Research Guides: Diversity, Equity & Inclusion: Teaching Resources

Teaching Resources

Contains links to practical resources that provide information and strategies to assist with implementing diversity, equity, and inclusion directly into instruction and the classroom environment.

Books | Journals | USC Libraries Catalog

To search for books, journals, etc. enter keywords/terms/subject into the search box below to search the USC Libraries catalog.

Should you come across relevant content not owned by USC Libraries, click the IDD: Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery link below to submit a request to see if the item can be borrowed from another library.

IDD: Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery
Use interlibrary loan to request articles and books not owned by USC. For additional information: visit IDD .

USC Center for Excellence in Teaching

USC's Center for Excellence in Teaching provides many resources to support instruction. Below you will find links to some of the more relevant resources. Make sure to explore the website for more.

USC Syllabus Template
A template for creating a USC syllabus which can be downloaded and edited. This template contains the most recent version of the Statement on Academic and Support Systems.
Instruction Resources
Links to a variety of resources to promote interactive classroom environments.
Inclusive Teaching Resources

Supporting Diverse Student Populations
This document provides an overview of considerations and resources relevant to designing a course for diverse student populations.

Challenging Discussions in the Classroom
Brief video modules cover all aspects of incorporating discussions in courses, including course design and discussion facilitation.

USC Rossier School of Education

USC Rossier Tools for Inclusive Teaching
This page contains resources to help faculty teach the concepts of diversity within various disciplines and school contexts. Includes content on gender, sexual orientation, race, social class, disabilities, etc.

USC Race and Equity Center - Syllabus Review Guide
Resource for evaluating course syllabi for equity.
Syllabus Review
Resource for evaluating course syllabi for equity.

USC Kortschak Center for Learning and Creativity

Support for faculty
Includes links to a variety of On-Demand workshops and downloadable resources and guides on time-management, self-care, stress management, test preparation and anxiety, note taking, paper writing, and academic success.
Campus resources

USC Libraries

Diversity and Inclusion in Course Materials: A Practical Approach
Slides and notes for webinar Jan. 26, 2018, presented at USC Diversity and Inclusion Awareness Week.
Learning outcomes: Develop focused strategies for searching for more diverse and inclusive materials; Utilize the libraries’ Diversity Resource Guide to implement models and best practices for inclusive course design; Incorporate diverse and inclusive materials into curricula with an awareness of issues of accessibility.

Writing Center Library Database Resources: Identity and Diversity
USC Anti-Racist Pedagogy Guide
This guide, a joint effort of the USC Libraries and the Anti-Racist Pedagogy Organizing Committee, provides resources for developing anti-racist pedagogical strategies and syllabi.

Other Teaching Resources

Inclusive Teaching by Discipline
This Michigan State University site contains links to research and resources on inclusive teaching by specific discipline.
TILE - Toolkit for Inclusive Learning
TILE is a resource created to spark conversation and share best practices for fostering diversity and inclusion in Johns Hopkins classrooms.
Illinois Association for Cultural Diversity
Western Illinois University’s Expanding Cultural Diversity Project. The resources here are the result of an in-depth search for cultural diversity and social justice resources that have proven to be especially valuable to educators.
UCLA "KNOW" Inclusion Strategies
Inclusion strategies from the UCLA Office of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion.
Inclusive Teaching Strategy: Reflecting on Your Practice
University of Michigan's checklist assists instructors in assessing how well they are addressing issues of content, instructional practice, and classroom interactions.
How to Make Your Teaching More Inclusive
From The Chronicle of Higher Education Advice Guide, July 22, 2019. Section headings:
Common Questions
3 Key Principles of Inclusive Teaching
5 Ways to Interact Inclusively With Students
Ideas for Inclusive Course Design
How Will You Know If Your Efforts Are Working?
Resources

Diversity Language Style Guide

The Diversity Style Guide
This media language guide includes terms and phrases related to race/ethnicity; religion; sexual orientation; gender identity; age and generation; drugs and alcohol; and physical, mental and cognitive disabilities.