Chinese Studies *: Newspapers

CRG is a centralized means for discovery and access to a breadth of Chinese resources, including scholarly journals, monographs, statistical publications, government documents, newspapers, dissertations, patents, and more.

Includes newspaper articles from nearly 1,000 newspaper titles published in mainland China since 2000.

The authoritative newspaper and the official voice of the Chinese government and the Communist Party of China.

The People's Liberation Army Daily, 解放军报, (PLA Daily) published since 1956, stands as a repository of military news and related information emanating from China's authoritative military establishment. As the official newspaper of the Central Military Commission, the PLA Daily not only chronicles the evolving narrative of China's military affairs but also extends into broader policy realms, mirroring and influencing public discourse in alignment with the Chinese Communist Party's ideological framework. Owned and operated by the Political Work Department of the Central Military Commission, PLA Daily, with its collection of editorials, news stories, and military communications, presents an academic and analytical platform for scholars, policy analysts, and anyone keen on exploring the military narrative of China from its official military media outlet.

Global Times is a daily newspaper focusing on international relations and foreign affairs. It is an essential indicator of Chinese foreign policies.
2 users access.

Known as the Chinese Google Scholar, Duxiu provides access to a huge amount of full-text scholarly resources in all subjects and formats, such as books, theses & dissertations, journal & newspaper articles, conference papers, etc. For instructions about how to request full-text content from the database, paste this link in the browser https://libraries.usc.edu/sites/default/files/duxiu_instructions.pdf

Articles published by major communist Chinese newspapers from 1946-1996, collected and translated into English by the CIA.

Provides English-language translations of broadcast transcripts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from countries around the world from 1941 to 1996.

Includes a small number of English newspapers from China, such as China Daily, China Post, South China Morning Post, etc.

Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.

Coverage: 1980 - current

Use to find up-to-date information about companies and industries. Includes articles from newspapers and trade magazines, press releases, blogs, and business forecasters.

Database of full text online news, legal cases, and company information from 1980 to present. Includes Nexis Dossier and Total Patent One.

The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources, all in one easy-to-search database with a world map.Over 4,500 news sources are included. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Paid ads are excluded.

Please note that you need to create an individual account with the site in order to access the full-text content and use “borrow/read 借阅” function for each title. Please refer to their FAQ section for more instructions. CADAL includes thousands of journals and newspapers from the Republican period. The titles are not full-text searchable, but they provide tables of contents for easy navigation and virtual loan.

A comprehensive database of English-language renderings of official edicts and memorials from the Qing dynasty that cover China’s long nineteenth century from the Macartney Mission in 1793 to the abdication of the last emperor in 1912. As the mouthpiece of the government, the Peking Gazette 京報 is the authoritative source for information about the Manchu state and its Han subjects as they collectively grappled with imperial decline, re-engaged with the wider world, and began mapping the path to China’s contemporary rise.

Includes the following 12 important English language newspapers published in China:
• North China Herald (1850-1941)
• Canton Times (1919-1920)
• China Critic (1939-1946)
• The China Press (1925-1938)
• China Weekly Review (1917-1953)
• Chinese Recorder (1868-1941)
• Chinese Repository (1832-1851)
• Peking Daily News (1914-1917)
• Peking Gazette (1915-1917)
• Peking Leader (1918-1919)
• Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921)
• Shanghai Times (1914-1921)

The first English language newspaper published in Hong Kong.