Research Guides: Public Relations and Advertising*: Advertising

Advertising Trade Journals and Magazines

Advertising Age
Text print of articles from Advertising Age. Includes links to "New and features, "Interactive daily," "International daily," "Jobbank," "AdMarket 50," and special reports through "Netmarketing," such as "Business to business advertisers top 100," and "Business to business websites top 200.
International Journal of Advertising
Journal of Advertising
Adweek
Formed by the union of the six regional print editions of Adweek; in 2011 absorbed Mediaweek and Brandweek.
Variety
Hollywood Reporter

Campaings

AdViews
From Duke University, this digital archive contains 1950s and 60s vintage television commercials Some of the companies represented include Procter & Gamble, Kraft, Schick, Vicks, and Post.
Ads of the World
This site published in conjunction with Clios (the advertising award people), allows you to search for and browse for recent/current advertising.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
This TV news archive provides access to broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.
The core collection is comprised of evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004). Special news broadcasts found in the Archive include political conventions, presidential speeches and press conferences, Watergate hearings, coverage of the Persian Gulf War, the events of September 11, 2001, the War in Afghanistan, and the War in Iraq.
WARC This link opens in a new window
Previously known as the World Advertising Research Center, WARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.

Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media
Research-based organization working collaboratively within the entertainment industry to create gender balance, foster inclusion and reduce negative stereotyping in family entertainment media

Advertising Databases

Advertising Red Books (Winmo) This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on advertising agencies and advertisers.
Agency Database contains detailed profiles of close to 15,000 U.S. and international agencies, including clients, fields of specialization, and more. Advertiser Database contains exclusive information on nearly 21,000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Use Quick Search or Advanced Search to access one or both databases.
2 users access
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from peer-reviewed journals and trade magazines covering mass media, marketing, communications, and related topics.
WARC This link opens in a new window
Previously known as the World Advertising Research Center, WARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.
Insider Intelligence (formerly known as eMarketer) This link opens in a new window
Provides analysis, market data, and statistics on the Internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports and Mintel Trends provide comprehensive, in-depth consumer and market analysis and trends. Mintel Global New Product Database includes detailed product data on new products in the food, drink, beauty and personal care, health and hygiene, home care and pet markets..
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Find lengthy, detailed market reports or brief white papers describing all types of businesses. Covers international and US markets.
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 This link opens in a new window
Contains thousands of market research reports by analyst Ernest Dichter and his Institute for Motivational Research, commissioned by advertising agencies and businesses such as Philip Morris, Chrysler, and CBS on products ranging from tobacco and broadcasting to cars and hotels. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
These primary source documents are accompanied by hundreds of advertisements from the time period.
Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice through leading business and trade publications.
Harper's Bazaar Archive‎ (1867 - current) This link opens in a new window
Full color digital scans of all issues, from cover to cover. Supports academic research in a range of fields, including: gender studies, fashion, marketing, advertising, consumerism, material culture, design and more.
AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials This link opens in a new window
AdViews is a digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s.
These commercials were created or collected by the ad agency Benton & Bowles or its successor, D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B). Founded in 1929, Benton & Bowles was a New York advertising agency that merged with D'Arcy Masius McManus in 1985 to form DMB&B. Major clients included are Procter & Gamble, Kraft, Schick, Vicks, and Post, among others. Commercials will be added in phased batches over several months in 2009.

Media Rates

SRDS - Standard Rate and Data Service This link opens in a new window
SRDS is produced by Standard Rate and Data Service, which compiles contact information and ad rates for a variety of media sources.
The print versions are useful when you have specific publications in mind, but our online access allows you to search across publications using keywords.
Advertising Red Books (Winmo) This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on advertising agencies and advertisers.
Agency Database contains detailed profiles of close to 15,000 U.S. and international agencies, including clients, fields of specialization, and more. Advertiser Database contains exclusive information on nearly 21,000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Use Quick Search or Advanced Search to access one or both databases.
2 users access

Spending Reports

Statista This link opens in a new window
business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
More Info
EBSCO Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides articles from business journals, magazines and newspapers including the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly and many others.
Advertising Red Books (Winmo) This link opens in a new window
2 users access. Advertiser Database contains exclusive information on nearly 21,000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising.
Agency Database contains detailed profiles of close to 15,000 U.S. and international agencies, including clients, fields of specialization, and more. Advertiser Database contains exclusive information on nearly 21,000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Use Quick Search or Advanced Search to access one or both databases.
2 users access