History, British *

"The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable in Gale Digital Collection."

Contains full runs of 48 newspapers selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.

Series 1: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humor and Leisure/Sport
Series 2: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial

Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, the BHO contains some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isle, including the Calendar of State Papers. It provides digital access to over 1,250 digitized volumes with a primary focus is on the period between 1300 and 1800..

The British Newspapers 1600-1950 is the most significant digital collection of British historic newspapers.

British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.

The Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online presents a complete reappraisal of this major Renaissance writer, complementing and extending the seven-volume print edition of Jonson's works published in 2012.

A British tabloid paper, the Daily Mail has been popular with the masses since it was first published in 1896. By combining a low retail price with regular competitions and prize giveaways, it was the first British newspaper to sell a million copies a day The digital archive also contains the Atlantic Editions, printed on board the transatlantic cruise liners between 1923 and 1931.

(1843-2003)
A fully digitized facsimile of the British weekly publication on politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,0000 pages, EHA offers full-color images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables. It includes news, analysis, commentary, editorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photographs, special surveys and the supplements on Countries and Industries, renowned sections including 'Science and Technology,' and classified and display ads.

The purpose of Eighteenth Century Journals: A Portal for Newspapers and Periodicals, c1685-1835 is to make available digitally for the first time unique or extremely rare eighteenth century periodicals. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.

Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2009, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page. Founded to serve the immediate needs of the City of London, the Financial Times quickly broadened its coverage, recognising that global financial and economic issues were to become the predominant forces of the twentieth century.

17th-20th century American and British newspapers

Contains four historical resources:
-Palmer's Index to the Times which covers the period from 1790 to 1905 in The Times
-The Official Index to the Times which takes the coverage forward from 1906 to 1980
-The Historical Index to the New York Times which covers The New York Times from 1851 to September 1922
-Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785-1870, providing access to the full articles referenced in Palmer's index to the Times

With its debut in 1842 the Illustrated London News became the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper, sparking a revolution in journalism and news reporting.

The Independent is a UK daily national newspaper.

A digital library of 18th & 19th century journals. A joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford, to digitize twenty-year runs of 3 eighteenth- and 3 nineteenth-century journals. Journals include:
~Annual Register (1758-78),
~Gentleman's Magazine (1731-50),
~Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-77),
~Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1843-52),
~Notes and Queries (1849-69),
~The Builder (1843-9)

(1929-1991)
The BBC's weekly magazine

Contains every issue (1938-1957) of the pioneering photo-journalism newspaper that was read by an estimated 80% of the British population at its peak.

Initially established as a Protestant nationalist newspaper, in the 1870s it took on unionist leanings and in modern times presents a politically liberal and progressive perspective.

Started in 1817 as a liberal weekly newspaper, pledging "impartiality, firmness and independence".

One of the world's most celebrated and influential satirical magazines. The term "cartoon" to refer to comic drawings was first used in Punch in 1843.

The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

A directory of historical documents arising out of nineteenth century England at the height of the British Empire.

British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. Complementing Alexander Street’s North American Women's Letters and Diaries, the database lets researchers view history in the context of women’s thoughts—their struggles, achievements, passions, pursuits, and desires.

(1120-1900)
Includes digitized manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works

Provides integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archives. Users of C19 Index can query its 14 collections simultaneously, or can conduct more detailed research using collection-specific search screens. Contains over 24 million bibliographic records.

A digital archive based on the Duke-Edinburgh edition of The Collected Letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle, providing a perspective on the 19th century.

Contains 30,000 documents related to Tudor and Stuart history. This database includes the papers collected by William Cecil, 1st Baron Burghley (1521-1598) and his son Robert Cecil, 1st Earl of Salisbury (1563-1612). Burghley was Elizabeth I’s Secretary of State, Lord High Treasurer and one of her closest advisors. Salisbury also became Secretary of State to Elizabeth I and served James I/VI in the role.

This website provides Darwin's complete publications, many handwritten manuscripts and the largest Darwin bibliography and manuscript catalog every published. Most of these materials are online for the first time, such as the 1st editions of Voyage of the Beagle, Descent of Man, Zoology of the Beagle and all six editions of Origin of Species.

The Darwin Correspondence Project was founded in 1974. To date, the project has located a total of around 14,500 letters exchanged by Darwin and nearly 2000 correspondents around the world between 1821 and his death in 1882.

1475-1700
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection contains titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.

This collection consists of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Based on The English Short Title Catalogue, a union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private and public libraries worldwide. This collection captures the Enlightement in Great Britain in multiple academic disciplines, including history, literature, geography, social sciences, fine arts, religion, philosophy, and law.

Features the John Larpent Archival Collection from the Huntington Library which includes over 2,500 digital facsimile of almost every play submitted for license in England between 1737 and 1824. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.

1473-1801

The First World War Portal has three modules, Personal Experiences, Propaganda & Recruitment and Visual Perspectives & Narratives. Items include official and personal photographs, manuscripts, rare printed material, artwork, objects and film, this profound collection presents international perspectives on the conflict, the Home Front, the role of women during the war, and much more. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.

Taking the phenomenon of the Grand Tour as a starting point, this resource explores the relationship between Britain and Europe between c1550 and c1850, exploring the British response to travel on the Continent for pleasure, business and diplomacy. Includes manuscripts, visual materials and printed works. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.

(1540-1975)
Primary sources in the following categories: Advertising, Booktrade, Crime, Entertainment, and Prints

Primary source materials for the study of London life, popular culture and entertainment in nineteenth century England. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.

Original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organization, together with printed publications, photographs and interactive maps. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.

(1100-1800)

(1400-1525)

From government-led population drives during the early nineteenth century through to mass steamship travel, Migration to New Worlds showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Explore British Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolors, and oral histories supplemented by carefully selected secondary research aids. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.

19th Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on archival collections of primary sources providing full-text, fully searchable content.

Matthew Parker (1504-75) was an important figure of the English Reformation who was largely responsible for the establishment of the Church of England as a national institution. Parker's library of manuscripts and early printed books are held at Corpus Christi College.

This collection contains over 400 manuscripts from the 16th and 17th centuries compiled by women in the British Isles. The texts consist of poetry, religious writing, autobiographical material, cookery and medical recipes, and accounts.

(1832-1901)

(1914-1922) Includes digital scans of 1,500 publications written by men and women serving in the armed forces and various welfare organizations during WWI.