EBP & Publication Alerts
- AAP Grand RoundsAmerican Academy of Pediatrics grand rounds offers evidence-based analysis and summaries of current health issues and trends in pediatrics.
- ACP Journal Club (Annals of Internal Medicine )Previously a stand-alone journal, the ACP Journal Club has been incorporated as a section of Annals of Internal Medicine. See the Journal Club tab.
- ACP JournalWiseYOU MUST BE AN ACP MEMBER TO ACCESS.. Sign up to receive alerts in your specialty. Coordinated by the McMaster Health Knowledge Refinery, method experts and practicing clinicians review more than 120 journals to identify sound articles and rate them for relevance and newsworthiness.
- BMJ Evidence Based MedicineFocuses on the tools, methods, and concepts that are basic and central to teaching and practicing evidence-based medicine (EBM).
- EvidenceAlertsEvidenceAlerts notifies physicians and researchers about newly-published clinical studies. Researchers at the McMaster Health Information Unit review articles from 125 clinical journals and rate them for clinical relevance and interest.
- NEJM Journal WatchReviews 250 journals in combined specialties and provides concise summaries of new medical research and expert perspective.
See the Staying Current with Dental, Medical and Health Sciences Research research guide for more tips.
Catalogue Search
- USC Libraries CatalogSearch by keywords, or see the Advanced Search option to search by title, author, subject, etc. or to combine different search fields.
- USC Libraries Journal SearchSearch for journals subscribed to by USC in print or online formats.
General Reference Books
A brief list of clinical books and journals are below, or search the catalogue.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by
Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right.
ISBN: 9781496398178Publication Date: 2023
Braunwald's Heart Disease by
Current, comprehensive, and evidence-based, Braunwald's Heart Disease remains the most trusted reference in the field and the leading source of reliable cardiology information for practitioners and trainees worldwide. The fully updated 12th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with dependable, state-of-the-art coverage of new drugs, new guidelines, more powerful imaging modalities, and recent developments in precision medicine that continue to change and advance the practice of cardiovascular medicine. Written and edited by global experts in the field, this award-winning text is an unparalleled multimedia reference for every aspect of this complex and fast-changing area. Offers balanced, dependable content on rapidly changing clinical science, clinical and translational research, and evidence-based medicine. Includes 76 new contributing authors and 14 new chapters that cover Artificial intelligence in Cardiovascular Medicine; Wearables; Influenza, Pandemics, COVID-19, and Cardiovascular Disease; Tobacco and Nicotine Products in Cardiovascular Disease; Cardiac Amyloidosis; Impact of the Environment on Cardiovascular Health, and more. Features a new introductory chapter Cardiovascular Disease: Past, Present, and Future by Eugene Braunwald, MD, offering his unique, visionary approach to the field of cardiology. Dr. Braunwald also curates the extensive, bimonthly online updates that include "Hot Off the Press" (with links to Practice Update) and "Late-Breaking Clinical Trials". Provides cutting-edge coverage of key topics such as proteomics and metabolomics, TAVR, diabetocardiology, and cardio-oncology. Contains 1,850 high-quality illustrations, radiographic images, algorithms, and charts, and provides access to 215 videos called out with icons in the print version. Highlights the latest AHA, ACC, and ESC guidelines to clearly summarize diagnostic criteria and clinical implications. Provides tightly edited, focused content for quick, dependable reference. Flexible format options include either one or two volumes in print, as well as a searchable eBook with ongoing updates. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323722193Publication Date: 2021-11-15
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Psychiatry, Third Edition by
Quickly and accurately diagnose and treat the psychiatric disorders you will most likely encounter in clinical practice Relevant etiology, phenomenology, pathophysiology, and drug information - right at your fingertips. Covers both adult and pediatric disorders. Reviews essential psychopharmacologic and psychotherapeutic approaches.
ISBN: 9780071754422Publication Date: 2018-10-31
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2024 by
For 25 years, Ferri's Clinical Advisor has provided immediate answers on the myriad medical diseases and disorders you're likely to encounter in a unique, easy-to-use format. A bestselling title year after year, this popular "5 books in 1" reference delivers vast amounts of information in a user-friendly manner. It is updated annually to provide current and clinically relevant answers on over 1,000 common medical conditions, including diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, clinical algorithms, laboratory tests, and clinical practice guidelines?all carefully reviewed by experts in key clinical fields. Extensive algorithms, along with hundreds of high-quality photographs, illustrations, diagrams, and tables, ensure that you stay current with today's medical practice. Contains significant updates throughout all 5 sections, covering all aspects of diagnosis and treatment. Features 27 all-new topics including coronary artery dissection, perimandibular abscess, retinal vein occlusion, performance enhancing hormones, aphasia, hemorrhagic ovarian cyst, pelvic fracture, lung transplant, penile cancer and obsessive rumination syndrome, among others. Includes useful appendices covering care of the transgender patient, palliative care, preoperative evaluation, nutrition, poison management, commonly used herbal products in integrated medicine, and much more. Offers online access to Patient Teaching Guides in both English and Spanish. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323755764Publication Date: 2024
Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, Ninth Edition by
Guide to the dermatologic conditions most often encountered in primary care. Complete update of etiology, pathogenesis, management, and therapy Over 1,000 full-color images Color-coded 4-part organization facilitates review at a glance;ICD-10 codes are included for each disease Many images highlight skin disease in different ethnic populations, includes online videos
ISBN: 1264278012Publication Date: 2023-04-17
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine by
Harrisons Online database, 21st edition.
