Journals from Mainland China
- China Research Gateway (CRG) This link opens in a new windowCRG is a centralized means for discovery and access to a breadth of Chinese resources, including scholarly journals, monographs, statistical publications, government documents, newspapers, dissertations, patents, and more.
- China Academic Journals This link opens in a new windowThe key source for searching scholarly journal literature published in mainland China, with many full-text articles dating back as early as 1915.
- Wanfang China Online Journals This link opens in a new windowIncludes thousands of Chinese journals in the humanities and social sciences from mainland China from 1997 on. Also includes select monographic series titles, such as 元史及民族与边疆研究集刊, 藏外佛教文献, etc.
- Duxiu (Chinese Google Scholar) This link opens in a new windowKnown as the Chinese Google Scholar, Duxiu provides access to a huge amount of full-text scholarly resources in all subjects and formats, such as books, theses & dissertations, journal & newspaper articles, conference papers, etc. For instructions about how to request full-text content from the database, paste this link in the browser https://libraries.usc.edu/sites/default/files/duxiu_instructions.pdf
- China Yearbooks Full-text Database (CYFD) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to authoritative facts and statistics of national and regional significance in mainland China from 1949 to present.
- Pishu (China Economy, Public Policy, and Security Database) This link opens in a new window'Pishu' (皮书, which literally means ‘cover-books’) are high-value analytical reports intended to guide policymaking in the People’s Republic of China. They are published by the prestigious Social Sciences Academic Press, a branch of the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences. Covered topics include a variety of issues of importance to China's government and research community, including international relations, agricultural policy, and industry competitiveness. They may be considered somewhat analogous to United States Congressional Research Service reports and analysis reports published by the RAND Corporation.
- Wanfang Academic Conferences in China This link opens in a new windowProvides full text and abstracts of papers from national and international conferences in the humanities and social sciences.
- National Social Sciences Database 国家哲学社会科学学术期刊数据库 This link opens in a new windowA government-sponsored open access journal database. Provides 1000+ important Chinese journals, including a complete run of 500+ titles. Please note that you need to create a free account with the site in order to access the full-text content.
Journals from Hong Kong and Taiwan
- Airiti Library: Journals & Theses This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to academic journals, theses and dissertations from Taiwan (mostly), mainland China, Hong Kong, Malaysia and other countries in all disciplines.
- Hong Kong Journals Online (HKJO)A full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong. Titles included in this database cover a wide range of disciplines including law, medicine and education.
- Hong Kong Macau Periodicals Network 港澳期刊網Provides citations and some full texts to Chinese and bilingual journals published in Hong Kong and Macau.
- 七十年代 The Seventies (Hong Kong)Includes issues from 1970 to 1984.
- The 70's Biweekly and People's Theatre 70年代雙週刊及民衆戲劇Includes digitized part of the personal archive kept by Mr. Augustine Chiu-yu Mok about the work he has done with his friends of The 1970's syndicate and Asian People's Theatre practitioners.
- 九十年代月刊 The Nineties (Hong Kong)Includes issues from 1984 to 1998.
- NCL Taiwan Periodical Literature 期刊文獻資訊網Developed by the National Central Library in Taiwan. Provides citations and some full texts of Chinese and Western-language journals primarily published in Taiwan and some in Hong Kong and Macau since 1970. Also includes some journals published prior to 1970.
- 臺灣學術期刊開放取用平台Includes open access journals published in Taiwan.
Journals from Pre-1949 China
- Late Qing/Republican Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowDeveloped by the Shanghai Library, Late Qing/Republican Periodicals Database provides full-text access to thousands of periodicals and magazines published in China from 1833 to 1949.
Only 1 user is allowed to access the database at one time. - China and the modern world This link opens in a new windowThe Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals (1817-1949) Collection includes:
• Bulletin of the Catholic University of Peking (1926–1934)
• The Canton Miscellany (1831)
• The China Critic (1928–1946)
• The China Mission Year Book (1907–1939)
• The China Quarterly (1935-1941)
• The China Review, or Notes and Queries on the Far East (1872-1902）
• The China Year Book (1912–1939)
• The Chinese and Japanese Repository (1863–1865)
• Chinese Miscellany (1830, 1845, 1849)
• The Chinese Recorder (1867–1941)
• Educational Review (1907–1938)
• The Indo - Chinese Gleaner (1817-1822)
• New China Review (1919–1922)
• Notes and Queries on China and Japan (1867–1869)
• T’ien Hsia Monthly (天下, 1935–1941)
• West China Missionary News (1899-1943)
• Yenching Journal of Social Studies (1938-1949) - China Academic Digital Associative Library (CADAL) 大学数字图书馆国际合作计划 This link opens in a new windowPlease note that you need to create an individual account with the site in order to access the full-text content and use “borrow/read 借阅” function for each title. Please refer to their FAQ section for more instructions. CADAL includes thousands of journals and newspapers from the Republican period. The titles are not full-text searchable, but they provide tables of contents for easy navigation and virtual loan.
- Annotated Bibliography of Cantonese Popular Periodicals of the Early Twentieth CenturyAn open access database of popular Cantonese periodicals published in Guangzhou, Hong Kong, Macau, and other locations from 1907 to the 1950s.
- Catalog Database of Republican Era Buddhist Journals 民國佛教期刊文獻集成及補編資料庫An online index of first and second series of Photocopied Collections of Republican Buddhist Journals compiled by Huang Xianian 黃夏年. USC libraries have all the photocopied journals in print.
- Chinese Women’s Magazines in the Late Qing and Early Republican Period 晚清民初時期中國婦女雜誌 This link opens in a new windowIncludes 女子世界 (Women's World, 1904-07), 婦女時報 (The Women's Eastern Times, 1911-17), 婦女雜誌 (The Ladies' Journal, 1915-31), and 玲瓏 (Elegance, 1931-37).
- Early Chinese Periodicals Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes 235 Chinese magazines and newspapers from the late Qing and Republican periods.
- 國語月刊 National Language MonthlyDigitized by the Bibliothèque des études chinoises at Collège de France. Includes 14 issues from 1922 to 1925.
- 良友 The Young Companion [Print]USC has a complete run of this journal reprinted in 2007.
- 中国早期电影画刊 [Print]A reprint collection of film magazines published in Shanghai, Guangzhou, Hong Kong, Shenyang, Wuchang and Chengdu during the Republican period.
Major English Journal Databases
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowContains citation records and some full texts on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published in Western-languages from 1971 to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA full-text English-language scholarly journal database. Includes a subject list of Asian studies journals.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowA full-text English-language scholarly journal database. Includes a subject list of Asian and Pacific studies journals.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFiltered Google Search finding scholarly journal articles, books, citations, and case law.