Chinese Films, Documentaries, etc. at the USC Libraries
USC East Asian Library has a a growing collection of Chinese films, opera, documentaries and TV programs, most of which are shelved in the Leavey Library. For a selected title of Chinese documentaries in streaming, please go to the guide China Documentary Films in Streaming for more information.
Leavey Library's Audio-Visual Collection is housed behind the circulation desk, and items must be requested there for check out. All DVD and VHS items may be checked out by USC students, faculty, staff or alumni for 7 days. Other borrowers may check out for 4 hours/in building use only. For more information including fines and exceptions, please click DVDs in Leavey Library.
USC students may check out laptops with DVD drives from the Leavey Circulation Desk in order to view the DVDs. Headphones are also available for checkout at the Circulation Desk.
East Asian Library Conference Room (DML 109C) and Seminar Room (DML 110C) are both equipped with multi-region DVD and VCR players, which can allow you to watch videos in groups. Please click Doheny Memorial Library Spaces to learn more about the rooms and how to make reservations.
Streaming Videos & Online Collections
- Academic Video Online Premium (AVON) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online (AVON) is a multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department allowing students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world. This resource is offered by Alexander Street Press, a Proquest Company.
- Bibliothèque Numérique Asiatique/Asian Digital LibraryIncludes a considerable number of films from the Republican and early PRC periods.
- Bloomsbury Video Library This link opens in a new windowBloomsbury Video Library streams and features content from filmed performances and fiction films to documentaries and instructional videos.
- Chinese Film ClassicsIncludes English-subtitled versions of over twenty early Chinese films, a free course on Chinese Film Classics, and resources for learning more about Chinese cinema history.
- Docuseek 2 Complete Collection (via Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowContains documentaries from leading film producers and distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, the BBC, the National Film Board of Canada, CBC, Television Trust for the Environment, MediaStorm, Terra Nova Films, KimStim, and Scorpion TV, and other independent filmmakers from around the world.
- Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new windowThis collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. It focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, award winners, and more.
- Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowThis includes the Master Academic Video, World Cinema and the Master Career & Technical Education collections. Master Academic includes over 40,000 videos in the humanities and social sciences, science, business and economics, health and medicine. The World Cinema Collection includes over 1,000 titles from the best of the silent era, groundbreaking international directors, masterpieces from the mid-20th century, and contemporary films from around the world, including Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, the Caribbean, the Middle East, and North America.
- Icarus Films Collection This link opens in a new windowIcarus Films is a leading distributor of documentary film. With over 40 years in the film distribution business, Icarus Films has assembled an impressive collection in many area of social and political concern.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowA streaming service that provides access to videos on a wide variety of subjects inclduing Popular Films; Education; Global Studies & Languages; Health; Media & Communication; and Social Sciences.
- Projectr This link opens in a new windowA platform for watching independent films including a curated collection of acclaimed movies, archival restorations, award-winning documentaries and artist-made works from around the world.
- Socialism on Film: the Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new windowThis collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowThis academic streaming collection offers film titles drawn mostly from popular production companies and includes films, documentaries and TV shows. USC Libraries will maintain a collection of at least 200 titles however the availability of titles may vary. Preference will be given to those titles that have been requested by faculty for reserves.