Research Guides: Italian Studies Research Guide : ARCHIVES & COLLECTIONS

General Collections

19th Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on archival collections of primary sources providing full-text, fully searchable content. The collection includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more in both Western and non-Western languages.

Biblioteca dei Classici Italiani (di Giuseppe Bonghi da Lucera). Collection of almost 500 full-text Italian classics divided by period and author. Includes as well biographies, bibliographies, and introductions to the works of the most important Italian writers.

Biblioteca della Letteratura Italiana An online library of Italian literature created through the collaboration of Pianetascuola with the Italian publisher Einaudi. Full texts of works in PDF format are searchable by author and title.

Biblioteca digitale della letteratura italiana (Einaudi) - Opere, Autori.

Biblioteca digitale italiana -- Internet Culturale. Aggregator of digital repositories from various regional libraries, archives, museums, research institutes, etc.

Bivio: Biblioteca Virtuale On-line. Testi e immagini dell'umanismo e del rinascimento.

Gale Literature. Integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Includes full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.

Libretti d'Opera Italiani Searchable by: author of the text; author of the musical score; by title of the work or by century. Includes songs in mp3 format.

Letteratura.it Il primo portale a servizio della letteratura Italiana.

Liber Liber Libri, Audiolibri, Musica, Video. An extensive full-text e-library for Italian literature (out of copyright).

Literature Resource Center. Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.

Online Collections

Early European Books This link opens in a new window
This is an extraordinary resource at its inception and will be even more so upon its completion in a few years.
The scope of the collection is to provide high quality color scans, from the originals, not from microfilm, of all material printed in Europe or in European languages from the birth of printing (c.1455) to 1700. Based on holdings of a variety of major European libraries. The three initial collections, ultimately represent 4.1 million pages, are based on library collections in Denmark, Italy, the Netherlands and England. The project is successor and a complement to the 125,000 titles in Early English Books Online (EEBO) already held by USC.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
19th Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on archival collections of primary sources providing full-text, fully searchable content.
The collection includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more in both Western and non-Western languages. Currently available are over 10,000,000 pages in the following modules: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange;British Politics and Society;British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High & Popular Culture//European Literature, 1790-1840.
Poem Finder This link opens in a new window
Poem Finder indexes 600,000 poems and includes over 50,000 poems in full-text.
Covering poetry from antiquity to the present from around the world from 3,000 anthologies, 4,500 single-author works, and periodicals such as The New Yorker. Poems are available only in English translation. Includes full bibliographic information for poem sources. The database is continually updated

Archives and Manuscripts

Carte d'autore online Portal to several Italian literary archives

DGA Direzione Generale Archivi (Ministero per i beni e le attività culturali). Il Sistema Archivistico Nazionale e i Portali tematici

il Fondo Manoscritti dell’Università di Pavia (Centro di ricerca sulla tradizione manoscritta di autori moderni e contemporanei)

Medici Archive Project The Medici Archive Project is bringing the Medici Granducal Archive's unparalleled resources for the arts and humanities to a broad international public for the first time, by way of the latest information technology. ... Open to the general public, the online system allows users to search for people, places, topics and document synopsis and extracts in the thousands of documents indexed by MAP researchers, with new information updated every day. This digital interactive platform enables scholars from all over the world not only to view digitized images of archival documents, but also to enter transcriptions, provide scholarly feedback, and exchange comments in designated forums.

Oxford Companion to Italian Literature

The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature (2002) by Peter Hainsworth. Also available as an Electronic Resource

PROJECTS

AIUCD Projects List of DH projects in and/or about Italy, maintained by Associazione per l’Informatica Umanistica e la Cultura Digitale.

LANGUAGE AND LINGUISTICS

Biblioteca Elettronica di Linguistica e Filologia. La collezione mette a disposizione del pubblico una serie di opere che hanno come filo conduttore la documentazione sulle varietà dialettali italiani e sulle fasi più antiche della lingua italiana, attraverso testi, repertori e studi filologici. Le opere digitalizzate sono generalmente studi fondamentali, anche se non recenti, e sono spesso di difficile reperibilità (Ultima modifica 06/12/2017 17:05).

Società di Linguistica Italiana. List of Italian Linguistics Journals.

VIVIT - Vivi italiano. Il portale dell’italiano del mondo.