Databases for Finding Research Instruments
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Method 1) In advanced search, change the search field to IN Instrumentation to find articles/studies ABOUT the use research instruments. Method 2) In advanced search, use the Questionnaire/Scale filter under Publication Type. For Methods 1 & 2, follow the citations to find articles about the development and validation of the instrument. Method 3) In advanced search, use the Research Instrument filter under Publication Type. Research instrument records include instructions for contacting the copyright owner and obtaining permission for access and use.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window Locate measurement instruments such as surveys, questionnaires, tests, surveys, coding schemes, checklists, rating scales, vignettes, etc. Scope includes medicine, nursing, public health , psychology, social work, communication, sociology, etc.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) This link opens in a new window Use MMY to find REVIEWS of testing instruments. Actual test instruments are NOT provided. Most reviews discuss validity and reliability of tool. To purchase or obtain the actual test materials, you will need to contact the test publisher(s).
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window In Advanced Search, change the search field to “Test and Measure,” to find articles/studies ABOUT the use research instruments. Follow the citations to find articles about the development and validation of the instrument.
- PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development. Records also discuss reliability and validity of the tool. Some records include full-text of the test.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new window Try adding terms such as instrument, measure, scale, survey, and questionnaire to your search.
Find Research Instruments in Instrument Databases
Find Research Instruments in Literature Databases
Ebooks About Research and Measurement
Outcome Assessment in Advanced Practice NursingISBN: 9780826151254Chapter 5: Locating Instruments and Measures for Advanced Practice Nursing Outcome Assessments
Measurement in Nursing and Health ResearchISBN: 0826105076
About Research Instruments
- Research instruments are measurement tools, such as questionnaires, scales, and surveys, that researchers use to measure variables in research studies.
- In most cases, it is better use a previously validated instrument rather than create one from scratch.
- Always evaluate instruments for relevancy, validity, and reliability.
- Many older yet relevant, valid and reliable instruments are still popular today. It is time consuming and costly to validate instruments, so re-using instruments is common and helpful for connecting your study with an existing body of research.
- Although you can conduct an internet search to find research instruments on publisher and organization websites, library databases are usually the best resources for identifying relevant, validated and reliable research instruments.
- Locating instruments takes time and requires you to follow multiple references until you reach the source.
- Databases provide information about instruments, but they do not provide access to the instruments themselves.
- In most cases, to access and use the actual instruments, you must contact the author or purchase the instrument from the publisher.
- In many cases, you will have to pay a fee to use the instrument.
- Even if the full instrument is freely available, you should contact the owner for permission to use and for any instructions and training necessary to use the instrument properly.