Research Guides: Asian American Studies *: Databases & Journals

Core Asian American Studies Article Databases

Start your research for secondary sources with these databases:

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Login required
Over 750,000 records on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide
Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992 have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases (RLIN, OCLC, etc.). The online BAS offers users various methods for seeking citations. A separate screen allows users to set their preferences for displaying and downloading data in different formats and character encodings. The BAS is updated regularly, with batch posting of thousands of new entries in each upload.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Login required
A large and growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals. Some backfiles date back to the early 1800s. Now includes current content for over 250 journals.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Login required
The definitive index of articles and other literature covering the history and culture of the US and Canada, from the 15th century to the present
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Login required
Modern Language Association database provides citations to scholarly articles, dissertations, and collected works in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide. Useful when researching Asian American Literature topics
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Login required
Project Muse Provides full text access to the complete content of nearly 500 current scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
As of January 2012, Project Muse has added thousands of University Press ebooks to its collection. However, USC DOES NOT have access to them. If you are interested in one of these titles, please search Homer or Quick Search to see if we have a copy.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary databases are extremely useful for finding articles published in interdisciplinary journals or in journals outiside of the discipline of American history that may still be relevant to your research topic.

In addition to containing journal articles, many of these database also provide citations for (or full-text access to) books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings, which allows you to cast a wider net in your effort to find sources.

Large Multidisciplinary Databases:

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
Contains the table of contents pages and holdings information from more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Although most of the journals are published in English, journals in other languages are also included. Updated daily.
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Filtered Google Search finding scholarly journal articles, books, citations, and case law.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database.
With the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, this database provides invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work.
PIO - Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 5,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
Periodicals Index Online is unique in combining a broad subject base with deep chronological coverage going back over 300 years. It covers 37 key subject areas in the humanities and social sciences and offers vast variety within these subject areas. Periodicals Index Online currently indexes over 18 million articles going as far back as 1665 and every article in each journal is indexed, from volume 1 issue 1 to recent times. Cataloging in Periodicals Index Online is not limited by language or by date. Over three centuries of scholarly publication in 40 languages and dialects are indexed, including English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Databases of resources for arts, business, humanities, social sciences, science and newspaper resources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.

Other Multidisciplinary (Point of view) Databases:

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
The API is a bibliographic database (with links to full-text) of more than 368,000 journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
Born of the New Left, it was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. Coverage, beginning in 1991, is both international and interdisciplinary. The Alternative Press Archive covers 1969-1990.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch features publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including media, health sciences, political science, and more.
Left Index This link opens in a new window
Focused on the political, social, economic and cultural issues of the Left, the Left Index has been under production since 1982 and contains nearly 60,000 records (many with abstracts since the year 2000).
The database indexes more than 150 journals focused on the political, social, economic and cultural issues of the Left. The journals are thoroughly reviewed for relevant scholarship and research. The Left Index has been under production since 1982 and contains nearly 60,000 records (many with abstracts since the year 2000). The database indexes more than 150 journals focused on the political, social, economic and cultural issues of the Left. The journals are thoroughly reviewed for relevant scholarship and research.

Key Asian American Studies Journals

Journal of Asian American Studies Peer-reviewed Johns Hopkins University publication focusing on a wide range of issues concerning Asian American studies, including theoretical developments, research results, methodological innovations, public policy, pedagogy, and media reviews

AAPI Nexus: Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, Policy Practice and Community This publication of UCLA's Asian American Studies Center features peer-reviewed articles on issues devoted to thematic topics

Amerasia Journal This peer-reviewed publication of UCLA's Asian American Studies Center, the oldest continuously published journal in Asian American Studies, is a key resource for interdisciplinary scholarship in the field, featuring thematic issues, essays, interviews, review articles, book and film reviews, and more

Amerasia Journal Index UCLA's Asian American Studies Center has published this index online

Asian American Law Journal This peer-reviewed UC-Berkeley publication examines legal, policy, and social issues

Asian American Policy Review This peer-reviewed, student-run Harvard publication presents analyses of political, cultural, and economic issues

Asian Pacific American Law Journal This peer-reviewed UCLA Law School publication focuses on legal, social, and political issues affecting Asian Pacific American communities

differences Peer-reviewed publication with focus on how concepts of difference operate within culture

Ethnic & Racial Studies An interdisciplinary international academic forum for the presentation of peer-reviewed research and theoretical analysis, drawing on sociology, social policy, anthropology, political science, economics, international relations, history and social psychology

International Migration Review A peer-reviewed journal on socioemographic, economic, historical, political and legislative aspects of migration

Journal of American Ethnic History Peer-reviewed publication of the University of Illinois Press that addresses various aspects of American ethnic history

Journal of Contemporary Ethnography International peer-reviewed journal dedicated to ethnography and qualitative research

Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies Peer-reviewed journal presenting research on all forms of migration and its consequences, together with articles on ethnic conflict, discrimination, racism, nationalism, citizenship and policies of integration

Korean Studies Interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal published by the University of Hawaii at Manoa concerning Korea and Koreans living abroad

MELUS Scholarly journal dedicated to multi-ethnic literature in English

Find out if USC has a Specific Journal

If you are looking for a specific journal, select Journals on the Libraries homepage:

If you have the exact title of the journal, search for the title and on the Results page, select "Sort by: Title":

If we have online access to this publication you'll see one or more results, with the dates available and the name of the database or publisher linking you to the journal. If we have the journal in print or on microfilm you will see location information under the "Availability" section of the item record.