Databases
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new window PubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Most comprehensive database of full-text for nursing & allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Collection of databases aimed at gathering and summarizing health research.
- Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database This link opens in a new window Evidence-based practice database with a global focus. Find systematic reviews, protocols, recommended practices, evidence summaries, best practice and consumer information sheets, and technical Reports.
- Embase This link opens in a new window Embase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings. This version has been customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles from library holdings.
- ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window This database includes journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
- ProQuest Sociology Database This link opens in a new window Full-text database of international literature of sociology and social work from 1985 to present. Topics include community and mental health, crisis intervention, family and social welfare, poverty and homelessness, addiction, and social work education.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Abstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window Abstract database of social work literature from 1977 to present. Topics include homelessness, child and family welfare, AIDs, aging, substance abuse, community organization, and more.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Interdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
Peer Review
- UlrichswebUlrichsweb will tell you if a journal is peer-reviewed (refereed). Type in the journal's name and look in the "Refereed" field. If marked "Yes," the journal is classified as peer-reviewed.
Guidelines
Professional groups, non-profit organizations, and government agencies often develop guidelines and make them available freely on their websites. Search or browse groups that cover all health topics and areas like the World Health Organization, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Veterans Health Administration, or U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. Use Google to find additional groups focused on your specialty area or a specific condition.
- ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new windowFind summaries of high-quality guidelines from state, federal, and international agencies. Requires free registration. Similar to National Guideline Clearinghouse.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowPrior to searching, use the Publication Type limit of Practice Guidelines.
- Guidelines.co.uk This link opens in a new windowSummaries of guidelines and recommendations from United Kingdom governmental agencies and European and global professional groups. Includes links to full-text of guidelines. Registration is not required to access guidelines.
- National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) This link opens in a new windowGuidelines for United Kingdom (UK) National Health Services (NHS).
Evidence-Based Practice
- Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice Tutorials Created by Duke University and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice, 3rd. ed.
The goal of evidence-based practice (EBP) in nursing is to promote improved interventions, care, and patient outcomes. Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing. This fully revised third edition builds on the strength of the first two editions with updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use and refinement in real-life settings. Authors Deborah Dang and Sandra L. Dearholt also incorporated feedback from nurses around the world. Key features of the Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model include: NEW: Tips for using the newly updated Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model and guidelines, NEW: Tips on seeking funding for the advancement of interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, NEW: Tools to guide the EBP process, such as Stakeholder Analysis, Action Planning, and Dissemination, Explanation of the Practice question, Evidence, and Translation (PET) approach to EBP projects, Overview of the Patient, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome (PICO) approach to EBP question development, Creation of a supportive infrastructure for building an EBP nursing environment, Exemplars detailing real-world EBP experiences, CNOs, nurse managers, bedside nurses, and students alike have successfully transformed their practices and improved patient care using Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines. Book jacket.
ISBN: 194044697X
Critical Appraisal Tools
- JBI Critical Appraisal Tools Joanna Briggs Institute critical appraisal tools for systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials, cohort studies, and more.
- AGREE II Critical appraisal tool to evaluate the quality of guidelines.
- Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine Critical Appraisal Tools Oxford University
- Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP) UK based organization building tools and workshops for conducting critical appraisal