Primary Sources

This online collection also includes access to the Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution and the Founders Early Access project. All of these digital editions present material from published volumes, including editorial annotations and transcriptions of thousands of documents. This subscription collection also provides powerful advanced search features.

It is selected from the holdings of the Graff Collection on the American West from the Newberry Library in Chicago. The material is selected from a wide range of documents, ranging from manuscripts, rare books, pamphlets, periodicals, broadsides, ephemera to maps and illustrative material, for each of the following major themes: Native Americans; Pioneers, Hunters and Explorers; Mining and the Gold Rush; The Mormon Exodus; Homesteaders, Overland Travel and Early Settlements; Cattle Ranchers; The Railroads, Transportation and Urban History; Outlaws, Vigilantes and the Law; Agricultural Development and the Environment; The Imagined West: Wild West Shows and Fiction; Borderlands: Canada and the Pacific Northwest; and Borderlands: Texas, Mexico and the South. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.

It Includes a variety of primary source documents, such as, letters, diaries, administrative records, photographs, illustrations, artifacts, scrapbook journals, family portraits, and maps featuring hand-colored details of troop movements and local landmarks.

Countries featured in the first phase of this multiyear project include Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Chile, Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico, and Latino USA. The digital archive is now available free of charge for students, scholars and the general public. New materials are added regularly.

This resource showcases a wealth of primary source material for the study of the First World War, from personal narratives and printed books to military files, propaganda pamphlets and strong visual documents. The material is complemented by a range of contextual secondary material, including scholarly essays, case studies and interactive maps.

Most of the materials are letters written or received by prisoners, but also included are receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.

Includes organization and institutional records and papers, as well as autobiographies, letters,notebooks, and scrapbooks dating from the 17th to the mid-20th century.Also includes full-text searchable books and pamphlets from the Soble and Rosenbach collections at the AJHS as well as supplemental resources including biographies, a chronology, interactive maps, scholarly essays, a selection of American Jewish Year Book articles, links to related websites,and a visual resources gallery that draws from two collections of photographs: the Baron de Hirsch Fund Records collection and the Graduate School for Jewish Social Work (New York) Records.

Data sets are available for many countries from Latin America and the Caribbean from the 1970s to the present. In order to access the site click on "Enter site via IP authentication", read the agreement and click on "I agree".

It covers women in North America from Colonial times to around 1950.

These are handwritten volumes documenting military orders, movements and engagements by brigade, regiment, company and other specific military units between 1748 and 1817. The content in Orderly Books provides detailed accounts of troops’ daily lives, documenting everything from court martial cases to the price of necessities charged by locals.

.

These collections cover the transatlantic slave trade, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S., Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.It includes digital access to a variety of primary sources: legaldocuments, court records, plantation records, company records,first-person accounts, newspaper articles, government documents and much more. Also includes reference articles and links to websites, biographies, chronologies, bibliographies to give background and context for further research.

These magazines were written by and for every type of unit from every combatant nation. As such, these primary sources contain first hand accounts of the war and everyday life during the war from a wide range of on-the-ground perspectives.