Implementing D E & I across campus
Contains links to background resources for learning more about diversity, equity, and inclusion or obtaining a high level overview on best practices to implement diversity, equity, and inclusion across a university campus.
D, E & I Implementation Across a University Campus
- Strategies For Increasing Diversity And Opportunity In Higher EducationU.S. Department of Education report that provides a comprehensive look at the most promising strategies for promoting college diversity.
- Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation (TRHT)A comprehensive, national and community-based process to plan for and bring about transformational and sustainable change, and to address the historic and contemporary effects of racism. Includes implementation guide and grants.
- UC Berkeley - Catalyst for Change InitiativeShifting from "diversity crisis" to "diversity catalyst". Includes case study and data.
- UCLA "Know" Clearinghouse“Know” is UCLA's Equity, Diversity and Inclusion's clearinghouse for helpful facts and resources on various topics, including inclusion, bias and more.
Toolkits and Training Resources
- Antiracism Toolkits for Scholarly PublishingCoalition for Diversity and Inclusion in Scholarly Communications publishes toolkits: The Antiracism Toolkit for Allies, The Antiracism Toolkit for Organizations, and The Antiracism Toolkit for Black, Indigenous, and People of Color.
- Diversity Toolkit: A Guide to Discussing Identity, Power and PrivilegeToolkit discussion activities on: Introduction-Identity, Systems of Power and Privilege, Gender and Sexuality, Race and Ethnicity, Class and Historical Disadvantage, Recap and Closing Activity.
- Shapiro, I. Training for Racial Equity and Inclusion: A guide to selected programs (2002)Compares programs based on underlying theories of change, training methods, service, and outcomes.
Also see pp. 113-114 "Questions Guiding the Selection of a Training Program"
Biases
- UCSF: Bias Literature Reading LIstUCSF Office of Diversity and Outreach has compiled a comprehensive list of recent and classic implicit bias literature.
- Unconscious Bias ResourcesUCSF Office of Diversity and Outreach Unconscious Bias Training site.
- Bias-busting app from USC team excels at Facebook Global HackathonKnown as Cue, the app uses virtual reality to eliminate gender bias in the workplace.
- Project ImplicitHarvard University’s collaboration between researchers who are interested in implicit social cognition. The goal is to educate about hidden biases and to provide a “virtual laboratory” for collecting data.
- UCLA "Know" - Implicit BiasVideos, guides and reports on implicit bias.
Books, Journals, and Magazines
Diversity's Promise for Higher Education by Call Number: Doheny Memorial Library BOOKSTACKS LC3727 .S65 2015ISBN: 9781421417349Publication Date: 2015-04-17
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Action by Publication Date: 2020-10-27
Racial and Ethnic Diversity in Higher Education by Call Number: Doheny Memorial Library BOOKSTACKS LC3731 .R253 2011ISBN: 9780558848576Publication Date: 2010-10-21
- INSIGHT Into DiversityArticles on current trends and relevant news; interviews with innovators, thought leaders, and experts; explorations of best practices; and profiles of successful programs and initiatives.
- Journal of Diversity in Higher EducationA quarterly publication of the National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education. Disseminates research findings, theory and promising practices which guide the efforts of institutions of higher education in the pursuit of inclusive excellence.
Faculty Recruitment & Retention
- Diversity & InclusionUSC Faculty Portal includes links to resources with suggestions on casting the net widely.
- How to Plug the Leaky Bucket: Retention Strategies for Maintaining a Diverse WorkforceStrategies and techniques to retain a diverse workforce.
- Diversity in Academe: Who Sets a College's Diversity Agenda?Chronicle 2016 - Special Report. True diversity remains a struggle for many colleges. This special report looks at who actually sets a college’s diversity agenda, and what makes that agenda flourish or flop.
- Introduction to Special Issue: Diverse Faculty in Higher EducationMulticultural Learning and Teaching, 2012, Vol.7(1)
Salary
- Chronicle Data: SalariesSearch and explore faculty, staff, and adjunct salary data at thousands of colleges.
- Gender, Race, and Ethnicity of College Administrators, Faculty, and Staff, Fall 2015All U.S. institutions, 4-year, 2-year
Association of American Colleges & Universities (AAC&U)
- Association of American Colleges & Universities (AAC&U)Site defaults to Publications tab. Click on the Resource link to access other resources.
- AAC&U Diversity, Equity, & Inclusive Excellence Resource HubIncludes campus models, case studies, and tools and resources.
American College Personnel Association (ACPA)
- Journals in the Field of Higher Education: A Racial Analysis Too often, scholarship regarding the concept of race in the United States is absent from top-tier journals across fields. Yet, at some institutions, faculty, including scholars who explore race, are required to publish in top-tier journals to secure tenure. This article highlights the extent to which journals—of all tiers—within the field of higher education publish articles explicitly highlighting race in the study.
- ACPA PublicationsScroll down page to see items available for FREE download.
Association of American Universities (AAU)
- AAAS/AAU Handbook on Law and DiversityThe American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the Association of American Universities (AAU) collaborated on a handbook that outlines legally sustainable ways to expand diversity on college and university campuses, especially in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. April 28, 2010.
Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education
The Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education is a regional organization created by the Western Regional Education Compact and adopted in the 1950s by Western states. WICHE was created to facilitate resource sharing among the higher education systems of the West.
- Knocking at the College DoorSite contains WICHE reports and data on projections of high school graduates by state and race/ethnicity through the class of 2032.
American Council on Education (ACE) / Higher Education Today
ACE Resources
- Espinosa, LL. Turk, JM. & Taylor, M. (2017). Pulling Back the Curtain: Enrollment and Outcomes at Minority Serving InstitutionsThis report’s analysis, utilizes data from the National Student Clearinghouse to examine Minority Serving Institution's (MSI) student enrollment and outcomes, including completion rates for students who start higher education at an MSI.
Higher Education Today resources. HET is a blog by the American Council on Education. Staffed by ACE’s Center for Policy Research & Strategy and Government Relations, and assess the critical challenges facing colleges and universities.
Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE)
- Review of Higher EducationKeeps scholars, academic leaders, and public policymakers abreast of critical issues facing higher education today. Browse issues or search for diversity and inclusion for specific articles.
Language Style Guides
- The Diversity Style GuideThis media language guide includes terms and phrases related to race/ethnicity; religion; sexual orientation; gender identity; age and generation; drugs and alcohol; and physical, mental and cognitive disabilities.
- Conscious Style GuideIncludes language guides for abilty+disability, age, appearance, empowerment, ethnicity, gender, health, and more.
- Advancing Health Equity: A Guide to Language, Narrative, and ConceptsGuide created by the American Medical Association and AAMC Center for Health Justice.