Welcome & Other Related LibGuides
The Clinical Professionals guide contains general resources used by all clinicians. The USC Libraries link in the upper-left of this page will take you back to the main catalogue if you wish to search for a particular article, title or database.
See also the following Research and Subject Guides:
- Nursing
- Clinicians
- Other Health Sciences Subject Guides - this list also includes General Reference & Research Help guides
Point of Care Reference & Tools
- uCentral This link opens in a new windowCollection of manuals, handbooks, and clinical information tools. Also available and searchable through mobile app.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.
- VisualDx This link opens in a new windowClinical information tool with emphasis on dermatological and opthalmological disorders. Thousands of images of diseases and disorders on different locations and skin tones. Search by diagnosis or build a differential diagnosis.
- GIDEON This link opens in a new windowDatabase for diagnosing infectious diseases. Includes differential diagnosis tool, current information on disease outbreaks, and epidemiological data.
- Diagnosaurus This link opens in a new windowAllows searching of over 1000 differential diagnoses by symptoms, diseases and organ systems. Link from Diagnosaurus directly into other books within AccessMedicine.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowOnline collection of ebooks, journals, guidelines, patient education handouts, drug monographs, images, and videos focusing on clinical health care. Includes MEDLINE full-text.
- BMJ Best PracticeEvidence-based overviews of medical topics, continually updated. Includes Cochrane Clinical Answers and patient handouts. Create personal account to claim CE credits.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by
This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right.
ISBN: 9781496398178Publication Date: 2020-08-26
Drug Databases
Keck Medical Center of USC subscribes to UpToDate Lexidrugs (formerly Lexi-Comp) and Facts and Comparisons. See also other free, drug apps on the Mobile Resources page.
- UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new windowMonographs, ebooks and interactive tools covering over the counter and prescription drugs. UpToDate Lexidrug supports safe, evidence-based medication and therapeutic with considerations for renal impairment, pharmacogenomics, obesity, pregnancy, and more
- Facts and Comparisons E-Answers This link opens in a new windowConstantly updated drug monographs for prescription and over-the-counter drugs; drug interaction checker. Includes additional handbooks on specific aspects of drugs, such as Review of Natural Products.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowAlternative and complementary therapies, including herbs, vitamins, dietary supplements, integrative therapies.
Websites
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) AHRQ is a government resource with broad coverage of: health topics, Evidence-based Practice Center reports, US government programs, research tools, data and statistics, grants, consumer health.
- ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window Registry and results database; includes information about publicly & privately funded studies including; completed & ongoing trials, research design, results, and contact information.
- Physician Data Query (PDQ) from National Cancer Institute This link opens in a new window National Cancer Institute website. The Physician's Data Query (PDQ) section is a very useful source of cancer diagnosis and treatment information for clinicians and patients.
- California Physician's Legal Handbook The CPLH does not allow for institutional subscriptions, but you may access the new California health laws for the current year (2024.)
- CDC - Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) The CDC's main vehicle for publishing public health information based on weekly reports from state health departments.