Research Guides: GESM 120 : Daughters of Africa: Black Women in U.S. History: Secondary Sources

Core African American Studies Article Databases

Start with these databases:

Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
The Black Studies Center provides access to several resources at once: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), 10 historical African American newspapers, Black Literature Index and 100 oral history videos in History Makers.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The definitive index to articles and other literature (books, dissertations, book reviews, etc.) covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from the 15th century to the present. Indexes nearly 1,800 journals from 1860s to present, including all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications, and selected articles from scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the complete content of hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. As of January 2012, Project MUSE has added thousands of university press ebooks to its collection. However, USC does not necessarily have access to all of them via Project MUSE. If you are interested in one of these titles, please search the general library catalog to see if we have access.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary databases are extremely useful for finding articles published in interdisciplinary journals or in journals outiside of the discipline of American history that may still be relevant to your research topic.

In addition to containing journal articles, many of these database also provide citations for (or full-text access to) books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings, which allows you to cast a wider net in your effort to find sources.

Large Multidisciplinary Databases:

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
Contains the table of contents pages and holdings information from more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Although most of the journals are published in English, journals in other languages are also included. Updated daily.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This full-text journal database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM. Provided by ProQuest.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Filtered Google Search finding scholarly journal articles, books, citations, and case law.
PIO - Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 5,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
A database of millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years. Journals indexed span 37 key subject areas and multiple languages.Provided by ProQuest.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Databases of resources for arts, business, humanities, social sciences, science and newspaper resources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.

Other Multidisciplinary (Point of view) Databases:

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch features publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including media, health sciences, political science, and more.
Left Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and cultural scholarship inside and outside academia. It includes hundreds of thousands of citations and abstracts and covers historically significant left publications. Includes thousands of citations and abstracts as well as some full text. Historically significant early Left publications such as the 19th century writings of William Godwin, along with classic texts by Marx, Lenin, Trotsky and Engels, are covered. Provided by EBSCO.
The database indexes more than 150 journals focused on the political, social, economic and cultural issues of the Left. The journals are thoroughly reviewed for relevant scholarship and research. The Left Index has been under production since 1982 and contains nearly 60,000 records (many with abstracts since the year 2000). The database indexes more than 150 journals focused on the political, social, economic and cultural issues of the Left. The journals are thoroughly reviewed for relevant scholarship and research.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the complete content of hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. As of January 2012, Project MUSE has added thousands of university press ebooks to its collection. However, USC does not necessarily have access to all of them via Project MUSE. If you are interested in one of these titles, please search the general library catalog to see if we have access.

Gender Studies Databases

Black Women Writers This link opens in a new window
With over 100,000 pages of fiction, poetry, and essays, Black Women Writers brings together the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Facing both sexism and racism, these authors have had to create their own identities and movements. This collection documents that effort from its earliest beginnings.
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text database including journal articles, newsletters, research reports, and grey literature.
Everyday Life and Women in America Online, c.1820-1920 This link opens in a new window
This collection documents the social and cultural forces that shaped the everyday lives of men and women in America from 1800 to 1920, addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home life, health and popular pastimes. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch features publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including media, health sciences, political science, and more.
Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new window
In the late 1800's, Dutch physician and feminist Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. By the time their successors finished their work in 1945, the Gerritsen Collection was the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with more than 4,700 books, pamphlets and journals spanning four centuries and 15 languages. Provided by ProQuest.
.
ProQuest History Vault: Struggle for Women's Rights This link opens in a new window
This collection of primary sources provides access to The National Woman's Party Papers, The League of Women Voters, and The papers of the Women's Action Alliance (WAA).
The National Woman's Party Papers which documents the militant aspect of the suffrage campaign in the United States from 1913-1920, as well as the Party's activities from 1921-1971. The League of Women Voters collection includes the central organizational records from 1920 - 1974 as well as the National Office Subject Files for the period from 1920-1932. The records of the annual and biennial conventions illuminate almost every facet of women's involvement in U.S. politics between 1920 and 1974.The papers of the Women's Action Alliance (WAA) - founded in 1971 to coordinate resources for organizations and individuals involved in the women's movement on the grass-roots level. Founders included Gloria Steinem, Brenda Feigen, and Catherine Samuels.
History Vault: Southern Women and their Families in the 19th and 20th Centuries, UNC-Chapel Hill History Vault: Southern Women and their Families in the 19th and 20th Centuries, UNC-Chapel Hill This link opens in a new window
The records detail the complex lives of southern women from the antebellum era through the Civil War and into the last 3 decades of the 19th century.