Databases
- Empire Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes primary sources on early Chinese immigrants, such as Correspondence relative to emigration of Chinese coolies, Emigration from China to the West Indies, etc.
- Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new windowFrom government-led population drives during the early nineteenth century through to mass steamship travel, Migration to New Worlds showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Explore British Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolors, and oral histories supplemented by carefully selected secondary research aids. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
Online Resources
- Annotated Bibliography of Cantonese Popular Periodicals of the Early Twentieth CenturyAn open access database of popular Cantonese periodicals published in Guangzhou, Hong Kong, Macau, and other locations from 1907 to the 1950s.
- Chinese Immigrants in CubaIncludes hundreds of original documents, manuscripts and photos covering the migration of 125,000 Chinese who signed up to be cheap labor in Cuba from 1847 until the later 1890s.
- Chung Sai Yat Po Newspaper Collection (1900-1904)Chung Sai Yat Po 中西日報, one of early Chinese newspapers in North America, was published in San Francisco from Feb. 1900 to 1951.
- Chinese Newspapers in Southeast AsiaIncludes a comprehensive collection of scanned Chinese newspapers published in Singapore and Malaysia.
- Doing Theory in Southeast AsiaAn open-access database aims to provide a platform for students, teachers, researchers, artists, and curators to exchange critical ideas about diverse Southeast Asian cultures.
- Overseas Chinese newspapers in the last hundred years in North AmericaPlease scroll down to the heading "Overseas Chinese newspapers in the last hunred years in North America" to see the list of newspaper titles. You can check USC Libraries Catalog for availability of these titles in the library.
Archival Sources @ USC
The USC East Asian Library owns many rare and unique archival collections including historic photographs, manuscripts, videocassettes, and maps. Below is a selected list of archival collections related to overseas Chinese. You can find a complete list of China collections from here:
- Ailing Zhang (Eileen Chang) Papers 張愛玲檔案Consists of seven boxes of correspondence (primarily with literary critic Dr. C.T. Hsia 夏志清), manuscripts (such as The Sing-Song Girls of Shanghai, Chang’s English translation of the Chinese novel 海上花), photographs, essays, articles, written speeches, and other materials. See the finding aid for a complete list of items in the papers, including the newly discovered manuscript of Chang's English translation of her short story 相見歡 (She said smiling) and a 2023 addition to document Chang's late years in Los Angeles.
- Theodore Hsi-en Chen PapersContains administrative and faculty papers from Dr. Chen's chairing of the East Asian Studies Center and its predecessors from 1960 to 1971, as well as material from the 1940s and 1950s, a scrapbook of newspaper clippings on Dr. Chen's career, photographic slides showing Theodore Chen and Wen Hui Chen's tour of Hong Kong and Southeast Asia in 1962, research reports and theses, and a photocopied biography of Theodore Chen. Lastly, the collection contains an oral history interview of Theodore Chen conducted by Ken Klein in 1986.
- China Society of Southern California recordsIncludes documents and publications produced by the society. See the finding aid for a complete list of items in the collection.
- Chinese Historical Society of Southern California Collection, ca.1880-1933Documents artifacts systematically excavated from two sites in Southern California. The first site is represented by about 1,040 color images of artifacts from the original Los Angeles Chinatown; an additional 150 images document artifacts from the site of a Chinese laundry in Santa Barbara.
- Katherine Sui Fun Cheung scrapbook and videosA collection of videos and a scrapbook relating to Katherine Sui Fun Cheung (1904-2003), the first Chinese woman to obtain an international flying license.
- Taiwanese American ArchivesIncludes Pacific Times, a weekly Taiwanese American newspaper published in Los Angeles.
Sinophone Studies
Sinophone Studies by
This definitive anthology casts Sinophone studies as the study of Sinitic-language cultures born of colonial and postcolonial influences. Essays by such authors as Rey Chow, Ha Jin, Leo Ou-fan Lee, Ien Ang, Wei-ming Tu, and David Wang address debates concerning the nature of Chineseness while introducing readers to essential readings in Tibetan, Malaysian, Taiwanese, French, Caribbean, and American Sinophone literatures. By placing Sinophone cultures at the crossroads of multiple empires, this anthology richly demonstrates the transformative power of multiculturalism and multilingualism, and by examining the place-based cultural and social practices of Sinitic-language communities in their historical contexts beyond "China proper," it effectively refutes the diasporic framework. It is an invaluable companion for courses in Asian, postcolonial, empire, and ethnic studies, as well as world and comparative literature.
ISBN: 0231527101Publication Date: 2013
Sinophone Cinemas by
Sinophone Cinemas considers a range of multilingual, multidialect and multi-accented cinemas produced in Chinese-language locations outside mainland China. It showcases new screen cultures from Britain, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Singapore and Australia.
ISBN: 9781137311191Publication Date: 2014
New Queer Sinophone Cinema by
This book looks closely at some of the most significant films within the field of queer Sinophone cinema. Examining queerness in films produced in the PRC, Taiwan and Hong Kong, the book merges the Sinophone with the queer, theorising both concepts as local and global, homebound as well as diasporic. Queerness in this book not only problematises the positioning of non-normative desires within the Sinophone; it also challenges Eurocentric critical perspectives on filmic representation that are tied to the idea of the binary between East/West. New Queer Sinophone Cinema will appeal to scholars in Chinese and film studies, as well as to anyone who is interested in queer Chinese cinema.
ISBN: 1349948829Publication Date: 2016
Global Chinese Literature: Critical Essays by
Presenting an array of cutting edge perspectives on modern Chinese literature in different Sinophone contexts, this volume of essays offers a wide range of critical approaches to the study of an emerging interdisciplinary field.
ISBN: 1283039524Publication Date: 2010
