Pharmacy Students: Year 3: Drug Information

Information resources selected for year 3 Pharmacy students.

Drug Information Resources

 
Type of Question Best Bet Resource Alternate Resource(s)
Adverse Drug Reactions Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs
Norris Medical Library, Reference, QZ 42 S568 2016
Compounding Allen's Compounded Formulations: the Complete US Pharmacist Collection.
Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 778 A433 2003
Drug-Drug Interactions Stockley's Drug Interactions. Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 39 S865 2010
Drug-Food Interactions Food Medication Interactions. Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 37.5 P965f 2015
Equivalent Products The Orange Book. Need help using the Orange Book? Watch a video from the FDA.  
Foreign Drugs (Non-US) Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference. Accessed via Micromedex. Search for a drug name, then select the Martindale entry from results.
  • Index Nominum. Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 740.1 I38 2008. Accessed via Micromedex. Search for a drug name, then select the Index Nominum entry from results.
Geriatrics Geriatric Dosing Handbook. Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 39 G369
  • Lexicomp includes Geriatric Lexi-Drugs. Search for a drug name, then select the geriatric monograph.
Identification Ident-a-drug Reference. Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 39 I19 2011
Infectious Disease Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy
IV Compatibility Handbook on Injectable Drugs
Laboratory tests Effects of Drugs on Clinical Laboratory Tests. Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 38 Y69e 2000
Natural products Natural Medicines
  • Natural Products Database available in Lexicomp. Search for the product/ingredient and select the result from Natural Products Database.
Off-label use Facts and Comparisons Off-Label available in Lexicomp. Search for the drug and select the result from Facts and Comparisons Off-Label.
OTC Medications Handbook of Non-Prescription Drugs
Package inserts DailyMed
  • Physician's Desk Reference. Norris Medical Library Reference, QV 772 P578
  • Many manufacturers make the package inserts available freely through their websites.
Pediatrics Pediatric & Neonatal Dosage Handbook. Norris Medical Library, Reference, WS 39 P3705 2017
  • Lexicomp includes Pediatric Lexi-Drugs. Search for a drug name, then select the pediatric monograph.
Pregnancy & Lactation Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation (formerly known as Brigg's)
Pricing Red Book (Print edition discontinued; only access available via Micromedex)

The Red Book includes the most comprehensive pricing data.

  • Free websites like drugs.com or goodrx.com will aggregate costs paid by patients to fill prescriptions, with or without insurance coverage.
  • Search literature for cost-comparison articles to find additional pricing and cost data.
Stability & Compatibility Handbook on Injectable Drugs (Trissel)
Toxicology Poisoning and Toxicology Handbook. Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 607 P754 2008
  • Lexi-Tox, part of LexiComp subscription. Select More Clinical Tools, then Toxicology.
Veterinary Information Merck Veterinary Manual
  • Search the Catalog for names of species and type of information needed ("cows and vaccine"; "dogs and analgesics") to find handbooks on specific animal species.
  • Plumb's Veterinary Drugs book is heavily discounted for Pharm D students.
  • PubMed@USC includes primary articles covering veterinary care.
  • BIOSIS includes basic sciences and veterinary-specific articles.

 

Loading ...