**A-Z E-resources Databases: I

Reconstructs the lexicon for the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European. It is a voluminous online reference source for historical and general linguists. Dictionaries can be cross-searched. Each entry is accompanied by grammatical info, meaning(s), etymological commentary, reconstructions, cognates and often extensive bibliographical information.

Detailed information on environmental factors that can increase the risk of human cancer. These include chemicals, complex mixtures, occupational exposures, physical agents, biological agents, and lifestyle factors. Provided by the International Agency for Research on Cancer of the World Health Organization.

Industry Market Research reports and Industry Risk Ratings. Focuses on United States, but has some data on global markets.

A comprehensive database delivering full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.

With its debut in 1842, The Illustrated London News became the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, marking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events, including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts, and science. The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 includes every published issue, from the first in 1842 to the last in 2003. Entirely full-text searchable with high-quality digital imaging from flat unbound print sets. Provided by Gale.

Presents the dramatic imagery of nineteenth-century Americana as experienced from the social, military, and political perspectives. To create this collection, Alexander Street partnered with the American Antiquarian Society, the Virginia Historical Society, the Library Company of Philadelphia, and the New York Historical Society, filming rare items from their extensive holdings.Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, the home front, politics, and general society allow students and researchers to experience and bear witness to the events, both monumental and mundane, of the war. Provided by Alexander Street.

The complete published works of Immanual Kant edited by the Berlin Academy.

An index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories available through various resources.

The Independent is a major British daily national newspaper, launched in 1986 as an antidote to its often overtly political rivals. The publication's evolution has been considerable, but it has also retained a distinctive position in British journalism. Featuring the work of journalists and columnists from across the political spectrum, the paper is generally regarded as centrist, presenting alternative perspectives on the news of the day. Provided by Gale.

A comprehensive index to publications on Islamic subjects throughout the world. Records cover almost 100 years, from 1906 to the present. The scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. Coverage: 1906 - current. Provided by ProQuest.

The new IxTheo is a comprehensive bibliography for theology and religious studies. It is now possible to search not only for articles, but also for monographs, databases and relevant Internet links. A selection of review journals is now also included. When the relevant licenses permit it, it is possible to access directly the complete text of the articles, reviews and books.

Ranked as the second largest database in the legal research database suite, this is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students and paralegals. Includes access to law reviews, legal periodicals, and books including open access materials.

An archive index covering legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand between 1908 and 1981. Topics include criminal law, federal law, international law, medical law and more. Provided by EBSCO.

Locate musical works contained in printed collections, sets, and series; indexes individual compositions printed in complete works of composers, anthologies of music, and other scholarly editions.

Index to FBIS Daily Reports issued from 1975-1996.

Manuscript collections from the National Library of Scotland covering the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.

Includes collections from across Canadian and American institutions, from the 17th-20th century. Includes manuscripts; books; tribe and Indian-related newspapers; Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages.

Online version of the Information Please Almanac.

Information Services Latin America (ISLA) is a press monitoring service providing full text images of news articles related to individual Latin American countries and to regions such as the Caribbean area, Andean region, or Latin America in general. Coverage appears to have ended in 2018.

Full text articles published from 1994 to the present on contemporary issues in Latin American studies. The sources include mostly Spanish language scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers from Mexico, Central America, South America and the Caribbean. Provided by Gale.

The Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) is the largest professional society in the world for professionals in the field of operations research (O.R.), management science, and business analytics.

ICSD is the world's largest inorganic crystal database with over 169,000 entries dating back to 1913. Legacy structures determined by the NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) have also been added. Full access at USC is provided via the web interface. All completely identified structures peer-reviewed for quality and accuracy.

High-resolution images of ancient inscriptions from the Near Eastern and Mediterranean Worlds.The target inscriptions are some of the earliest written records in the world from an array of international museums and libraries and field projects where inscriptions still remain in situ. Through InscriptiFact, original texts whose fragments are frequently scattered among museums, libraries and archaeological sites can be brought together as virtual documents that are viewed and distributed in an Internet environment. Provided by USC West Semitic Research.

Included are, for example, Dead Sea Scrolls; cuneiform tablets from Mesopotamia and Canaan; papyri from Egypt; inscriptions on stone from Jordan, Lebanon and Cyprus; Hebrew, Aramaic, Ammonite and Edomite inscriptions on a variety of hard media (e.g., clay sherds, copper, semi-precious stones, jar handles); and Egyptian scarabs. These ancient texts represent religious and historical documents that serve as a foundation and historical point of reference for Judaism, Christianity, Islam and the cultures out of which they emerged.

Created by The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), Inspec contains over 22 million records from across global publishers to deliver quality content to a wide range of research communities.

Accessed through Engineering Village along with the Compendex and GeoRef databases.

The mission of the Economic Commission for Latin America (ECLAC) in this area is to generate and disseminate analyses and policy proposals aimed at strengthening the participation of the Latin American and Caribbean region in global trade and fostering regional integration, particularly as it relates to economic matters. To this end, ECLAC produces studies and publications, organizes conferences and seminars, provides technical assistance to governments and integration bodies in the region, and develops and maintains a range of databases. The work of the International Trade and Integration Division covers quantitative and qualitative aspects of both themes, through coordination with other ECLAC divisions and national and subregional offices.

ICPSR is an international consortium of more than 810 academic institutions and research organizations which provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

The Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR) was organized in London in August 1938 as a result of the Evian Conference of July 1938, which had been called by President Roosevelt to consider the problem of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe.

An authoritative resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.

This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides access to the IMF's periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. IMF includes information about macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, and poverty reduction.

Indexing, abstracts, and much full-text coverage for music periodicals since 1874.

Indexing, abstracts, and much full-text coverage for performing arts periodicals since 1864.

Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications. Provided by ProQuest.

Worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and practice literature. Includes coverage of drug development, pharmacoeconomics, toxicity, regulation, and technology.

A database of acronyms collected from the Internet. An acronym is a kind of abbreviation. Acronyms are usually made from the capitalized initials of the words it represents, for example FBI is an acronym for the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

The gateway to IOP e-journals and books.

Literal and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions for musical vocal works in French, German, Italian, Latin, and Spanish.

Part of Web of Science, this resource provides access to the Conference Proceedings Citation Index (CPCI-S) from 1990 to present.

Part of Web of Science, this resource provides access to the Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) from 1990 to present.

The Harvard University Library's Open Collections Program has digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from the institution's vast holdings.

The IMechE Proceedings Archive 1847-1996 is providing direct access to over 200,000 pages of unique material, including technical papers, obituaries, meeting reports, technical drawings, and editorial comment, all covering some of the most influential and innovative years of engineering development.