Multi-platform OER Search Tools
OER and related materials can be found on multiple websites from multiple sources. These tools can help you find them:
- OASIS - Openly Available Sources Integrated SearchOASIS currently searches open content from 52 different sources and contains 155,375 records. OASIS offers users the ability to search a range of materials, including textbooks, courses and corresponding materials, interactive simulations, public domain books, audiobooks, modules, open access books, videos and podcasts on a variety of topics. Users can also limit searches by license or by faculty review.
- Mason OER MetafinderThe Mason OER Metafinder searches sixteen targets in real-time, instantly returning the top several hundred or so relevant hits from each site. Because it is a real-time search, it can take a bit longer than searches of pre-indexed content; however, as compensation the results returned are absolutely up-to-the-minute for each search target. Additional results continue to trickle in as the search continues running and you begin examining your results.
Individual OER Providers - Select tab for links
- Open Textbook LibraryDownloadable textbooks across a wide range of subjects. Affiliated with the University of Minnesota.
- OpenStaxFreely available textbooks as part of a partnership with Rice University. Features textbooks in math, economics, social sciences, and sciences.
- Directory of Open Access BooksOver 7,000 peer-reviewed scholarly books available from 189 publishers including Springer, Brill and De Gruyter.
- Milne Open TextbooksPeer-reviewed textbooks through a State University of New York (Geneso) initiative. Includes current titles on programming, ethnic studies, writing, nursing, and mathematics.
- MERLOT's Open TextbooksMERLOT is a curated collection of OER textbooks and materials created with the support of the US, CSU and CCC systems.
- PressbooksThis directory provides an index of 1507 books published across 79 Pressbooks networks. Search and filter books by keyword, subject matter, license, and more.
- OER CommonsSearch system for all types of OER
- Merlot CollectionMerlot is a curated collection of free and open online teaching and learning materials.
- OpenStax CNXOpenStax's detailed search that features subjects in humanities, sciences, social sciences, and math.
- Open Course LibraryA searchable database of modular course components funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates foundation.
- UMich Open CoursesUniversity of Michigan open courses initiative available for remix and adoption
- Open Professionals Education NetworkThis website created with US Department of Labor funding provides a nice summary of the different types of OER and provides links to key sources.
- edXFounded by Harvard University and MIT in 2012, edX is an online learning destination and MOOC provider, offering high-quality courses from the world’s best universities and institutions to learners everywhere.
- Lumen LearningOpenly-licensed full courses.
- Mason OER MetafinderThe Mason OER Metafinder searches sixteen targets in real-time, instantly returning the top several hundred or so relevant hits from each site. Because it is a real-time search, it can take a bit longer than searches of pre-indexed content; however, as compensation the results returned are absolutely up-to-the-minute for each search target. Additional results continue to trickle in as the search continues running and you begin examining your results.
- OASIS - Openly Available Sources Integrated SearchOASIS currently searches open content from 52 different sources and contains 155,375 records. OASIS offers users the ability to search a range of materials, including textbooks, courses and corresponding materials, interactive simulations, public domain books, audiobooks, modules, open access books, videos and podcasts on a variety of topics. Users can also limit searches by license or by faculty review.
- Creative Commons (CC) SearchAllows you to search and access openly-licensed images from various sites.
- Google ImagesAfter conducting a search, select Tools and then the Usage Rights drop down menu to limit results to openly-licensed images.
- Vimeo - Creative CommonsBrowse videos in Vimeo that are under a Creative Commons license.
- YouTube1. Search for a video on YouTube.
2. On the results page, select the Filter link on the top right corner.
3. Go to Features and select Creative Commons to narrow the list to videos with an open license.
The Google search engine has an ‘advanced search’ that lets you search by ‘usage rights’ for content published to the Internet under an open license. The Advanced Search dialogue can be found under the Settings function or can be directly accessed at https://www.google.com/advanced_search
Image source: https://www.cccoer.org/learn/find-oer/
For Health Sciences OER, see box below.
Health Sciences OER
These links will take you directly to health sciences listings in larger OER collections. In addition to the targeted links below, search any of the general resources on this guide.
- Health - OASISIncludes a wide range of coverage across various health sciences subjects and disciplines.
- Health, Medicine and Nursing - OER CommonsUse the filters to limit items by education level, material type, and more.
- Health Sciences - Directory of Open Access BooksIncludes dentistry, nursing, general medicine, and public health.
- Health Sciences - MERLOTIncludes a wide range of coverage across various health sciences subjects and disciplines.
- Health Sciences - Open Textbook LibraryIncludes dentistry, nursing, medicine, massage therapy, fitness, public health, drug information, clinical procedures, case studies, and more.
- Health Sciences Books - Intech OpenIncludes a wide range of coverage across various health sciences subjects and disciplines.
- MILNE Open TextbooksBrowse subject list for books on healthcare, nursing, medicine, pharmacy, public health, and more.
- UMich Open CoursesFind health sciences OER resources by browsing dentistry, global health, medical, nursing, pharmacy, and public health collections.
- Multimedia Resources (in the Health Sciences) GuideFind videos, audio clips, images, and cases to use in education.
- Health Sciences Free Resources GuideRecommendations and links to free research and clinical resources for the health sciences.