Asian American Studies *

Login required

Login required
Dates covered: 1665-2000 An archive of 700 digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, providing researchers with access to more than 300 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.

Login required
Dates covered: 1665-1995 (from Proquest/Chadwyck-Healey) A large index to millions of articles published in over 6000 periodicals over the last 300 years in the humanities and social sciences.

Login required

Login required
Dates covered: 1690-1998 Includes multiple newspaper collections, but of particular interest for 18th century research is Early American Newspaper Series I: 1690-1876; Series II: . This collection offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection provides access to the nation’s early periods, enabling researchers to explore essential newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia. Can limit search by Historical Era: Prelude to Revolution (1764 to 1774): Stamp Act Crisis, Boston Massacre, Boston Tea Party, First Continental Congress; American Revolution (1775 to 1783): Battle of Lexington and Concord, Declaration of Independence, Rise of Republicanism, Treaty of Paris; Articles of Confederation (1784 to 1789): Shays' Rebellion, U.S. Constitutional Convention, Rise of Republican Motherhood; Early Republic (1790 to 1811): Ban on Slave Importation, Louisiana Purchase, Lewis and Clark Expedition

Login required (Proquest) Includes digitized images of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the beginning of the 20th century. Titles range from special interest, popular, general and regional magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines, including: Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, America's first scientific journal: Medical Repository, as well as Vanity Fair, Ladies' Home Journal, Godey's Lady's Book, The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.

Login required
Dates covered: 1685-1815 (from Adam Matthew) Makes available digitally unique or extremely rare eighteenth century periodicals. The primary aim of the portal is to promote a broad representation of the culture of print journalism in the eighteenth century, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

Login required
Dates covered: 1764-1986 from Proquest

Login required
Dates covered: 1728-1800 One of the most prominent and successful newspapers in the American colonies and Early Republic. Published in Philadelphia, the newspaper was purchased by Benjamin Franklin and Hugh Meredith in 1729. Franklin not only printed the paper but also contributed pieces under aliases. This newspaper was the first to print a political cartoon in America, "Join, or Die," authored by Franklin himself. This digital version of The Pennsylvania Gazette provides a first-hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of these periods. Also included is the full-text of such important writings as the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Payne's Common Sense, The Federalist Papers and much more.

Login required
Dates covered: 1665-2000 An archive of 700 digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, providing researchers with access to more than 300 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.

Login required
Dates covered: 1665-1995 (from Proquest/Chadwyck-Healey) A large index to millions of articles published in over 6000 periodicals over the last 300 years in the humanities and social sciences.

Login required
(1736-1780)

Login required Features full-text content and images from 500 newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions from 48 states and the District of Columbia (no newspapers from Nevada or Washington). The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects

Login required (from Accessible Archvies) This collection of African-American newspapers contains a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. They also contain large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience. Newspapers include: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, The Christian Recorder, and Frederick Douglass Paper

Login required (From Archive of Americana/Readex) Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers, from more than 35 states, chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience

Login required Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Godey's Lady's Book to Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's

Login required
Dates covered: 1690-1998 (From Readex/Archive of Americana) - Includes Early American Newspapers, Series I & II, 1690-1900; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; Louisiana newspapers

A Freely Accessible Repository of Digitized California Newspapers from 1846 to the Present.

Dates covered: Fulltext - 1836-1922
Directory: 1690-present Sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress, this site allows you to search and view over 600 newspapers from 25 States and the District of Columbia from 1836-1922. Can also search the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Login required (from Archive of Americana) This Readex database covers Hispanic American newspapers from 22 U.S. states, searchable by dates and "eras", article types, languages, place of publication, and newspaper title

Login required
With its debut in 1842 the Illustrated London News became the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper, sparking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. This collection contains over 260,000 full color pages, and is fully searchable and browseable.

Login required
Dates covered: 1665-2000 An archive of 700 digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, providing researchers with access to more than 300 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.

Login required
Dates covered: 1840-1865 Provides access to the full run of eight newspapers from 1840-1865 and nearly 2000 pamphlets from the Slavery and Anti-Slavery Pamphlets and Civil War Pamphlets collections.

Login required Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

Login required Includes digitized images of over 1,800 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking publications like The Dial (publication of the Transcendentalists), Puck (first successful humor magazine), and McClure's (creator of muckraking journalism).

Login required
Newspaper dates available: 1893-2003 Provides access to historical newspapers: Afro-American (1893-1988, incomplete), Atlanta Daily World (1932-2003), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Norfolk New Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)

Login required
Dates covered: 1959-present Provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content with over 300,000 full-text articles.

Login required
Dates covered: 1970-present Includes publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Subjects covered include: business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology, gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports. GenderWatch also contains archival material making it a repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles and understandings over forty years.

Login required (from Readex/Archive of Americana) This database covers Hispanic American newspapers from 22 U.S. states, searchable by dates and "eras", article types, languages, place of publication, and newspaper title.

Login required
With its debut in 1842 the Illustrated London News became the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper, sparking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. This collection contains over 260,000 full color pages, and is fully searchable and browseable.

Login required
Dates covered: 1942-1945 (from Gale/Archives Unbound) Over 24,000 pages from twenty-five titles of relocation camp newspapers. Although articles in these files frequently appear in Japanese, most of the papers are in English or in dual text. Many of the 25 titles constituting this collection are complete or substantially complete. Editions have been carefully collated and omissions are noted. Some of the titles include: Rohwer Outpost, Poston Chronicle, Gila News Courier, Tulean Dispatch, Granada Pioneer, Minndoka Irrigator, Topaz Times, Manzanar Free Press, Denson Tribune, and Heart Mountain Sentinel.

Login required
Dates covered: Varies by title, but generally 1980-present Database of full-text online news, business, financial, legal, medical, biographical, government and domestic and international newspaper resources.

Dates covered: 1936-1972 The entire run of the preeminent U.S. photojournal, Life Magazine, has been ditigized and indexed by Google. It covered all aspects of American life, as well as important overseas events. Many important photographers, such as Margaret Bourke-White, Karsh, and Gordon Parks, contributed images, some of which have since become icons. Search is by keyword only.

Login required
Dates covered: 1665-2000 An archive of 700 digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, providing researchers with access to more than 300 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.

Login required
Dates covered: 1665-1995 (from Proquest/Chadwyck-Healey) A large index to millions of articles published in over 6000 periodicals over the last 300 years in the humanities and social sciences.

Login required Provides citations and links to over 3 million articles, reviews, and more from nearly 550 popular magazines

Login required
Dates covered: 1892-2012 A complete archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement has been digitized.