Primary Care Reference & Tools
- Adapted Clinical Guidelines - National Health Care for the Homeless CouncilStandard clinical guidelines often fail to consider the unique challenges presented by homelessness that may limit an individual’s access to needed services or ability to adhere to a plan of care. To fill this gap, HCH Clinicians’ Network developed a series of adapted clinical guidelines.
- BMJ Best PracticeEvidence-based overviews of medical topics, continually updated. Includes Cochrane Clinical Answers and patient handouts. Create personal account to claim CE credits.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowOnline collection of ebooks, journals, guidelines, patient education handouts, drug monographs, images, and videos focusing on clinical health care. Includes MEDLINE full-text.
- Diagnosaurus This link opens in a new windowAllows searching of over 1000 differential diagnoses by symptoms, diseases and organ systems. Link from Diagnosaurus directly into other books within AccessMedicine.
- GIDEON This link opens in a new windowDatabase for diagnosing infectious diseases. Includes differential diagnosis tool, current information on disease outbreaks, and epidemiological data.
- uCentral This link opens in a new windowCollection of manuals, handbooks, and clinical information tools. Also available and searchable through mobile app.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.
- VisualDx This link opens in a new windowClinical information tool with emphasis on dermatological and opthalmological disorders. Thousands of images of diseases and disorders on different locations and skin tones. Search by diagnosis or build a differential diagnosis.
Primary Care ebooks
Clinical Management of the Homeless Patient by
This volume highlights the socioeconomic concerns related to medical care for homeless patients and places them at the interface of common psychiatric and medical problems clinicians encounter. Written by experts in psychiatry and other medical specialties, this volume is a concise, yet comprehensive overview of the homeless crisis, its costs, and ultimately, best practices for improved outcomes.
ISBN: 9783030701345Publication Date: 2021-05-27
Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice, Populations, Second Edition by
The leading reference and text on caring for underserved patients and those with highly unique health requirements - updated and expanded in full color A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice and Populations, Second Edition is designed to clarify current issues and instruct you in best practices and compliance with legislation, such as the Affordable Care Act, when caring for patients living with chronic diseases in poor and minority populations. How do these laws affect you, your practice, and patient care? Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients is ideally suited for clinical and educational programs and policy-oriented institutions concerned with addressing health disparities and caring for the underserved and vulnerable patient.
ISBN: 9780071834445Publication Date: 2016-06-21
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Psychiatry, Third Edition by
Quickly and accurately diagnose and treat the psychiatric disorders you will most likely encounter in clinical practice Relevant etiology, phenomenology, pathophysiology, and drug information - right at your fingertips. Covers both adult and pediatric disorders. Reviews essential psychopharmacologic and psychotherapeutic approaches.
ISBN: 9780071754422Publication Date: 2018-10-31
Homeless Health Web Resources
- California Department of Public Health CDPH's key activities and services include protecting people in California from the threat of preventable infectious diseases like Zika virus, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis and viral hepatitis, and providing reliable and accurate public health laboratory services and information about health threats.
- California Health Care Foundation CHCF helps Californians with low incomes get the health care they need. Priorities: Health Equity, Universal Coverage, Workforce and CalAIM. Publications include California Street Medicine Landscape Survey and Report and other studies focused on homelessness.
- Corporation for Supportive Housing Supportive housing combines affordable housing with services that help people who face the most complex challenges to live with stability, autonomy and dignity. Search the CSH Resource Library.
- County of Los Angeles Department of Public Health Los Angeles County Department of Public Health (DPH) maintains this health professionals' website to facilitate easy access to public health resources including information on how to report communicable diseases and how to consult DPH specialists.
- Health Center Resources Clearinghouse The Health Center Resource Clearinghouse addresses the competing demands placed on a busy public health workforce by providing a broad framework of resources, tools, and supports to facilitate professionals’ ability to access and utilize critical resources.
- Homeless Health Care Los Angeles HHCLA helps people wherever they are on their journey, both physically and spiritually, without judgment. We’re the largest harm reduction organization in the US. We provide needle exchange, overdose reversal kits with naloxone, linkages to housing, hygiene services, medical and behavioral health services.
- Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Annual Homeless Assessment Report (AHAR) report to the U.S. Congress that provides nationwide estimates of homelessness, including information about the demographic characteristics of homeless persons, service use patterns, and the capacity to house homeless persons. The report is based on Homeless Management Information Systems (HMIS) data about persons who experience homelessness during a 12-month period, point-in-time counts of people experiencing homelessness on one day in January, and data about the inventory of shelter and housing available in a community.
- LAHSA 2022 Homeless Count Data The 2022 Los Angeles County homeless count report is not yet posted but is linked to here.
- Los Angeles Homeless Services Authority LAHSA is the lead agency in the Los Angeles Continuum of Care, which is the regional planning body that coordinates housing and services for homeless families and individuals in Los Angeles County. LAHSA coordinates and manages over $800 million annually in federal, state, county, and city funds for programs that provide shelter, housing, and services to people experiencing homelessness.
- Los Angeles Public Library (LAPL) Homeless Resources The Los Angeles Public Library helps connect residents who are experiencing homelessness with resources to help them transition to stable, independent or supported living. This site will help you find work, food, housing and many other helpful services near our library branches in the City of Los Angeles. WIN is a free app and mobile website that connects anyone who is homeless or struggling to find free resources and services. The Source events offer help in person.
- National Center for Medical Legal Partnership Medical-legal partnerships integrate the unique expertise of lawyers into health care settings to help clinicians, case managers, and social workers address structural problems at the root of so many health inequities.
- National Health Care for the Homeless Council Grounded in human rights and social justice, the NHCHC mission is to build an equitable, high-quality health care system through training, research, and advocacy in the movement to end homelessness.
- National Institute for Medical Respite Care The National Institute for Medical Respite Care (NIMRC) is the first national institute to advance best practices, expert services, and state-of-the-field knowledge in medical respite care (also known as recuperative care). Internal staff, consultants, and consulting teams address a range of principles and practices in creating or expanding medical respite care programs.
- Street Medicine Institute **PAID SUBSCRIPTION REQUIRED TO ACCESS RESOURCES** The Street Medicine Institute (SMI) facilitates and enhances the direct provision of health care to the unsheltered homeless where they live. SMI does this by providing communities and clinicians with expert training, guidance, and support to develop and grow their own Street Medicine programs.
- USC Initiative to Eliminate Homelessness Collection of resources from the 2016-2021 USC initiative.