News and Events from NML
Clinical References
The Common Symptom Guide: a guide to the evaluation of common adult and pediatric symptoms, 6th edCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, WB 39 C734 2009
Quick Reference
Synthesized Summaries for Clinical Reference (& see the Evidence Syntheses page):
- AAP Grand RoundsAmerican Academy of Pediatrics grand rounds offers evidence-based analysis and summaries of current health issues and trends in pediatrics.
- American College of Physicians Journal ClubACP Journal Club summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 120 clinical journals and is managed by research staff from McMaster University. Use the Advanced Search feature in the Annals of Internal Medicine and ACP Journal Club filter.
- BMJ Best PracticeEvidence-based overviews of medical topics, continually updated. Includes Cochrane Clinical Answers and patient handouts. Create personal account to claim CE credits.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowSee the Clinical Overviews for a preappraised topic summary. This database also includes ebooks, journals, patient education handouts, drug monographs, images and videos, and MEDLINE full-text.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.
Other Quick Reference Tools:
- Diagnosaurus This link opens in a new windowAllows searching of over 1000 differential diagnoses by symptoms, diseases and organ systems. Link from Diagnosaurus directly into other books within AccessMedicine.
- GIDEON This link opens in a new windowDatabase for diagnosing infectious diseases. Includes differential diagnosis tool, current information on disease outbreaks, and epidemiological data.
- uCentral This link opens in a new windowCollection of manuals, handbooks, and clinical information tools. Also available and searchable through mobile app.
- VisualDx This link opens in a new windowClinical information tool with emphasis on dermatological and opthalmological disorders. Thousands of images of diseases and disorders on different locations and skin tones. Search by diagnosis or build a differential diagnosis.
Drug Databases
- UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new windowMonographs, ebooks and interactive tools covering over the counter and prescription drugs.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowBrief and detailed monographs for prescription and over the counter drugs; The Red Book for drug pricing; interactive tools for interactions and compatibility; additional references on drug names, toxicology, patient education,and diseases.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based monographs and clinical summaries for alternative and complementary therapies, including herbs, vitamins, dietary supplements, and integrative therapies. Includes information from Traditional Chinese Medicine, Ayurveda, and other holistic wellness systems.
Clinical Guideline Resources
“Clinical practice guidelines are systematically developed statements to assist practitioner and patient decisions about appropriate health care for specific clinical circumstances.”(Institute of Medicine, 1990)
Since the demise of the National Guideline Clearinghouse in 2018, there are less centralized and comprehensive locations for clinical practice guidelines. Below is a brief list of organization and international guideline repositories. Also check directly with the professional association that developed the guideline. Some of these websites are listed in a separate box below.
- CDC - Vaccination SchedulesChild and adult recommended vaccination schedules.
- CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024Book sections include Screening & Prevention; Special Populations; Management
- ECRI Guidelines Trust
Best, most comprehensive source for USA clinical guidelines. Includes TRUST scorecards. Requires free account/login. - NCCN National Comprehensive Cancer NetworkThe National Comprehensive Cancer Network® (NCCN®) is a not-for-profit alliance of 33 leading cancer centers. Create a free account to access the guidelines. Organized by cancer type.
- Physician Data Query (PDQ) from National Cancer InstituteComprehensive source of cancer information. Contains: PDQ Cancer Information Summaries, Editorial Boards, Levels of Evidence, NCI Drug Information Summaries; NCI Dictionaries, Cancer Genetics Services. Selected content available in Spanish, Chinese, Japanese, and Arabic.
- USPSTF U.S. Preventative Services Task ForceUSPSTF makes evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services.
- Veterans Association Clinical Practice GuidelinesThe guidelines on this site are those endorsed by the VA/DoD Evidence Based Practice Work Group.
International Guideline Sources:
- G-I-N: Guideline International NetworkA good place to search for guidelines, but need to be a G-I-N member to access the guidelines through this site. However, once you identify a guideline in the search results, you can try a Google search for the guideline to see if it is freely available.
- National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)Guidelines for United Kingdom (UK) National Health Services (NHS).
- Trip DatabaseClinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Free version does not allow access to full content.
- Virtual Health Library GRADE Guidelines and RecommendationsIntegrated access platform to resources supporting clinical and public health decisions produced by WHO, PAHO, and other national and international institutions, following the GRADE approach. Includes the BIGG Database and WHO SDG-3 recommendations.
- World Health Organization (WHO) GuidelinesWHO recommendations for clinical practice or public health policy
Consumer Health & Patient Education
- Consumer Health & Patient Education GuideThis guide contains links to consumer / patient health resources for patients and health professionals. Includes links to Spanish language resources.