Literature Databases
Literature databases provide access to scholarly, popular, and proprietary literature relating to drug therapy, drug development, economic and policy issues relating to drugs, results from clinical trials, and related information.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowSearch over 19 million citations to biomedical literature.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowWorldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and practice literature. Includes coverage of drug development, pharmacoeconomics, toxicity, regulation, and technology.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowEmbase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings. This version has been customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles from library holdings.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowLarge abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive database of full-text for nursing & allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
Evidence-Based Clinical Databases
Evidence-based clinical databases provide summarized, graded evidence to inform clinical practice.
Exact coverage varies by database, but generally includes overviews of diseases and clinical guidelines.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.
- 5 Minute Consult This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based monographs on diseases, drugs, procedures, and laboratory tests. Includes patient handouts on drugs, aftercare, and physical therapy exercises. Combines access to all contents of the "5 Minute Consult" book series.
- Essential Evidence Plus & AHFS DI EssentialsContinually updated, this source provides overviews of diseases and treatments.
eBook Collections
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowTextbooks, drug monographs, quizzes, flashcards, videos, cases, and calculators, selected for relevance to Pharmacy education.
- LWW Health Library- Premium Pharmacy Collection This link opens in a new windowCollection of textbooks, audio and video clips, cases, and self-assessments focused on pharmacy education.
- PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new windowCollection of textbooks, self-quizzes, and case studies from American Pharmacists Association (APhA).
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowA collection of health sciences textbooks; features fully integrated links to Gold Standard's Clinical Pharmacology drug database.
- Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new windowCollection of medical and scientific ebooks and online full-color atlases with drawings, photos, and illustrations of the human body and biological processes.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowOnline collection of ebooks, journals, guidelines, patient education handouts, drug monographs, images, and videos focusing on clinical health care. Includes MEDLINE full-text.