Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dissertations: USC and Non-USC Dissertations Online

This guide provides information on locating, borrowing, and purchasing doctoral dissertations. If you are unable to locate dissertations using these instructions, ask a librarian in any USC library for assistance.

Access ProQuest

USC Dissertations

Search USC Digital Library or the database ProQuest  Dissertations & Theses @ University of Southern California to find USC dissertations.  

If you have trouble locating a dissertation, please contact the USC Digital Library via email at cisadmin@lib.usc.edu

Non-USC Dissertations

The database ProQuest Theses & Dissertations Global is also a good source for locating digitized dissertations produced at other universities in the United States.[ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.]

In addition, more and more universities no longer require students to deposit their dissertations with ProQuest so you may want to search for an university's institutional repository via Google and search within that digital collection for a particular publication.