THE HOLY SEE
The official website of The Vatican includes numerous Papal documents and a new search engine.
EXTERNAL UNIVERSITY RELIGION WEBSITES
Many university Religion departments maintain excellent websites with links to a variety of resources, including software, discussion lists, organizations, electronic journals, etc.
NATIONAL MUSEUM OF AMERICAN HISTORY
Discovery and Revelation: Religion, Science, and Making Sense of Things
Discovery and Revelation looks at critical religious and scientific crossroads across three centuries, beginning with a 1721 controversy concerning smallpox and Puritan notions of divine judgement, and ending with encounters of technology and belief in the digital age.
To Explore the Online Exhibit: Click Here
LOS ANGELES AREA MUSEUMS
Visit some of the many world-class museums in the Los Angeles Area!
SELECTED EXTERNAL RESOURCES FOR RELIGION
American Academy of Religion is the largest scholarly society dedicated to the academic study of religion, with more than 5,000 members around the world.
American Institute of Indian Studies was formed to further the knowledge of India in the United States by supporting American scholarship on India.
American Society of Church History is a scholarly community dedicated to studying the history of Christianity and how it relates to culture in all time periods, locations, and contexts.
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion, including American and international collections submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.
The Immanent Frame: Secularism, Religion and the Public Sphere publishes interdisciplinary perspectives on religion, secularism, and the public sphere.
Religion Dispatches is a secular, independent, award-winning source for the best writing on critical and timely issues at the intersection of religion, politics, and culture.
Society of Biblical Literature is the oldest and largest learned society devoted to the critical investigation of the Bible from a variety of academic disciplines.
Trans/Missions: A resource for news and resources on Religion and Global Affairs, led by Religion Department faculty member Diane Winston, Knight Center Chair in Media and Religion and Associate Professor of Journalism.
NATIONAL LIBRARY OF ISRAEL
The National Library of Israel
Formerly the Jewish National and University Library, the National Library of Israel is dedicated to collecting the cultural treasures of Israel and of Jewish heritage. Explore collections relating to Judaism, Islam, Israel, and the Humanities.
NATIONAL MUSEUM OF ASIAN ART
The Tibetan Buddhist Shrine Room
The Tibetan Buddhist Shrine Room includes more than two hundred bronzes, paintings, silk hangings, and carpets that were created in Tibet, China, and Mongolia between the thirteenth and early twentieth centuries. Arranged to reflect Tibetan Buddhist concepts and customs rather than museum conventions, the glittering room evokes the Himalayan portals that bridge the mundane and the sacred worlds.
To Explore the Shrine Room Virtually: Click Here
INTERNET SACRED TEXT ARCHIVE
The Internet Sacred Text Archive is a large, freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore, and the esoteric.
The site also contains commentaries and secondary resources.
PLEIADES
Pleiades: a community-built gazetteer and graph of ancient places.
Pleiades is a community-built gazetteer and graph of ancient places. It publishes authoritative information about ancient places and spaces, providing unique services for finding, displaying, and reusing that information under open license.
THE GETTY CENTER
The Virgin Mary is one of the most important figures in the Christian tradition. This exhibition presents illuminated manuscripts depicting myriad stories and images from the Middle Ages that celebrated Mary as a personal intercessor, a compassionate mother, and a heavenly queen. The legacy of representing Mary is also shown through the venerated image of the Virgin of Guadalupe in the Americas, revealing how Mary provides different meanings for viewers across time.