**A-Z E-resources Databases: S

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage from 1869.

An annual summary publication of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.

Contains links to numerous English-language Bibles as well as Latin (Latin Vulgate), Greek and Hebrew editions, some of which have been scanned.

To gain access, please click “Institution Not Listed?” and enter your USC email address in the box provided.

Safari Online provides e-books from the publishers specializing in computer application user and training manuals.

SAFEHAVEN was the code name of a project of the Foreign Economic Administration, in cooperation with the State Department and the military services, to block the flow of German capital across neutral boundaries and to identify and observe all German overseas investments.

A full-text collection of over 80 online specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and debates covering a wide range of subjects.

This resource is the largest journals package offered by SAGE. It includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of nearly 300 scholarly and professional societies. Its interdisciplinary coverage is unparalleled, spanning subject areas including business; humanities; social sciences; science, technology, medicine; and many more.

SAGE Research Methods includes books, articles, encyclopedias, and videos covering social science research design and methods including the complete Little Green Book series of Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences and the Little Blue Book series of qualitative research. Also includes case studies outlining the research methods used in real research projects.

An authoritative online encyclopedia of the U.S. built environment organized by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press, it contains histories, photographs, and maps for over 22,000 structures and places. These are mostly buildings, but as you explore SAH Archipedia you will also find landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, artwork, and more. The content of SAH Archipedia was originally drawn from the award-winning book series, Buildings of the United States (BUS), and includes histories and thematic essays from all of the published BUS print volumes. SAH Archipedia has continued to grow with the addition of peer-reviewed born-digital content and as new BUS volumes are completed.

University of Southern California's Collection of Salem Press Titles.

Provides market research and industry news for the sports industry including analytics. The site combines market research from the largest single research supplier to the industry, the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from 14 magazines and newsletters published by VNU, the world's largest sporting goods trade publisher, and newsletters provided by leading independent industry experts.

Friedrich Schiller's (1759-1805) literary works, his writings on history, and his philosophical and critical works have been extremely influential. Schillers Werke comprises the whole of the Nationalausgabe, the finest and most complete critical edition of his works, letters, and conversations.

A model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals, conceived to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries, SciELO provides an efficient way to assure universal visibility and accessibility to their scientific and other scholarly literature. The SciELO collection is continually updated and includes hundreds of scholarly peer reviewed journals, from Spain, Portugal, several South American countries and Cuba on a wide range of subjects.

The Science Citation Index, a part of the Web of Science, is a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited references, you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

From October 2001 to June 2006, Science's SAGE KE provided news, reviews, commentaries, disease case studies, databases, and other resources pertaining to aging-related research. Although SAGE KE has now ceased publication, you can still search and browse the article content on this archive site.

Multimedia audio and video content from the US Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information.

Access over 2,200 peer reviewed academic journals and selected books.

Search back files of Scientific American from 1845 to present.

Articles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Requires separate login. Go to USC's create an account page to register.

Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Provided by Elsevier.

Company filings with US Securities and Exchange Commission.

The United States Senate, since its inception, has maintained a record of its proceedings in executive session capturing the minutes of floor action on military events, judicial appointments, foreign affairs, and other important issues. This collection provides an essential record of American congressional and political history over nearly 200 years.This database covers an array of subjects, such as treaties with Native Americans, the path to statehood of Western territories, the evolution of Spanish-American relations, the creation and support of the Monroe Doctrine, Manifest Destiny, organizations, and people, with a strong focus on nominations across military, judicial, and executive branches and on international treaties.This database provides important background and context for students of American cultural, legislative, military, political, social, and scientific history. Provided by Readex.

Presents nearly 55,000 audiovisual testimonies of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust, the Armenian Genocide, the anti-Rohingya violence in Myanmar, the Cambodian Genocide, the Central African Republic Conflict, contemporary antisemitism, the 1994 Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda, the Guatemalan Genocide, and the Nanjing Massacre. The interviews were conducted in 65 countries and 43 languages.

This site features the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics' e-book collection.

This links to the society's e-journal portal, listing their fourteen journals. The date range for online volumes is from 1997 to present. The actual Home Page for the society is www.siam.org

Maintained by the Centre de Donnes astronomiques de Strasbourg (CDS), France, it provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.

A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census and American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Points-of-Interest business file providing access to over 5 million US business profiles. Includes MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories, and the MOSAIC consumer lifestyle segmentation system. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level.

These collections cover the transatlantic slave trade, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S., Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.It includes digital access to a variety of primary sources: legal documents, court records, plantation records, company records,first-person accounts, newspaper articles, government documents and much more. Also includes reference articles and links to websites, biographies, chronologies, bibliographies to give background and context for further research. Provided by Gale.

Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across North America and the UK, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. In addition to the primary source documents there is a wealth of useful secondary sources for research and teaching; including scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.

A result of Gale's partnership with the Smithsonian Institution to create searchable archives of the Smithsonian's vast collections, this resource combines rare nineteenth and twentieth century archival materials on such topics as World'€™s Fairs and trade literature and is paired with modern Smithsonian Magazine and Air & Space Magazine backfiles to present unique and comprehensive insight into history, science, nature, the arts, innovation, technology, and world culture.

This database offers top-line international market research overviews focusing on 40+ industries in more than 40 countries worldwide, including regional summaries. It provides market size, share, forecasts and segments.

Visually display demographic data in the U.S. from 1790-present at a variety of geographic levels. Create reports, maps and animations that can be downloaded.

Access to scholarly articles, abstracts and working papers in the social sciences including many Marshall faculty.

Part of Web of Science, the Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes thousands of journals spanning dozens of subjects with coverage starting in 1900.

Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text database includes the most important English-language social science journals. Provided by EBSCO.

Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews. Coverage: 1979 - current. Provided by ProQuest.

Abstract database of social work literature from 1977 to present. Topics include homelessness, child and family welfare, AIDs, aging, substance abuse, community organization, and more.

Abstract database of sociology and social and behavioral sciences literature from 1952 to present. Includes journal articles, conference papers, books, and dissertations.

Accessible Archives provides access to four important 18th century South Carolina newspapers: The South Carolina Gazette (1732-1775), The South Carolina & American General Gazette (1764-1775), The South Carolina Gazette& Country Journal (1765-1775) and The Gazette of the State of South-Carolina (1777-1780).

Contains the world's largest collection of optics and photonics applied research. With thousands of papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging, the SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive research database available on optics and photonics research.

Comprehensive database for sports & sports medicine literature. Includes international literature, conference proceedings, audiovisuals and more. Coverage dates back to 1985.

Produced by Standard Rate and Data Service, which compiles contact information and advertising rates for a variety of media sources. Agencies and brands use SRDS as an affordable, all-in-one resource to find and compare digital and traditional media across business, consumer and geographic audiences.

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a freely available online encyclopedia pertaining to all issues in philosophy and written by contemporary philosophers from various institutions of higher learning.

State Archives of Assyria Online (SAAo) is an open-access web resource that aims to make the rich Neo-Assyrian materials found in the royal archives of Nineveh, and elsewhere, more widely accessible.

provides access to the British State Papers, the papers of the Secretary of State from Henry VIII's accession in 1509 to 1782. Covering a wide range of documents, subjects, and importance, they concern internal English/British affairs and administration of the country, and foreign affairs, marriage alliances, treaties and wars. Here are original letters written by Henry VIII and subsequent monarchs, ministers, officials and clerks, together with those sent from European rulers and their officials, and the people of Britain of all social levels. Provided by Gale.

French novelist Stendhal, Marie-Henri Beyle, was born in Grenoble in 1783 and died in Paris in 1842. This growing collection of his manuscripts includes new transcripts and annotations by literary scholars is from the Universite Stendhal in Grenoble and Grenoble's public library. Language is primarily French.

Since 1998 Structurae has been providing bridge, civil and structural engineers with information on the design and construction of construction projects from around the world including profiles on the companies and individuals involved as well as product descriptions. By now the site has grown into a unique information network and research tool for practicing engineers and students majoring in civil and structural engineering but also for architects and other professionals in the construction industry. Includes some advertising.

Providing access to this British Sunday newspaper, this archive is an important resource for the humanities and social sciences, especially in history, media studies, journalism, literature, cultural studies, politics, and theater. The collection is also a valuable resource for family history and genealogy.

Despite the similarity of their names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1 January 1967, when both London papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news.

Founded in 1931 by Argentine intellectual Victoria Ocampo (1890-1979), Sur became a highly influential journal in Latin America and Europe and featured the writings of the key figures in literature, philosophy, history and the plastic arts from Latin America, North America and Western Europe. With translations, the journal introduced Latin Americans to Europeans, and European and North American readers to Latin Americans. Provided by Gale.

The online version of the printed Sweets Catalog File (In AFA Reference,Call No. TH455.S7864), this free website (with ads) allows searching by word or the MasterFormat 2004. Includes links to articles in Architectural Record.

Synthesis is an engineering and applied science e-books collection from Morgan & Claypool, which synthesizes important engineering research or development topics in lecture series format.