Research Guides: Public Relations and Advertising*: Market & Company

Market Research

eMarketer
Provides analysis, market data, and statistics on the Internet, e- commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the first statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform and providing companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Business Insights Global This link opens in a new window
Business Insights: Global is a source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries. Also known as Gale Business Insights.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry Market Research reports and Industry Risk Ratings. Focuses on United States, but has some data on global markets.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports and Mintel Trends provide comprehensive, in-depth consumer and market analysis and trends. Mintel Global New Product Database includes detailed product data on new products in the food, drink, beauty and personal care, health and hygiene, home care and pet markets..
Passport This link opens in a new window
The Passport/GMID (Global Market Information Database) by Euromonitor provides a wide range of consumer market and industry information in more than 80 countries around the world.
It includes company profiles, some with SWOT analysis, country briefings, sector briefings, sector data, industry watch articles and detailed Consumer Lifestyle reports.

WARC
WARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
BCC Research provides objective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports.
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) This link opens in a new window
Sports Business Research Network provides market research and industry news for the sports industry.
SBRnet's site combines market research from the largest single research supplier to the industry, the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from 14 magazines and newsletters published by VNU, the world's largest sporting goods trade publisher, and newsletters provided by leading independent industry experts.

Company Research

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

Investext
Reports and forecasts prepared by top Wall Street and international brokerage firms More than 11,000 U.S. and international companies and 53 industries are covered.
Mergent Online
U.S. Company Data. An Internet-accessible subscription service covering 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings
International Company Data. More companies from more countries than any other international database, with global searching across databases.
Mergent WebReports
Mergent WebReports provides online access to the Moody's/Mergent manuals. These manuals provide corporate histories, business descriptions, and information on properties, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt, financial statements and municipal debt. Years vary 1920's to present.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
A comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor's independent research, data and commentary on stocks, bonds, funds, and industries. Content includes detailed tock reports, company profiles, bond reports, corporation records, mutual fund reports, security dealers directory and industry surveys.
Gale Directory Library
Information from several Gale reference works including Ward's BusinessDirectory, Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations,Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers, Directory ofDatabases, Information Industry Directory, Directory of Publications andBroadcast Media, Encyclopedia of Associations, National FacultyDirectory and the Research Centers Directory.

Gartner This link opens in a new window
Research from Gartner, Inc., an information technology research and advisory company. Gartner works with clients to research, analyze and interpret the business of IT.
Not all documents are available in full-text form. Use the "Advanced Search" feature to locate full-text articles available to USC users.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
PrivCo is the premiere source for business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. You must create an account (USC e-mail address) to login.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides data about companies, including financials, exeutives, reports, filings, news, and comparisons with competitors. Build your own report to find exactly the data you need.

Subject Guide

Chimene Tucker

Email Me

Contact:

Doheny Memorial Library
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu

213-740-2332

Subjects: Communication & Journalism, Gender & LGBTQ Studies

Industry Information

For a complete listing of various Industries please refer to the Industries Research Guide

Snapshots This link opens in a new window
This database offers top-line international market research overviews focusing on 40+ industries in more than 40 countries worldwide, including regional summaries. It provides market size, share, forecasts and segments.
SRDS - Standard Rate and Data Service This link opens in a new window
SRDS is produced by Standard Rate and Data Service, which compiles contact information and ad rates for a variety of media sources.
The print versions are useful when you have specific publications in mind, but our online access allows you to search across publications using keywords.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases designed for quantitative analysis of financial data: Compustat Global & EMDB; Fama French Momentum and Liquidity; Audit Analytics; EVENTUS; Blockholders; CUSIP Master File; Federal Reserve Bank Reports; Bureau van Dijk; DMEF - Direct Marketing Educational Foundation; FDIC; Bank Regulatory; CBOE Indexes; Execcomp; CRSP - Center for Research in Security Prices; Compustat North America; Dow Jones; Mutual Funds Links (MFLINKS); Thomson Reuters; TRACE; NYSE TAQ; PHLX; SEC Disclosure of Order Execution; I/B/E/S International; IRI - Information Resources Inc.; Penn World Tables.