Large Newspaper Collections
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1998 This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Dates covered: 1690-1998
Over 900 newspaper in all Includes Early American Newspapers Series 1 and 2, 1690-1900; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and selected historical newspapers. - Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window(Library of Congress) Includes digitized newspapers published all over the country between 1836-1922 and also provides information about American newspapers published between 1690-present
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Includes over 500 newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. - Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Dates covered: Varies by publication, 1980s - present
Provides access to over 6500 newspapers from all over the world, 70% of which are from North America - Nexis Uni (formerly LEXIS/NEXIS Academic) This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Dates covered: 1980s-present
Full text of articles from more than 2,500 newspapers, including top-tier news publications and local, national, and international sources.
Los Angeles & California Newspapers
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1998 This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Includes 59 California newspapers (26 from L.A. area)
Dates available: 1850-2000; dates/issues vary by publication
Titles include:
California Courier (1958-2000), Daily Democratic State Journal (1853-1858), [San Jose] Evening News (1884-1900), Prensa (1917-1937), Heraldo de Mexico (1917-1928) - California Courier Historical Archive This link opens in a new windowDates available: 8/20-1958-12/31/2000
Login required - California Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new windowDates available: 1846-1922 (dates vary by title)
Provides access to 32 California newspapers, including:
- Amador Ledger (1852-1911)
- Imperial Valley Press (1901-1911
- Los Angeles Herald (1873-1910)
- Pacific Rural Press (1871-1922)
- Sacramento Daily Union (1851-1899)
- San Francisco Call (1890-1913), and more. This site, from UC-Riverside’s Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR), provides access to thousands of digitized pages from 32 California newspapers.
- California Newspaper ProjectThis is a catalog that contains records for over 14,400 U.S. newspaper titles held in California repositories (libraries, museums, historical societies and publishers' offices) and close to 9,000 of these newspapers were or are published in California.
- Chronicling America: California Newspapers (1873-1913)Newspapers include:
- Los Angeles Daily Herald (1873-1876), Daily Los Angeles Herald (1878-1884), Los Angeles Daily Herald (1884-1890), Los Angeles Herald (1890-1893), The Herald (1893-1898), Los Angeles Herald (1905-1910)
- Imperial Press (4/20/1901-10/26/1901), The Imperial Press and Farmer(1901-1903), The Imperial Press (1903-1905), Imperial Valley Press and The Imperial Press (1906-1907), and Imperial Valley Press (1907-1910).
- The Morning Call (1890-1895), The San Francisco Call (1895-1913), The Call-Chronicle-Examiner (4/19/1906),The San Francisco Call and Post (1913)
- Amador Ledger (1900-1910)
- Sacramento Daily Record-Union (1880-1891), The Record-Union (1891-1899) - El Clamor Publico(USC Digital Library)
Dates available: 1855-1859
The first Spanish-language newspaper in California after the American occupation
- Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Includes 43 newspapers from California.
Titles include: Chicano (1968-1977), Heraldo de Mexico (1917-1928), Prensa (1917-1937), Hispano America (1918-1931).
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Dates covered: 1934-2005
(from Proquest) The most important African-American newspaper published in Los Angeles.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Dates available:1881-1998 from Proquest
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Dates available: 1865-1922 From Proquest
- Southern California Daily TrojanUSC Digital library is working on uploading digitized copies of the Daily Trojan from 1912-present.
The Daily Trojan is also available on microform, 1912-2004 in USC's Archives (DML 209); or online from 11/2000 - 09/30/2009 via the Library's Access World News Database; or 5/2009-present on Daily Trojan Website: http://dailytrojan.com/archives/
Western Newspapers
(Hawaii, Montana, Nevada, Utah, Wyoming)
- Utah Digital NewspapersDates covered: 1850-1969
Access to over 50 digitized Utah titles. Added to monthly - Wyoming Newspaper ProjectDates covered: 1849-1922
All of the newspapers printed in Wyoming between 1849 and 1922 are available in this this searchable and browsable collection.
Northeastern Newspapers
(Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Sun (1837-1987) This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Dates covered: 1837-1986 from Proquest
- Brooklyn Daily Eagle OnlineDates covered: 1841-1902
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Dates covered: 1764-1986 from Proquest - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Dates covered: 1851-2008 from Proquest
- Northern New York Historical NewspapersDates covered: 1811-2010
Currently consists of more than 2.2 milion pages from 52 newspapers.
- Pennsylvania Gazette This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Dates covered: 1728-1800 (from Accessible Archives) This was one of the most prominent and successful newspapers in the American colonies and Early Republic. Published in Philadelphia, the newspaper was purchased by Benjamin Franklin and Hugh Meredith in 1729. Franklin not only printed the paper but also contributed pieces under aliases. This newspaper was the first to print a political cartoon in America, "Join, or Die," authored by Franklin himself. This digital version of The Pennsylvania Gazette provides a first-hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of these periods. Also included is the full-text of such important writings as the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Payne’s Common Sense, The Federalist Papers and much more.
Southeastern Newspapers
(Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, Washington D.C.)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Dates covered: 1931-2003 from Proquest
- The Citizen Council Digital ArchiveA pro-segregationist/white supremacist newspaper published in Mississippi between October 1955 and September 1961. It was intended to spread a pro-segregationist message throughout the southern states.
- Historic Kentucky NewspapersDates covered: 1860-1922
Digitized content from 49 titles
- North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project This link opens in a new windowDates covered: 1751-1898 A project of the North Carolina State Archives, this collection contains over 23,000 pages from newspapers. Click on the link "Newspapers Included" to see the current list of titles from 6 towns. The runs are mostly short, sometimes with only 2 or 3 issues from one paper. Advertisements are included, including indexing of the text. In addition to browsing, you can search by keyword, year, or a particular newspaper
- ProQuest Civil War Era This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Dates covered: 1840-1865
Includes the full run of five southern and border state newspapers:
- The Charleston Mercury (SC) (1840-1865)
- The Daily Dispatch (VA) (1852-1865)
- The New Orleans Picayune (LA) (1840-1865)
- The Louisville Daily Journal (KY) (1840-1865)
- Memphis Daily Appeal (TN) (1847-1865)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Dates covered: 1889-1994 from Proquest
Midwestern Newspapers
(Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender This link opens in a new windowLogin required from Proquest
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Dates covered: 1849-1988 - ProQuest Civil War Era This link opens in a new windowLogin required
Dates covered: 1840-1865
Includes the the full run of 2 Ohio newspapers:
The Columbus [Ohio] Gazette (1856-1865),
The Daily Ohio State Journal (1840-1841, 1849-1853).
Northwestern Newspapers
(Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington)
- Washington State Historic NewspapersDates covered: 1852-2010
Southwestern Newspapers
(Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas)
- Arizona Digital Newspaper ProgramDates covered: 1859-1978