It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionary of Advertising and Marketing Concepts by Arthur Asa Berger; Fred S. Goldberg (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2013-08-31
From AdBusters to viral marketing, this brief dictionary of ideas and concepts contains over 100 extended, illuminating entries to bring the novice up to speed on the advertising/marketing world and the ideas that underlie it. For the neophyte professional, it describes the various players and strategies of the industry. For the student, it summarizes the key ideas of the most important cultural theorists introduced in advertising and marketing courses. For everyone, it helps explain the cultural, economic, and psychological role that advertising concepts play in society. A handy introduction for students and a quick reference for young professionals.
A Dictionary of Marketing by Charles Doyle
Publication Date: 2016-07-01
A Dictionary of Marketing is an accessible and wide-ranging A-Z, providing over 2,500 entries on topics spanning terms for traditional marketing techniques (from strategy, positioning, segmentation, and branding, to all aspects of marketing planning, research, and analysis), as well as leadingmarketing theories and concepts. Both classic and modern marketing techniques are covered. Entries reflect modern changes in marketing practice, including the use of digital and multi media, the impact of the World Wide Web on advertising, and the increased influence of social media and searchengines on advertising and the rise of global brand management.Also included is a time line of the development of marketing as a discipline and the key events that impacted the development, as well as over 100 relevant web links, accessed and updated via a companion website. In addition, the main appendix provides greater depth on the subject, includingadvertising and brand case studies with a strong international focus. These are arranged thematically, e.g. automobile industry, food and drink, luxury goods, and focus on iconic brands, marketing campaigns, and slogans of the 20th century that have permeated our collective consciousness, exploringhow the ideas defined in the main text of the book have been utilised successfully in practice across the globe. This dictionary is an indispensable resource for students of marketing and related disciplines, as well as a practical guide for professional practitioners and people with a generalinterest in marketing.
Essential Marketing and Advertising Dictionary by Jerry M. Rosenberg
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
The Essential Marketing and Advertising Dictionary is an authoritative reference that defines more than 5,500 marketing and advertising terms in clear, concise, and understandable language. This dictionary incorporates terms used in both government and private-sector organizations. The terms cover every aspect of marketing and advertising, including terms related to direct mail, sales, retailing, international advertising and marketing, consumer behavior, market research, and print and broadcast advertising. This book is essential for marketing, sales, and advertising professionals and students.
The New Rules of Marketing and PR by David Meerman Scott
Publication Date: 2015-10-05
The most updated edition yet of the benchmark guide to marketing and PR, with the latest social media, marketing, and sales trends, tools, and real-world examples of success This is the fifth edition of the pioneering guide to the future of marketing. The New Rules of Marketing & PR is an international bestseller with more than 350,000 copies sold in over twenty-five languages. It offers a step-by-step action plan for harnessing the power of modern marketing and PR to directly communicate with buyers, raise visibility, and increase sales. This practical guide is written for marketing professionals, PR professionals, and entrepreneurs who want to grow their businesses and create success. Learn how companies, nonprofits, and organizations of all sizes can leverage web-based content to get timely, relevant information to eager, responsive buyers for a fraction of the cost of big-budget campaigns. This fifth edition--the most extensively revised edition yet--includes: Dozens of compelling case studies with revisions Real-world examples of content marketing and inbound marketing strategies and tactics A fresh introduction A new chapter on sales and service Coverage of the latest social media platforms, including Periscope, Meerkat, and Snapchat The New Rules of Marketing & PR is an unparalleled resource for entrepreneurs, business owners, nonprofit managers, and all of those working in marketing or publicity departments. This practical guide shows how to devise successful marketing and PR strategies to grow any business. David Meerman Scott is a marketing strategist, bestselling author of ten books--including three international bestsellers--advisor to emerging companies such as HubSpot, and a professional speaker on marketing, leadership, and social media. Prior to starting his own business, he was marketing VP for two publicly traded US companies and was Asia marketing director for Knight-Ridder, at the time one of the world′s largest information companies.
Hooked by Nir Eyal; Ryan Hoover (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014-11-04
How do successful companies create products people can't put down? Why do some products capture widespread attention while others flop? What makes us engage with certain products out of sheer habit? Is there a pattern underlying how technologies hook us? Nir Eyal answers these questions (and many more) by explaining the Hook Model--a four-step process embedded into the products of many successful companies to subtly encourage customer behavior. Through consecutive "hook cycles," these products reach their ultimate goal of bringing users back again and again without depending on costly advertising or aggressive messaging. Hooked is based on Eyal's years of research, consulting, and practical experience. He wrote the book he wished had been available to him as a start-up founder--not abstract theory, but a how-to guide for building better products. Hooked is written for product managers, designers, marketers, start-up founders, and anyone who seeks to understand how products influence our behavior. Eyal provides readers with: * Practical insights to create user habits that stick. * Actionable steps for building products people love. * Fascinating examples from the iPhone to Twitter, Pinterest to the Bible App, and many other habit-forming products.
Ogilvy on Advertising by David Ogilvy
Publication Date: 1985-03-12
A candid and indispensable primer on all aspects of advertising from the man Time has called "the most sought after wizard in the business." Told with brutal candor and prodigal generosity, David Ogilvy reveals: * How to get a job in advertising * How to choose an agency for your product * The secrets behind advertising that works * How to write successful copy--and get people to read it * Eighteen miracles of research * What advertising can do for charities And much, much more.
Hey, Whipple, Squeeze This by Luke Sullivan; Edward Boches (As told to)
Publication Date: 2016-02-01
The classic guide to creating great advertising now covers all media: Digital, Social, and Traditional Hey Whipple, Squeeze This has helped generations of young creatives make their mark in the field. From starting out and getting work, to building successful campaigns, you gain a real-world perspective on what it means to be great in a fast-moving, sometimes harsh industry. You'll learn how to tell brand stories and create brand experiences online and in traditional media outlets, and you'll learn more about the value of authenticity, simplicity, storytelling, and conflict. Advertising is in the midst of a massive upheaval, and while creativity is still king, it's not nearly enough. This book is an essential resource for advertising professionals who need up-to-date digital skills to reach the modern consumer. Turn great ideas into successful campaigns Work effectively in all media channels Avoid the kill shots that will sink any campaign Protect your work Succeed without selling out Today's consumer has seen it all, and they're less likely than ever to even notice your masterpiece of art and copy, let alone internalize it. Your job is to craft a piece that rises out of the noise to make an impact. Hey Whipple, Squeeze This provides the knowledge to create impressive, compelling work.