Clinical Info Tools
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Online collection of ebooks, journals, guidelines, patient education handouts, drug monographs, images, and videos focusing on clinical health care. Includes MEDLINE full-text.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window An evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.
- JAMAEvidence This link opens in a new window Collection of resources to teach and promote evidence based medicine. Textbooks, glossary, worksheets, and education worksheets.
- 5 Minute Consult This link opens in a new window Evidence-based monographs on diseases, drugs, procedures, and laboratory tests. Includes patient handouts on drugs, aftercare, and physical therapy exercises. Combines access to all contents of the "5 Minute Consult" book series.
Drug Information
- UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new window Monographs, ebooks and interactive tools covering over the counter and prescription drugs.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window Brief and detailed monographs for prescription and over the counter drugs; The Red Book for drug pricing; interactive tools for interactions and compatibility; additional references on drug names, toxicology, patient education,and diseases.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window Evidence-based monographs and clinical summaries for alternative and complementary therapies, including herbs, vitamins, dietary supplements, and integrative therapies. Includes information from Traditional Chinese Medicine, Ayurveda, and other holistic wellness systems.
- Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses 15th ed.Publication Date: 2017
- Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide, 15th edPublication Date: 2015
Differential Diagnosis
- Diagnosaurus This link opens in a new window Allows searching of over 1000 differential diagnoses by symptoms, diseases and organ systems. Link from Diagnosaurus directly into other books within AccessMedicine.
- GIDEON This link opens in a new window Database for diagnosing infectious diseases. Includes differential diagnosis tool, current information on disease outbreaks, and epidemiological data.
- VisualDx This link opens in a new window Clinical information tool with emphasis on dermatological and opthalmological disorders. Thousands of images of diseases and disorders on different locations and skin tones. Search by diagnosis or build a differential diagnosis.
Guidelines
Professional groups, non-profit organizations, and government agencies often develop guidelines and make them available freely on their websites. Search or browse groups that cover all health topics and areas like the World Health Organization, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Veterans Health Administration, or U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. Use Google to find additional groups focused on your specialty area or a specific condition.
- ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new windowFind summaries of high-quality guidelines from state, federal, and international agencies. Requires free registration. Similar to National Guideline Clearinghouse.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowPrior to searching, use the Publication Type limit of Practice Guidelines.
- Guidelines.co.uk This link opens in a new windowSummaries of guidelines and recommendations from United Kingdom governmental agencies and European and global professional groups. Includes links to full-text of guidelines. Registration is not required to access guidelines.
- National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) This link opens in a new windowGuidelines for United Kingdom (UK) National Health Services (NHS).
Case Studies
Clinical Case Studies for the Family Nurse PractitionerISBN: 9780813811444
Primary Care Case Studies for Nurse PractitionersISBN: 9781905539239
Advanced Pediatric Assessment, 3rd ed.ISBN: 9780826150110
Try searching the library catalog or ebook collections listed on the ebooks page of this guide. Possible search terms include, but not limited to: case, case studies, case review, primary care case studies, nurse practitioner case studies.
Patient Education
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window Consumer health information. This US-government-produced website provides free medical information and is written for a non-professional audience. Also available entirely in Spanish.
- Consumer Health & Patient Education GuideThis guide contains links to consumer / patient health resources for patients and health professionals. Includes links to Spanish language resources.