Primary Sources

Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from 500 newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.

The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources, all in one easy-to-search database with a world map.Over 4,500 news sources are included. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Paid ads are excluded.

Provides online access to 316 U.S. newspapers from 38 states and the District of Columbia chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.

This collection includes articles from 7 important 19th century African American publications: The Christian Recorder, The Colored American/Weekly Advocate, Frederick Douglass' Paper, Freedom's Journal, The National Era,The North Star, and Provincial Freeman. The articles provide first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts,business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion.They also contain large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics,essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.

Part of Readex's Archive of Americana. Provides access to over 3,200 newspapers.
Collections include: Early American Newspapers Series 1-13 (1690-1922),; African American Newspapers, Series 1 & 2 1827-1998; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.

A Freely Accessible Repository of Digitized California Newspapers from 1846 to the Present.

A multi-year effort by the UC Riverside Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) to identify, describe and preserve California newspapers. Throughout the 1990s and early 2000s CBSR staff visited over 1,400 repositories throughout the state, inventorying close to 9,000 California newspapers. Although the grant-funded project has ended, CBSR staff maintain and update, when possible, the database they created, which can be searched by clicking on "Search the CNP".

This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1836-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Provided by ProQuest.

The HarpWeek Database contains scanned images of Harper's Weekly, a prominent 19th- and 20th-century American magazine that began publication in 1857. In addition to the importance of illustrations and cartoons by artists like Winslow Homer and Thomas Nast, the paper's editorials played a significant role in shaping and reflecting public opinion from the start of the Civil War to the end of the century. The database currently has all issues from 1857-1912, covering the Civil War, Reconstruction, and Gilded Age periods

Represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. It is based on the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.” Provided by Readex.

Historical Newspapers contains four major historical resources. Including: Palmer's Index to the Times which covers the period from 1790 to 1905 in The Times; The Official Index to the Times which takes the coverage forward from 1906 to 1980; The Historical Index to the New York Times which covers The New York Times from 1851 to September 1922; and Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785-1870, providing access to the full articles referenced in Palmer's index to the Times.

Includes 65,000 pages from 49 confederate, union, abolitionist, and British presses periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers, most of which are illustrated.

Over 24,000 pages from twenty-five titles of relocation camp newspapers, from 1942-1945.

Database of full text online news, legal cases, and company information from 1980 to present. Includes Nexis Dossier and Total Patent One.

Provides full-text access to thousands of American, British, Canadian and international newspapers with coverage between 1607-present. Over 200 of these newspapers are from California, including the Oakland Tribune, the Bakersfield Californian and the Berkeley Daily Gazette.

This group consists of microfilm copies of newspapers that, for the most part, are no longer being published. Since 1959 more than 1,000 titles have been preserved. An ongoing joint project between the Division of Archives and Records and the State Library of North Carolina is attempting to identify and catalog every existing newspaper published in North Carolina.

This database provides access to 45 major national and international newspapers (1812-2012) including 9 African American Newspapers and 4 Jewish American newspapers. ProQuest's American Periodicals database is also included, providing access to 1,800+ popular magazines published between 1740-1940.

Accessible Archives provides access to four important 18th century South Carolina newspapers: The South Carolina Gazette (1732-1775), The South Carolina & American General Gazette (1764-1775), The South Carolina Gazette& Country Journal (1765-1775) and The Gazette of the State of South-Carolina (1777-1780).

Provides access to high-resolution color images of these publications: Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Better Homes and Garden, Parents, Chatelaine, Vogue, and Harper’s Bazaar.

"The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. Newly digitized, all Burney treasures are now fully text-searchable in Gale Digital Collection."

Contains full runs of 48 newspapers selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.

Series 1: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humor and Leisure/Sport
Series 2: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial

Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, the BHO contains some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isle, including the Calendar of State Papers. It provides digital access to over 1,250 digitized volumes with a primary focus is on the period between 1300 and 1800..

A significant digital collection of British historic newspapers, new conservation and imaging techniques and a new cross-searchable platform adopted by the British Library offers access and discoverability to this valuable historical and cultural archive. In addition one will find specially commissioned essays and contextual materials written by expert scholars intended to help non-specialist users with perspective and analysis. Provided by Gale.

British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.

The Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online presents a complete reappraisal of this major Renaissance writer, complementing and extending the seven-volume print edition of Jonson's works published in 2012.

A British tabloid paper, the Daily Mail has been popular with the masses since it was first published in 1896. By combining a low retail price with regular competitions and prize giveaways, it was the first British newspaper to sell a million copies a day The digital archive also contains the Atlantic Editions, printed on board the transatlantic cruise liners between 1923 and 1931.

(1843-2003)
A fully digitized facsimile of the British weekly publication on politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,0000 pages, EHA offers full-color images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables. It includes news, analysis, commentary, editorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photographs, special surveys and the supplements on Countries and Industries, renowned sections including 'Science and Technology,' and classified and display ads.

Bringing together rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion. Provided by Adam Matthew.

Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2009, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page. Founded to serve the immediate needs of the City of London, the Financial Times quickly broadened its coverage, recognising that global financial and economic issues were to become the predominant forces of the twentieth century.

Contains four historical resources:
-Palmer's Index to the Times which covers the period from 1790 to 1905 in The Times
-The Official Index to the Times which takes the coverage forward from 1906 to 1980
-The Historical Index to the New York Times which covers The New York Times from 1851 to September 1922
-Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785-1870, providing access to the full articles referenced in Palmer's index to the Times

With its debut in 1842, The Illustrated London News became the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, marking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events, including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts, and science. The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 includes every published issue, from the first in 1842 to the last in 2003. Entirely full-text searchable with high-quality digital imaging from flat unbound print sets. Provided by Gale.

The Independent is a major British daily national newspaper, launched in 1986 as an antidote to its often overtly political rivals. The publication's evolution has been considerable, but it has also retained a distinctive position in British journalism. Featuring the work of journalists and columnists from across the political spectrum, the paper is generally regarded as centrist, presenting alternative perspectives on the news of the day. Provided by Gale.

(1929-1991)
The BBC's weekly magazine

Contains every issue (1938-1957) of the pioneering photo-journalism newspaper that was read by an estimated 80% of the British population at its peak.

Initially established as a Protestant nationalist newspaper, in the 1870s it took on unionist leanings and in modern times presents a politically liberal and progressive perspective.

Started in 1817 as a liberal weekly newspaper, pledging "impartiality, firmness and independence".

One of the world's most celebrated and influential satirical magazines. The term "cartoon" to refer to comic drawings was first used in Punch in 1843.

The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

A directory of historical documents arising out of nineteenth century England at the height of the British Empire.

The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources, all in one easy-to-search database with a world map.Over 4,500 news sources are included. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Paid ads are excluded.

Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications. Provided by ProQuest.

The Australian Newspapers service allows access to historic Australian newspapers digitized as part of the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

The Times of India (1838-2003) provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

The Evening Star was created by 21 printers and apprentices who were locked out during a labour dispute at another newspaper. Using the slogan , "A Paper For The People," they wanted to publish a serious paper that reflected the concerns of working people like themselves.

Published by Readex, a division of NewsBank, inc., in cooperation with the Center for Research Libraries.

More than 285 Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Latin American Newspapers. Featuring titles from: Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Columbia, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Venezuela.