Information about the Apps
Try searching the term "homeless" as many of the apps below include consideration of this demographic.
The Access Medicine app includes Guidelines for the Clinical Encounter with the Homeless Patient.
Clinical Info: USC-Paid Apps
- Access (App includes content from McGraw Hill Medical Publishing)
Includes access to all books in all Access products subscribed by USC Libraries.
1. Go to any of the USC Libraries' subcribed Access products, such as AccessMedicine.
2. Click "Sign in" in the upper right hand corner and select "Sign in or create a new Access profile."
3. Register for an account, using a USC email address.
4. Download the Access app from your mobile device's app/play store.
5. Enter Access username and password when prompted.
You will be asked to log in every 90 days to re-verify your affiliation with USC. Go to the Norris Medical Library website, access any of the Access products, and then login with your Access Profile. - BMJ Best Practice App
Evidence-based summaries of disease and treatments and calculators.
1. Go to USC's subscription to BMJ Best Practice.
2. Click Create Account in top right-hand corner. Fill out the information to make an account.
3. Use the App or Play store to download the app onto your device.
4. Open app and log in using your email address and password created in step 2. - ClinicalKey App
Provides access to every book in USC's ClinicalKey subscription.
1. Go to Clinical Key
2. Click on "Register" link in the top right corner.
3. Register for an account and create a username and password.
4. Download the Clinical Key app to your mobile device.
5. In app, enter the username and password created in step 3. - Stat!Ref App
1.Go to STAT!Ref.
2. Look for the word Profile above the search box and click this.
3. Register or login.
4. After logging in to your account, above the search box, look for the words Welcome (your account name). Click these words to open the personal menu and select "Anywhere login account."
5. Follow the on-screen instructions to activate or renew your temporary login.
6. Download the STAT!Ref app from your mobile device's app/play store. Enter the personal email and password created in step 3. - Thieme MedOne
1. Go to Thieme MedOne site.
2. Go to "Create Home Access" and register.
3. Download the MedOne app from your mobile device's app/play store.
4. Log in with your user name and password. - uCentral App
1. Go to uCentral.
2. Select "mobile" from top of uCentral page.
3. Register for account.
4. Download the uCentral app from your mobile device's app/play store.
5. Log in with your username and password. - UpToDate App
Includes UpToDate outlines, UpToDate Lexidrug's oral interactions checker, links to commonly used guidelines, and calculators. 
1. Go to UpToDate.
2. Click "Register” link in top right corner.
3. Complete all fields with your information and create an UpToDate username & password.
4. Download the UpToDate app from your mobile device's app/play/Windows store.
5. Login to the app with your UpToDate username & password.
You will be asked to log in every 90 days to verify your affiliation with USC. Go to the Norris Medical Library website, access UpToDate and then login with your UpToDate user name and password.
- VisualDX app (you MUST read the information below to access this app)
Visual Diagnostic app.
1. Go to VisualDX.
2. Click on Sign In in the top right corner of the page.
3. Register for an account and create a username and password.
4. Download the Visual Dx app from your mobile device's app/play store.
5. In app, enter username and password. - 5 Minute Consult (part of UCentral)
Evidence-based overviews of diseases and conditions, now a part of the uCentral app.
1. Go to uCentral.
2. Select "mobile" from top of uCentral page.
3. Register for account.
4. Download the uCentral app from your mobile device's app/play store.
5. Log in with your username and password. - UpToDate Lexidrugs Apps (formerly Lexicomp)
1. Use a computer to access UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp).
2. Look for the box named Help and Training Resources. Inside this box, find a link titled Academic Discount. Click this link.
3. Select the app you wish to purchase, add to your cart, and proceed to checkout.
4. Follow instructions in email to obtain and download app.
Clinical Info: Free Apps
Search for these apps in the App or Play store on your device, then download.
- Calculate (Medical Calculator) by QxMD
More than 150 unique calculators and decision support tools. - Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Vaccine Schedule app
Download from App/Play store. - USPSTF Prevention TaskForce ePSS (electronic preventive services selector)
Search and browse the USPSTF (U.S. Preventive Services Task Force) recommendations on screenings and vaccines. View USPSTF recommended preventive tools. Replaces former ePSS app. - Epocrates Free
Drug database. Download from App/Play store. - Figure 1
Share, comment, browse and search medical photos uploaded by clinicians. Download from App/Play store. - Medscape
Disease and condition reference, medical news by specialty, drug reference tools. Download from your App/Play store. - Medline Plus : Mobile-responsive
Go to Medline Plus on your mobile device to view a mobile-responsive site resized to fit your screen. - Rogers Dictionary
Rogers Dictionary is based on Dr. Rogers's print bilingual medical dictionary, which considered an authority on English and Spanish medical terminology translation. - About Herbs
iOS/Apple only. Free evidence-based monographs on herbs and alternative medicine. - GoodRX
Access to real-time price data for prescription drugs being sold at retail pharmacies. - Thumbroll
thumbroll showcases the step-by-step process of critical techniques and procedures. Current content is provided by Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis.
Download from the App store or Google Play.
