Research Guides: Asian American Studies *: Books & Book Reviews

Finding Books @ USC & Beyond

USC Libraries Search Portal
Provides a comprehensive search of USC Libraries' print and online collections. From one search box you can see what books and e-books USC owns -- searches the USC Libraries Catalog and Health Science Campus's Library Catalog

WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
A catalog of catalogs. WorldCat contains millions of records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Records provide information about individual library holdings. Types of materials include books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, sound recordings, films and slides, maps, videotapes, and manuscripts written as early as the 12th century. Updated daily.
OCLC, Online Computer Library Center, is a nonprofit, membership, library computer service and research organization.
WorldCat contains millions of bibliographic records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Item records provide information about individual library holdings. Types of materials include books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, sound recordings, films and slides, maps, videotapes, and manuscripts written as early as the 12th century. Updated daily.

Try using some of these Library of Congress subject headings to locate books on Asian American Studies topics:

Japanese Americans:

Chinese Americans:

Korean Americans:

Korean Americans
Koreans United States

Pacific Islanders:

Pacific Islander Americans

Filipino Americans:

South & Southeast Asians

Use these databases and websites to search for academic book reviews:

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) (Using the Advanced Search Screens, Select Document Type: Book Review)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(Using the Advanced Search Screen, select item type: Review)
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
MUSE provides access to the complete content (including all images) of nearly 500 current scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
As of January 2012, Project Muse has added thousands of University Press ebooks to its collection. However, USC DOES NOT have access to them. If you are interested in one of these titles, please search Homer or Quick Search to see if we have a copy.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
(Using the Advanced Search Screen, restrict results to Book Review)

Other sources of book reviews:

H-Net Reviews - Reviewing books is a primary mission of of H-Net. While print journals generally take a year or more to review new publications, H-Net obtains and distributes professional reviews in just months.
Reviews in History - Reviews of books and digital resources