with raised bands, and metal clasp. Contemporary marginalia throughout. Includes bookplates of former owners: Albert May Todd and George Dunn of Wooley Hall near Maidenhead. Original wooden boards and stamped calf, with clasps. Arms of first owner: azure out of a vase or three branches of lilies proper. Same arms on clasp; motto: droite voye; belonged (xvith c.) to Jodocus des Mares; sale by Puttick (London, 23 Dec. 1857, n. 195) to Molini; G. Libri sale (London, 28 March 1859, n. 251) to Sir T. Phillipps (n. 16294); his sale (London, 1899, n. 376) to Leighton; George Dunn sale (London, 1914, II, n. 951) to Maggs; Albert M. Todd coll., Kalamazoo; his sale (New York, 22 Oct. 1929, n. 1929) to Dawson. Ricci, Vol. 1, California Section, p. 18: item no. 7.

NOTES: Special Collections' copy is a Mudd and Flewelling Collection item from the HOOSE LIBRARY OF PHILOSOPHY.

Liber sententiarum, cum duobus tabulis.
Language: Latin
Manuscript written on vellum. Title provided from shelf list. Parchment, written on both sides, leaves 1-7 in black ink, red ink initials, paragraph markings, beginning and ending of text; leaf 8 blank; leaves 9-317 in black, red and blue inks, with section numbers in Roman numerals in red and blue ink at head of leaves; table of contents begin leaves 317-319 verso (1 leaf blank, ruled) Written in 53 lines, two columns; some text and letters in red and blue ink. Elaborate four-line illuminated initial on first leaf of text topped by a hare, with marginal extensions; initials in red and blue with marginal extensions throughout. Manuscript marginalia and manicules throughout. Bound in leather with raised cords; title stamped in gold on spine; not contemporary.
FrL091 C719L 13—
Egidio Colonna: Tabula (ff. 1-7) – Idem: Liber primus sententiarum (ff. 9-317v) – Laurentius of Rome: Questiones (ff. 317v-319v). Vel., 319 ff., 32 x 21 cm. Written ca. 1400. One illuminated initial with border. Bound in modern leather. Bought in 1942 from Paul Gottschalk. Ricci, Supplement, p. 17: item no. 10.

NOTES: With annotations and inscriptions of former owners on endpapers and first leaf.
A James Harmon Hoose book from the USC HOOSE LIBRARY OF PHILOSOPHY.

Country: England
Tractatus varii astronomi & c. Title from spine; uniform title from accompanying notes. Written on vellum and paper. Manuscript with pen-flourished initials in colored inks. Vellum used on the following leaves: 1-3, 5, 7-8, 10, 12-15, 20-21, 26-27, 34-35, 42-43, 50-51, and 58. Astronomical illustrations on leaf 61 (recto and verso), 62v, 63v, 64r, and 66v. Space provided for illustrations on 68v and 71v, but left blank. The Grosseteste Commentary was printed at Venice 1514. The present text is complete but the chapter numbering differs, e.g. lib. 1, cap. 9 begins 12v, line 21 and the cap. 9 of 13v is really cap. 10 of the printed text. Two blanks on 20 and 25v are filled by the words "lineas rectas" and "ventum" respectively. Aristotle's text is not given. The "Theorica Astronomie", though beginning with the same words as the book by Gerard of Saibonetta and often printed, is by Walter Brit (fl. 1390), according to two Oxford Mss., (Digby XV f. 58v-92 and Wood 8 d. f. 93), or by Simon of Bredon (Digby xlviii f. 112v), both fellows of Merton. Other copies of this tract are in the British Museum , e.g. ms. Eg. 889 and Eg. 847. The diagrams omitted may be completed from the former manuscript. This work is unpublished. Acquisition Source: From the library of Lord Powis. Previous owners include Thomas Irlond (leaf 60v). R091 G878c. Robertus Grosseteste: In libros posteriorum analyticorum Aristotelis (ff. 1-60) – Unidentified work, beginning: septimo sunt stellae et planetae (f. 60v) – Robertus Grsseteste: theorica astronomiae (ff. 61-72). Vel. and pap., 72 ff., 22 x 15 cm. Written in England, early 15th c., by several hands. Diagrams. Bound in 18th c.{?} brown calf. Early signature od Thomas Irlond; signature of the Earl of Powis; bookplate of Ralph Tyler Flewelling. Presented in 1931 by Jane Carlin Flewelling. Mudd Collection, cited above, 16; S. H. Thomson, The Writings of Robert Grosseteste (1940) 84. Ricci, Supplement, p. 17: item no. 17.

