name
Italian studies are multidisciplinary and require different research strategies depending on the scope and focus of any specific topic. The USC Libraries provide access to over 113,800 serials in print and electronic formats. The databases listed on this page provide only a small, illustrative, sampling of resources and research in Italian studies published in journals, or available in collections, worldwide.
RESOURCES FOR ITALIAN STUDIES
Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani (Treccani.it) "Treccani ha riunito i grandi italiani in una grande opera, la più grande biografia nazionale oggi esistente da cui non possono prescindere non solo gli studiosi di biografie ma nemmeno quanti vogliono approfondire le vicende d’un dato periodo."
Italinemo Index to Italian Studies periodicals published worldwide since 2000. Includes an abstract for each article. Free registration to the site.
Modern Language Association The MLA site contains information on over 6,000 journals and book series that fall within the scope of the MLA International Bibliography. Entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of scope, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, links to online content, peer review, and submission guidelines. The directory also provides statistics on the number of articles and book reviews published each year, as well as how many are submitted.
Romanische Bibliographie = Bibliographie romane = Romance bibliography Available Online from 1965.
OPEN ACCESS - DISSERTATIONS & THESES
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog. CRL is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. CRL supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Click on the "Dissertations" tab to search for dissertations by author, title or subject. Results can be sorted by title or year.
Open Access Dissertations OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 4,800,235 theses and dissertations.
DATABASES - DISSERTATIONS & THESES
- DART-Europe This link opens in a new windowA portal to access electronic theses and dissertations from European universities.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowDatabase of dissertations and theses, including more than 1 million available full-text (PDF).
Databases in the Humanities - A Sampling
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowAcademic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowThe Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
- Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
- Essay and General Literature Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowEssay and General Literature Index, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, is a unique reference database that cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.
- Essay and General Literature Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowEssay and General Literature Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites essays, articles and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFiltered Google Search finding scholarly journal articles, books, citations, and case law.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowBiographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles.
- PIO - Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 5,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts articles from over 500 English and foreign language philosophy journals.
- Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowReaders' Guide Full Text Mega includes indexing of over 450 periodicals as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles from over 250 journals as far back as 1994.
- Short Story Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowThis product's aim is to index all the important collections and anthologies of short stories that are published each year.
