Project Source Starters
Project Source Starters are foundational texts that can help you get started in your research.
Do not use Wikipedia as a primary source or secondary source.
Consult the reference librarians for more help.
Biographical Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Black PastBlackPast is dedicated to providing a global audience with reliable and accurate information on the history of African America and of people of African ancestry around the world.
- Women and Social Movements Library This link opens in a new windowOrganized around the history of women in social movements between 1600 and the present,
Black Women in America: A Historical Encyclopedia, Vol. 1 A-L by Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Black Women in America: A Historical Encyclopedia, Vol. 2 M-Z by Publication Date: 1994-01-01- Dictionary of American Negro Biography by More than seven hundred entries spanning three centuries of American history recount the lives and accomplishments of Black Americans whose occupations range from explorers and sea captains to artists and scientists.Publication Date: 1983-01-01
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by
Users looking for authoritative and comprehensive information about black history, figures and accomplishments now have a defining and current reference to address their needs. The second edition of the Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History is a much-needed expansion of the 1996 classic and its 2000 supplement. As with the earlier publications, the second edition is aimed at high school and college students, as well as the general reader. Whereas the first edition focused almost exclusively on the United States, this new set identifies and addresses broad themes critical to understanding the texture of the cultures, achievements, challenges and comprise North America, Central and South America and the Caribbean. Readers can find comparative analyses of social movements, languages, religions and family structures in the context of an interdisciplinary framework that fills a substantial gap in studies of this genre. While many articles from the original set have updated content and bibliographies, almost half of the second edition is composed of completely new scholarship.
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights by
This reference book highlights over 800 people and events important to the civil rights movement.
Publication Date: 1992-05-30
African American Women by
Contains nearly 300 biographies of women who have made meaningful contributions to American history and culture.
Publication Date: 1993-09-01
Notable Black American Women by
Biographical essays on both historical and contemporary, famous black women.
Publication Date: 1991-12-20Historical Negro biographies by Collection of African American biographies, however, there are more informative sources available.
Black Women in American History by
Collection of notable 20th century African American women.
Publication Date: 1990-05-01
The Womanist Reader by
Featuring selections from over a dozen disciplines by top womanist scholars from around the world, plus several critiques of womanism, an extensive bibliography of womanist sources, and the first ever systematic treatment of womanist thought on its own terms, Layli Phillips has assembled a unique and groundbreaking compilation.
Publication Date: 2006-09-19
Black Women's Intellectual Traditions by
Provocative revelations about the flourishing black women's intellectual traditions in nineteenth-century America.
Publication Date: 2007-04-30
Oral Histories and Documentary Collections
We are coming : the persuasive discourse of nineteenth-century Black women by
Shirley Wilson Logan analyzes the distinctive rhetorical features in the persuasive discourse of nineteenth-century black women, concentrating on the public discourse of club and church women from 1880 until 1900. Logan develops each chapter in this illustrated study around a feature of public address as best exemplified in the oratory of a particular woman speaker of the era.
Publication Date: 1999-08-04
Black Women in White America by
Recipient of the 2002 Bruce Catton Prize for Lifetime Achievement in Historical Writing. In this "stunning collection of documents" (Washington Post Book World), African-American women speak of themselves, their lives, ambitions, and struggles from the colonial period to the present day. Theirs are stories of oppression and survival, of family and community self-help, of inspiring heroism and grass-roots organizational continuity in the face of racism, economic hardship, and, far too often, violence. Their vivid accounts, their strong and insistent voices, make for inspiring reading, enriching our understanding of the American past. "A very timely and powerful collection which gives emphasis to the magnificent role of Black women in the struggle of Black people to survive in this, the United States,"--Nathan Irvin Huggins "Gerda Lerner has collected . . . material which can change images that whites have had of Blacks, and possibly even those which we, as Blacks, have of ourselves,"--Maya Angelou
Publication Date: 1972-01-01
Black Workers Remember by
Michael Honey gathered these oral histories for more than fifteen years. He weaves them together here into a rich collection reflecting many tragic dimensions of America's racial history while drawing new attention to the role of workers and poor people in African American and American history.
Publication Date: 2000-01-03
Black Women in Nineteenth-Century American Life by
The women represented in this book comprise a cross section of historically significant black women in the nineteenth century.
Publication Date: 1990-11-07
Hands on the Freedom Plow by
The testimonies gathered here present a sweeping personal history of SNCC: early sit-ins, voter registration campaigns, and freedom rides; the 1963 March on Washington, the Mississippi Freedom Summer, and the movements in Alabama and Maryland; and Black Power and antiwar activism.
Publication Date: 2010-09-30
Poetry and Literary Collections, Diaries, and Personal Papers
The Norton Anthology of African American Literature by
Online eBook is not available; please consult physical copy.
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Black Sister by
This chronologically arranged anthology covers black women poets from Wheatley to Giovanni.
Publication Date: 1981-12-01
The Memphis Diary of Ida B. Wells by
Published for the first time in its entirety, The Memphis Diary of Ida B. Wells tracks the young Ida through her transition from schoolteacher to a fearless crusader against lynching in the late 19th century. This unique document provides rare insight into the lives of 19th-century African-American women.
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
Citizen by
Claudia Rankine's bold new book recounts mounting racial aggressions in ongoing encounters in twenty-first-century daily life and in the media.
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
Digital Archives
- Civil Rights Digital Library The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
- SNCC Digital Gateway A documentary website that highlights how young activists in the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee partnered with local people in the Deep South to build a grassroots movement for change that empowered the Black community and transformed the nation.
- The Freedom Archives The Freedom Archives is a non-profit educational archive located in Berkeley dedicated to the preservation and dissemination of historical audio, video, and print materials documenting progressive movements and culture from the 1960s to the 1990s.
YouTube channels on Black Women in the 21st Century
- African American Policy Forum Developed as part of an ongoing effort to promote women's rights and gender rights in the context of struggles for racial justice, the African American Policy Forum strives to promote the interests of all communities who suffer from intersecting forms of discrimination (e.g., class-based, race-based, and gender-based), and unrecognized patterns of institutional discrimination.
- Association of Black Women Historians Founded in October 1979, the Association of Black Women Historians (ABWH) is dynamic, non-profit organization dedicated to advancing the study of black women's history and of maintaining networks among the membership of women and men from various ethnic groups.
- Association for Study of African American Life and History Established on September 9, 1915 by Dr. Carter G. Woodson, we are the Founders of Black History Month and carry forth the work of our founder, the Father of Black History.