NOTES: Special Collections' copy is a Mudd and Flewelling Collection item from the HOOSE LIBRARY OF PHILOSOPHY.

Liber prim[um] Tome de veri[te] theologie.
Country: England
Language: Latin
Written on vellum. This work has been variously attributed to Albertus Magnus, St. Thomas Aquinas, St. Bonaventure, Grosseteste, and others. English calf binding with marbled lining papers; red leather spine label: "Aquinas, De veritate theologiae". Format: 126 p.; 22 cm. Acquisition Source: Apparently belonged to Rev. John Disney (not in Hollis sale, 1817); sold ca. 1825 by Thorpe to Sir T. Phillipps (no. 2679); his sale (London, 1895, no. 20) to Nichols for H.B. Weaver; his sale (London, 1898, no. 93) to Tregaskis; sale by American Art Association (New York, 7 May 1926, no. 13).
Ricci, Vol. 1, California Section, p. 18: item no. 5. Update in Supplement, p. 16: item no. 5.
Gift of the S. G. Mudd family, 30 Dec. 1930. The Seeley Wintersmith Mudd Foundation Special Collection (University of Southern California, 1940) [p.]16: Hugh of Strasbourg, … Compendium theologicae Veritatis…”

NOTES: Special Collections' copy is a Mudd and Flewelling Collection item from the HOOSE LIBRARY OF PHILOSOPHY.

Libelus Inocentiis et miseria gradus humane.
Language: Latin
Related Titles: Seneca, Lucius Annaeus, approximately 4 B.C.-65 A.D. De remediis fortuitorum libellus. Handwritten manuscript on paper (except for first and last leaves, which are vellum), illuminated initial first page, rubricated throughout. Bound in limp vellum. Format: 30 leaves; 22 cm. Includes book plate of Hermann Suchier and ownership stamp "Di Casa Minutoli Tegrimi".

NOTES: Special Collections' copy a gift of Lion and Marta Feuchtwanger.
USC Digital Library: http://digitallibrary.usc.edu/cdm/ref/collection/p15799coll58/id/820

USC Digital Library: http://digitallibrary.usc.edu/cdm/ref/collection/p15799coll58/id/713

NOTES: A James Harmon Hoose book from the USC HOOSE LIBRARY OF PHILOSOPHY.

Petri Lombardi Summa super sententias.
Language: Latin
Country: France
Manuscript codex. Title from rubric. Trimmed before binding; rubric partially obscured. The first three books are devoted to the realities that contribute to salvation. The divisions of this book as of the other books are called distinctiones. The first book contains 48 distinctiones, the second book contains 24, the third book 40, and the fourth book 15. Annotation in red ink throughout. Collation: Parchment, fol. 1-155 hand numbered, no blank leaves. Layout: Written in 2 columns, 47-49 lines; ruled in black ink. Script: Written in freehand. Modern binding in dark brown leather over paper boards, 5 raised cords on back, creating 6 compartments, in each of which a small gilt ornamentation. Boards with triple blind-stamped line-borders one with a blind-stamped ornamentation; gold stamped decoration in center of front and back boards; edges gilded. Acquisition Source: Gift; Seeley Greenleaf Mudd; 19280224.
Petrus Lombardus. Libri IV Sententiarum. Vel. (late XIIIth c.) 155 ff. (32 x 23 cm.). Damaged at end. Brown mor. By Zaehnsdorf. Given by Sealey Greenleaf Mudd (1928). Ricci, Vol. 1, California Section, p. 17: item no. 2.

NOTES: This is a Mudd and Flewelling Collection item from the HOOSE LIBRARY OF PHILOSOPHY.

