Open Doors-Institute of International Education
Open Doors®, supported by a grant from the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs at the U.S. Department of State, is a comprehensive information resource on international students and scholars studying or teaching at higher education institutions in the United States, and U.S. students studying abroad for academic credit at their home colleges or universities.
Books
Contexts for Diversity and Gender Identities in Higher Education by Publication Date: 2018-09-17
Perspectives on Diverse Student Identities in Higher Education by Publication Date: 2019
Strategies for Facilitating Inclusive Campuses in Higher Education by Publication Date: 2019-07-25
International Students and Scholars in the United States by Call Number: Doheny LB2376.4 .I58 2013
International Student Engagement by
This book responds to the growing calls among international educators, activists, and students themselves to pay closer attention to the qualitative dimensions of international students' experiences at U.S. colleges and universities. This book outlines deep approaches to the academic and social integration of international students at U.S. colleges and universities. It describes concrete examples of strategies to enhance the international student experience across a wide range of institutional types, and explores actions that have enabled colleges and universities to create more inclusive, connected, and purposeful campus environments for international students. It fleshes out the effects of these actions through the first person narratives of international students themselves. It focuses on reinforcing an institution's existing strengths and capacities to help academic leaders at these institutions to develop comprehensive strategies that will enable the creation of inclusive campus climates for international students. The book combines evidence derived from the national Global Perspective Inventory dataset, the experiences of institutions at the forefront in developing effective strategies, as well as first-person narrative experiences of international students to illustrate the real-life consequences of institutional policies, practice, and programs. One of the aims of this book is to take readers on a journey, from community colleges to liberal arts institutions to large public flagship research universities, from rural parts of the U.S.to highly-populated urban areas in order to raise questions about the impact of the surge of international students in these environments and about the corresponding challenges that confront senior administrators seeking to strengthen and deepen connections for the students. The book explores some of the actions that universities and colleges across the U.S. have taken to create more inclusive, connected, and purposeful campus environments for their international students, placing particular emphasis on the importance of tapping and reinforcing each institution's existing strengths and capacities in the development of strategies that will enable it to create more inclusive campus climates for current and incoming international students, and engaging in active collaboration with all departments and offices across the campus, with the larger community, and most important, with the international student community itself.
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Academic writing : a handbook for international students,5th edition, e-book by ISBN: 1351690574Publication Date: New York : Routledge; 2018The fifth edition of Academic Writing: A Handbook for International Students has been written to help students who are not native speakers of English with their written academic work.
Academic Writing: A Handbook for International Students, 2nd edition by Call Number: Leavey Library Lobby 3rd floor PE 1413.B28 2006ISBN: 0415384206Publication Date: 2006-11-01Ideal for overseas students studying at English-medium colleges and universities, this practical writing course enables international students to meet the required standard of writing and use an appropriate style for essays, exams and dissertations.
Journals & Articles
- Special Issues on International Student SuccessSpecial issue of the Journal of International Students, October/November 2016 ~ Volume 6 Number 4
USC Resources
- USC Office of International ServicesServing international students and scholars.
Academic Integrity Tutorials-USC Libraries
The Academic Integrity Collection at the University of Southern California is a series of tutorials presented by the USC Libraries in collaboration with USC’s Student Judicial Affairs and Community Standards and include printable certificates. All tutorials are HTML5; if you are having browser compatibility issues please try the Adobe Flash version.
For questions and comments about the Academic Integrity Collection tutorials, please contact Library Instruction at libinstr@usc.edu
- Avoiding Plagiarism (Flash Version)Covers referencing, paraphrasing, and quotation.
- Organizing Your Sources to Avoid Plagiarism (Flash Version)Part of the Academic Integrity Collection
Covers how to create a research plan, keep track of sources, and avoid unintentional plagiarism. - Academic Dishonesty (Flash Version)Part of the Academic Integrity Collection
Covers unauthorized collaboration, cheating, falsifying records, and other elements of academic dishonesty.