Library resources
Library resources, while not free to the University, are another option for course materials. These can include e-books, streaming video and journal articles. Explore the links below and contact your librarian for more information.
Library Resources
eBooks can be found from the main USC Libraries' Search. Enter some search terms, then select "Books" and then "Refine Your Search" by selecting options such as "Available online" and the Date range and other options such as Database or Subject.
eBook collections can also be browsed through various subscription databases. Some selected databases are below, but the full list can be found on our databases page. We also have a guide to eBooks that may be helpful including "Using eBooks For A Course?"
- eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowThis web site provides access to the full-text content of 4,274 e-books purchased by the USC Libraries from netLibrary.
- Elsevier ScienceDirect Books Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 39,000 eBook titles including biomedical science and medicine, pharmacology, neuroscience, psychology, social sciences and more.
- Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Scholarship Online (OSO) provides scholarly ebooks on a wide range of subjects. Chapters can be downloaded as PDFs. Subject areas include Biology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Palliative Care, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health and Epidemiology, Religion, Social Work, and Sociology. OSO also includes the full text of some publications from other university presses.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowProQuest Ebook Central is a web-based ebook lending platform.
- PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new windowThis collection gives access to: DSM Library (including the DSM 5), self-assessment tools, news, and consumer health information.
- O'Reilly Learning Platform This link opens in a new windowTo gain access, please click “Institution Not Listed?” and enter your USC email address in the box provided.
Safari Online provides e-books from the publishers specializing in computer application user and training manuals.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of medical textbooks, board review books and clinical support books. In addition, there are self-assessment modules with case studies and multiple choice questions. Good for study and review of basic medical topics.
- Books@Ovid This link opens in a new windoweBook collection with access to over 800 major medical and allied health texts and handbooks.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowOnline collection of ebooks, journals, guidelines, patient education handouts, drug monographs, images, and videos focusing on clinical health care. Includes MEDLINE full-text.
- Elsevier ScienceDirect Books Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 39,000 eBook titles including biomedical science and medicine, pharmacology, neuroscience, psychology, social sciences and more.
- MedOne Education (Thieme) This link opens in a new windowCollection of medical and scientific ebooks and online full-color atlases with drawings, photos, and illustrations of the human body and biological processes.
- R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of full-text online books in health sciences disciplines. Many titles allow limited simultaneous users.
Streaming media including video and music is available from a variety of sources, some of which are shown below. For more information, please see our Guide to Streaming Media.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowA streaming service that provides access to videos on a wide variety of subjects inclduing Popular Films; Education; Global Studies & Languages; Health; Media & Communication; and Social Sciences.
- Academic Video Online (AVON)USC Libraries has a robust subscription to Alexander Street Press resources with albums, tracks, and videos that can be accessed at any time through a USC proxy. If you're interested in customizing your resources, you can create playlists based on the streaming music, make clips, and use the video and audio players.
- Counseling and Psychotherapy video seriesSage Publishers provides access to Counseling and Psychotherapy video series, a collection fo 136 hours and 420 videos including tutorials on evidence-based practice, empathy & listening, and existential psychotherapy.
- Digital Campus by SwankCommonly referred to as Swank, Digital Campus by Swank Motion Pictures offers thousands of film titles drawn mostly from popular production companies and studies including Paramount, WB, Sony, and Focus Features, Touchstone, United Artist, New Line, and Dream Works, to name a few.
- Digitalia HispanicaDigitalia Hispanica supplies 1,000 Spanish language streaming media titles from Spain, Latin America, and Central America.
- EgedaEgeda supplies access to Spanish language streaming media titles from Spain, Latin America, and Central America.
- Multimedia Resources (in the Health Sciences) GuideFind videos, audio clips, images, and cases to use in education.
Course reserves are course-related materials (i.e., articles, book chapters, streaming videos) assigned by instructors and made available by USC Libraries.
Automated Reserves System (ARES) manages course reserves including electronic reserves and physical reserve requests. Maintained and operated by the Integrated Document Delivery (IDD) department, the ARES database differs from Blackboard as it is supported by USC Libraries staff to manage physical and electronic reserve requests obtainable and available from library resources.
For more information, go to: https://libguides.usc.edu/reserves
Health Sciences:
- Most Health Sciences programs use the Health Sciences Course Reserves.
- View guidance for placing materials on health sciences course reserves here.