Commentarium in IV libros sententiarum Petri Lombardi.
Language: Latin
Country: Italy
Belonged to Federigo da Montefeltro, Duke of Urbino (1422-1482), with his arms on the first leaf, showing the insignia of the gonfaloniership of the Holy Roman church, which he held from 1465; Lord Vernon (his bookplate on front pastedown) sale (London, 1918, no. 384) to Quaritch; sold by Sotheby (London, 27 March 1922, no. 453) to Dixon. Manuscript codex. Title from manuscript note pasted on front flyleaf. Extentions, paragraph markings and initials in red ink and blue throughout. Collation: Parchment, fol. 1-740 hand numbered, no blank leaves. Layout: Written in 2 columns, 48 lines; ruled in black ink. Decoration: nine-line illuminated initial first leaf, with three-sided illuminated border and cherub-framed coat of arms at center of border at foot. Illuminated initials and border in the style of Francesco d'Antonio Chierico. Origin: Author identified as Petrus de la Palud. Production site in Italy. Modern pigskin by Maltby; title in gilt on spine. Format: 740 leaves : parchment, illustrations ; 367 x 255 mm. bound to 380 x 265 mm. Acquisition Source: Gift; Seeley Greenleaf Mudd; before 1968. Written in Italy Illum. Initials and border in the style of Francesco d’Antonio Chierico. Formerly in blue watered silk; now in modern pigskin by Maltby. Lord Vernon sale (London, 1918, n. 384) to Quaritch; sale by Sotheby (London, 17 March 1922, n. 453) to Dixon. Obtained from E. Dawson, Los Angeles. Ricci, Vol. 1, California Section, p. 17: item no. 3.

NOTES: This is a Mudd and Flewelling Collection, HOOSE LIBRARY OF PHILOSOPHY.

Language: Persian
Title of each section given above each books' contents list. Date is given on leaf 113 verso of the third section of the book.

Layout: Written in 24-25 lines, one column within red, yellow and black rules; text red and black ink; illuminated headpieces precede each book.

Blank leaves include rules: 13 blank leaves precede first book, 2 pages precede and follow table of second book, 4 pages precede and 2 follow table of third book, 2 pages precede and 3 follow table of fourth book, and 2 pages precede last section.

Translation from the Arabic of Sharḥ al-asbāb wa-al-ʻalāmāt of Nafīs ibn ʻIwaḍ al-Kirmānī, a commentary on al-Asbāb wa-al-ʻalāmāt of Muḥammad al-Samarqandī.

Armorial bookplates of Sir T Stamford Raffles, and Thomas Raffles on doublure.
Teb Al-Akbar -- Mofarah Al-Gholoob -- Summarization of Teb Al-Anabi -- Ta'rif Al-Amraz. Mizan Al-Teb. Mojriat Akbari.

Bound in contemporary leather, with head- and tailbands; gold tooled doublures in red leather on front board.
Format: 252 leaves, 186 pages, 114 leaves, 6 pages, bound, (24-25 lines) : paper, illustrations ; 43 cm

Language: English

"This album of specimens forms a supplement to 'The nature and making of parchment' by Ronald Reed, published by the Elmete Press, Leeds, England, 1975."

Publisher: Los Angeles: Dawson's Book Shop.

Format: 1 portfolio (10 leaves): 9 mounted samples; 29 cm.

NOTES: Number 164 of an edition of 200 copies / 1 to 110 contain 10 specimens / 111 to 200 contain 9 specimens. Printed label attached to portfolio.

Country: France, Southern France, Italy
Contributor: Burlaeus, Gualterus, 1275-1345

Written on vellum. Manuscript with pen-flourished initials in colored inks. Rubricated. Catchwords. Pen initials in red and blue, and pen ornaments on verso of leaves 40 and 50. An erased inscription (verso of leaf 88) shows that it belonged to a Franciscan friar in the 14th century, and to H. Dasafello, 1499.
Rebound in a modern calf binding.
The Ockham tract was printed at Bologna in 1496 as "Expositio aurea super totam artem veterem."
Manuscripts of it are: Bodl. Canon. Misc. 558; Bibl. Nat. 14721; and Bruges, 499.
According to the census there is only one copy of the first edition of this work in America.
The manuscript "Burleus minor" has not been traced elsewhere. It is in four parts.
William of Occham. Super praedicabilia et praedicamenta Aristotelis (ff. 1 r.-70 v.); Burlaeus Minor (ff. 71 r.-88 v.): ut juvenes in quolibet problemate… Vel. (xivth c.). 88 ff. (20 x 14 cm.). Written in England. English half roan, ca. 1850. E. P. Goldschmidt, Cat. XV (1928?), no. 20.
Obtained from W. M. Voynich (1930). Ricci, Vol. 1, California Section, p. 18: item no. 6.

NOTES: USC Libraries Special Collections' copy is a Mudd and Flewelling Collection item from the HOOSE LIBRARY OF PHILOSOPHY.