Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion *: Home

This guide is designed to aid undergraduate students in their studies in all areas of religion.

Getting Started

There are four article indexes for religion. 

Besides these databases, I recommend Historical Abstracts and America: History & Life for articles dealing with religious history. For articles dealing with primitive and tribal religion consult Anthropology Plus. For articles dealing with ethical theory and philosophical theology consult Philosopher’s Index. For the sociology of religion and social ethics also consult Sociological Abstracts.

Additional Related Research Guides

Fordham University Libraries: 

Medieval Studies, by Jeannie Hoag.

Medieval Book Facsimile and Manuscript Studies by Kevin Vogelaar and Vivian Shen.

Saint Louis University Libraries:

Medieval Trade and Travel, by Debra Cashion.

Medieval Vernacular Literature, by Debra Cashion,

The Huntington Library, Art Museum, and Botanical Gardens

Incunabula at The Huntington by Stephen Tabor

Introduction

The study of religion corresponds to the study of man’s beliefs, hopes, and fears, plus the institutionalization of these ideas through rituals and rites. Religion’s manifestation is as old as the dawn of human consciousness. Every culture and civilization from past to present have dealt with religious ideas and issues. This library guide is divided into the following fields:

  1. The study of religion in general
  2. Examination of major religions along with their histories and doctrines
  3. The study of religious beliefs in America
  4. The interpretation and analysis of sacred texts

The purpose of this guide is to direct students in this area to important books and reference resources. What follows is a section on indexes and abstracts and a section of research tools (mostly handbooks) for the academic study of religion.

InscriptiFact

The InscriptiFact Digital Image Library is designed to allow access via the Internet to high-resolution images of ancient inscriptions and artifacts, primarily from the Near Eastern and Mediterranean Worlds. Included are, for example, Dead Sea Scrolls; cuneiform tablets from Mesopotamia and Canaan; papyri from Egypt; inscriptions on stone from Jordan, Lebanon and Cyprus; Hebrew, Aramaic, Ammonite and Edomite inscriptions on a variety of hard media (e.g., clay sherds, copper, semi-precious stones, jar handles); and Egyptian scarabs. These ancient texts represent religious and historical documents that serve as a foundation and historical point of reference for Judaism, Christianity, Islam and the cultures out of which they emerged.

                                         

             

Libwire News for Religion

Loading ...

USC Head, Philosophy Library/Humanities Librarian

Dr. Melissa Miller's picture
Dr. Melissa Miller
Contact:
Dr. Melissa L. Miller
Head, Hoose Library of Philosophy / Humanities Librarian

SUBJECT SPECIALIST - COLLECTIONS, TEACHING & RESEARCH:
* Philosophy
* Religion
* Anthropology
* History of Science & Technology
* Linguistics
* Comparative Literature

SUBJECT SPECIALTIES CONTINUED:
* Manuscript Studies
* Digital Humanities
* Leadership & Project Management

SCALAR DIGITAL HUMANITIES PROJECT:
* USC Illuminated Medieval Manuscripts
LINK: https://scalar.usc.edu/works/usc-illuminated-medieval-manuscripts/index

Research Consultations scheduled via email.
Website

Owner of this Research LibGuide

For inquiries regarding this Research LibGuide please contact Dr. Melissa Miller via email, millerm@usc.edu.

Thank you and Fight On!

License

USC Libraries and COVID-19 Updates to Services and Programs

USC Libraries Updates on Services & Programs: https://libraries.usc.edu/covid-19-usc-libraries-updates-services-programs

InterLibrary Loan (ILL) and Interlibrary Document Delivery (IDD) services: https://libguides.usc.edu/idd/covid-19