ISBN: 1264268513Publication Date: 2022
Murray and Nadel's Textbook of Respiratory Medicine, 2-Volume Set by
Offers definitive, full-color coverage of basic science, diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment of the full range of respiratory diseases. Provides detailed explanations of each disease entity and differential diagnoses with state-of-the-art, evidence-based content by global leaders in the field. Contains a newly expanded section on common presentations of respiratory disease, plus new chapters on COVID-19, asthma and obesity, airplane travel, lung cancer screening, noninvasive support of oxygenation, lung microbiome, thoracic surgery, inhaled substances, treatment of lung cancer, and more. Covers hot topics such as vaping; advanced ultrasound applications and procedures; interventional pulmonology; immunotherapy; lung cancer targeted therapy; outbreaks, pandemics and bioterrorism; point-of-care ultrasound; use of high-flow oxygen, and more. Includes extensively reorganized sections on basic science, pleural disease, and sleep, with new chapters and approaches to the topics.
ISBN: 9780323655873Publication Date: 2021-05-17
Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine: Print + EBook with Multimedia by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2023! Covering both the theoretical and practical aspects of critical care,Irwin & Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine, Ninth Edition, provides state-of-the-art, evidence-based knowledge for specialty physicians and non-physicians practicing in the adult intensive care environment. Drs. Craig M. Lilly, Walter A. Boyle, and Richard S. Irwin, along with a team of expert contributing authors and education expert, William F. Kelly, offer authoritative, comprehensive guidance from an interprofessional, collaborative, educational, and scholarly perspective, encompassing all adult critical care specialties. Provides easy access to evidence-based critical care practice Offers a practical, clinically oriented approach to intensive care, with detailed descriptions of procedures, incorporating new ultrasound and how-to videos that can easily be accessed in the eBook Key points are identified at the beginning of each chapter and in the margins of the text Key references chosen by the author experts are highlighted at the end of each chapter Available even during network downtime A key educational tool for learning critical care Comprehensive coverage of topics in the field of critical care, including current information provided in 215 chapters authored by well-recognized experts In-depth, comprehensive coverage that allows key skill acquisition Useful resource for board preparation New multiple-choice questions (more than 650!) with annotated answers accompany each chapter in the VST eBook, which also features over 300 videos, mainly diagnostic and therapeutic ultrasound clips. Brings new expertise with senior editor Dr. Walter A. Boyle and online question editor William F. Kelly Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975181444Publication Date: 2023-07-25
Sabiston Textbook of Surgery by
For more than 80 years, Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice has been the go-to text for trainees and surgeons at all levels of experience for definitive guidance on every aspect of general surgery. As the oldest continuously published textbook of surgery in North America, this fully revised 21st Edition continues to provide the key information, essential teaching pearls, and completely updated content needed to make the most informed surgical decisions and achieve optimal outcomes for patients. Concisely written and evidence based throughout, it covers the breadth of material required for certification and practice of general surgery, highlighted by detailed, full-color intraoperative illustrations and high-quality video clips. Follows a clear, consistent progression beginning with principles common to surgical specialties including fluid and electrolyte management, metabolic support, and wound healing. Subsequent sections review the management of injury, transplantation, oncology, breast, endocrine, and abdominal procedures. Covers key topics such as emerging surgical technologies and devices, regenerative medicine, the latest concepts in cancer biology and treatments, and evidence-based management and treatment. Emphasizes the most up-to-date minimally invasive techniques and the use of robotics when indicated. Features more than 2,000 superb illustrations and intraoperative photographs and 25 procedural videos that facilitate quick comprehension of surgical techniques. Includes more schematic diagrams, summary tables, boxes, and algorithms that provide a rich resource for reviewing surgical techniques and preparing for in-training and board exams. Shares the expertise of dozens of new authors and includes two new chapters on robotic surgery and fetal surgery. Contains fully updated content on topics encountered by general surgery residents in training as well as in-depth coverage of subspecialty areas including head and neck, thoracic, vascular, urology, neurosurgery, pediatrics, and gynecology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323640626Publication Date: 2022
Books Collections
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide range of medical textbooks, board review books and clinical support books, also includes self-assessment modules.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new windowTextbooks, handbooks, atlases, multimedia (videos and images). Focus on surgery, orthopedics, critical care, and trauma. Some features require a free MyAccess profile.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowSearch the Books from the box on the front page or choose Books under the Types filter next to the Search box.
- Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new windowCollection of medical and scientific ebooks and online full-color atlases with drawings, photos, and illustrations of the human body and biological processes.
- R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of full-text online books in health sciences disciplines. Many titles allow limited simultaneous users.
Interlibrary Loans and Document Delivery
USC Libraries' Integrated Document Delivery (IDD) services obtains books, book chapters, articles, audio-visual and other research materials through a network of libraries, research centers, and other institutions. We work with a global network of libraries to share resources and support scholarly research for faculty, staff, and students.
Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery LibGuide has more information including eligibility and delivery options.
Sign-up for an Interlibrary Loan Document Delivery Account using your USC Net ID.
You may also wish to Recommend-A-Purchase to ensure perpetual access to a book or journal title.
For further assistance contact USC Libraries, IDD through email idd@usc.edu or call (213) 740-4020.