Textbooks
There are no required textbooks for this course. Readings are listed on the syllabus and some sources are linked here.
Databases
- NHS Economic Evaluation DatabaseIncludes only economic evaluations of health care interventions. Use Search Limits to limit to this database only (it is part of the Cochrane Library).
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowWorldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and practice literature. Includes coverage of drug development, pharmacoeconomics, toxicity, regulation, and technology.
- United States Pharmacopeia and National Formulary (USP-NF) byCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Reference, QV 738 AA1 P536 2016Requires personal registration to access online.
1. Visit the main USPNF site at https://online.uspnf.com/uspnf
2. Click “create a new USP Access Point account.”
3. Sign up with your USC email address (this will be your username), put University of Southern California as your company, and select Academic & Research as your industry. Leave the Subscription Key field blank.
4.You will get an email and need to verify your account by clicking the link.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowEmbase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings. This version has been customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles from library holdings.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowUSC's Micromedex subscription includes P&T Quik Reports: Thorough descriptions of newer drugs intended to aid formulary managers in decision-making. It also includes the Red Book (drug pricing).
Additional Books
The resources listed below are a sample of what is available at Norris Medical Library for study and research on pharmacoeconomics, formulary management, and management of pharmacy practice. Contact a librarian, the reference desk, or search the Health Sciences Library Catalog for more materials.
Essentials of Pharmacoeconomics, 3rd edPublication Date: 2020
Introduction to Applied PharmacoeconomicsCall Number: Upper level, QV 736 I615 2001
Pharmaceutical Economics and Public PolicyCall Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 736 V879p 2007
Understanding Health Outcomes and Pharmacoeconomics by Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, QV 736 U55 2013
Pharmacy Management: Essentials for All Practice Settings, Fifth EditionPublication Date: 2019
