Research Guides: Public Relations and Advertising*: Newspapers &amp; Magazines

Current Newspaper Individul titles

New York Times (Current) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage, 1980-present, of the US newspaper of record.
Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
Los Angeles Times (Current) This link opens in a new window
Full-text major daily newspaper from Los Angeles.
With the nation's largest editorial department, it offers extensive coverage of national, international, and local news. Coverage: 1985-current.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
New users are required to create an individual user account using their USC email address.
- Students will have seamless access through graduation
- Faculty and staff will be required to refresh access once a year. An email will notify the user when they need to refresh
- For those who have a personal WSJ membership and want to take advantage of the complimentary school-sponsored membership can call 1-800-JOURNAL to cancel

New York Times
USC Students have access to the New York Times complimentary provided by USC’s Graduate and Undergraduate Student Governments.
Los Angeles Times
All students, faculty and staff are eligible for a free one-year subscription to the Los Angeles Times.
Washington Post
Full-text coverage daily coverage of news 1996 - present.
Los Angeles Sentinal
The Los Angeles Sentinel is an African American owned newspaper that puts emphasis on issues concerning the African-American community and its readers. Coverage 2007-present
Factiva
Covers 1975 to the present.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition; New York, N.Y. (current) This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal offers full page and article images with searchable full text , please see the ABI/Inform or ProQuest databases for additional editions.

Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources, all in one easy-to-search database with a world map.
Over 4,500 news sources are included. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Paid ads are excluded.
Global Newsstream‎ This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.

Coverage: 1980 - current
Nexis Uni (formerly LEXIS/NEXIS Academic) This link opens in a new window
Database of full text online news, legal cases, and company information from 1980 to present. Includes Nexis Dossier and Total Patent One.

Gannett Newsstand This link opens in a new window
This database's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need.
Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch now includes two collections: 1) Ethnic NewsWatch, a current collection (1990-present) of newspapers,magazines and journals from ethnic and minority presses.
The publications offer both national and regional coverage. 2) Ethnic NewsWatch: A History(1959-1989), which includes over 30 full-text newspapers, magazines and journals, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to major U.S. and international newspapers and allows to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields.

Trade Publications

Economist Magazine
PDF of articles published in the Economist magazine from 1992 to the present.
New Yorker Magazine
Pdf articles published from 2002 to the present.
Time Magazine
PDF of articles published in Tim form 1984 to the present.
Forbes
PDF articles published from 1990 to the present.
Atlantic
Text of articles published from 1994 to present.
Variety Magazine
PDF of articles from 1972 to present.
Hollywood Reporter
Text articles from the reporter are indexed in the database.
Billboard
PDF articles are indexed from 1988-present.
Wired
Full text articles from 2008 to present.
New York Review of Books
An independent publication, editorial voice for literature.

Email Me

Contact:

Doheny Memorial Library
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu

213-740-2332

Subjects: Communication & Journalism, Gender & LGBTQ Studies