Clinical References
The Common Symptom Guide: a guide to the evaluation of common adult and pediatric symptoms, 6th edCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, WB 39 C734 2009
Point of Care Reference & Tools
- uCentral This link opens in a new windowCollection of manuals, handbooks, and clinical information tools. Also available and searchable through mobile app.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.
- VisualDx This link opens in a new windowClinical information tool with emphasis on dermatological and opthalmological disorders. Thousands of images of diseases and disorders on different locations and skin tones. Search by diagnosis or build a differential diagnosis.
- GIDEON This link opens in a new windowDatabase for diagnosing infectious diseases. Includes differential diagnosis tool, current information on disease outbreaks, and epidemiological data.
- Diagnosaurus This link opens in a new windowAllows searching of over 1000 differential diagnoses by symptoms, diseases and organ systems. Link from Diagnosaurus directly into other books within AccessMedicine.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowOnline collection of ebooks, journals, guidelines, patient education handouts, drug monographs, images, and videos focusing on clinical health care. Includes MEDLINE full-text.
- BMJ Best PracticeEvidence-based overviews of medical topics, continually updated. Includes Cochrane Clinical Answers and patient handouts. Create personal account to claim CE credits.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by
This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right.
ISBN: 9781496398178Publication Date: 2020-08-26
Drug Databases
- UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new windowMonographs, ebooks and interactive tools covering over the counter and prescription drugs.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowBrief and detailed monographs for prescription and over the counter drugs; The Red Book for drug pricing; interactive tools for interactions and compatibility; additional references on drug names, toxicology, patient education,and diseases.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based monographs and clinical summaries for alternative and complementary therapies, including herbs, vitamins, dietary supplements, and integrative therapies. Includes information from Traditional Chinese Medicine, Ayurveda, and other holistic wellness systems.
Clinical Guideline Databases
“Clinical practice guidelines are systematically developed statements to assist practitioner and patient decisions about appropriate health care for specific clinical circumstances.”(Institute of Medicine, 1990)
Since the demise of the National Guideline Clearinghouse in 2018, there are less centralized locations for clinical practice guidelines. Below is a brief list of organization and international guideline repositories
- Center for Disease Control (CDC) Immunization SchedulesAdult, child and pregnant people vaccination schedules developed by the CDC.
- ECRI Guidelines Trust
Collection of clinical guidelines with TRUST scorecards. Requires free account/login. - Guideline CentralPartners with over thirty-five medical societies and government agencies to provide quick-reference tools that physicians can rely on for credible guidance in the management of a medical condition.
- National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)Guidelines for United Kingdom (UK) National Health Services (NHS).
- Trip DatabaseClinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Free version does not allow access to full content.
- USPSTF U.S. Preventative Services Task ForceUSPSTF makes evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services.
- Veterans Association Clinical Practice GuidelinesThe guidelines on this site are those endorsed by the VA/DoD Evidence Based Practice Work Group.
- World Health Organization (WHO) GuidelinesWHO recommendations for clinical practice or public health policy
Consumer Health & Patient Education
- Consumer Health & Patient Education GuideThis guide contains links to consumer / patient health resources for patients and health professionals. Includes links to Spanish language resources.